Vextan 1st Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 (edited) u don't have to convince people to buy korean cars leh just let them buy overpriced cars la. end of the day, if u'r an average employee, getting from point A to point B should be ur primary priority. they wan to say that a honda is more reliable and toyota more frugal so be it la. i hope their mentality stay like this forever. then the smart will continue to enjoy value for money cars. btw, i have an acer laptop. super value for money. whole world told me it'll spoil easily. this 1.3ghz centrino 512meg ram lasted me 5 years with no problem. even the DVD +CDRW burner still working. never brought to acer repair centre before. I'm using it to type this reply. (i don't even know where the repair centre is) My friend's HP state of the art laptop went to service centres twice in the 1st year. I bought canon powershot 3.2megapixel. my friend laughed at my value for money purchase again, saying that its very cheap quality and will spoil in a year. It has lasted since 2004 till now. Brought it to my vacation trip yearly. I even brought it to sweden (kiruna) at negative 20degree celsius. People around me bought luxurious mercedes and bm. I chose picnic to lug my big family. People asked why i stay HDB, but they donno i have two private houses as investments, one of which fully paid for. my point is, people can laugh at ur perceived "cheapo" purchases, but they cannot laugh at the money in ur bank. Then u'll have the last laugh. cannot tahan you so hao lian in the forum announce to people you have this and that. why will people laugh at other's "perceived cheapo purchase" ? this is only your own twisted view from your own judgement of others, you have this attitude doesnt mean others also do. myself and most if not all people i know, do not scorn at those who drives cheaper cars, cos our own cars is also cheaper than some others. and also, dont tell me you go show others how much cash you have in your bank account, then you will have the last laugh ? classic case of opportunist wanting to hao lian. remember, people who have success doesnt need to blow their trumpet one ! Edited January 30, 2009 by Vextan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 try banging into a Tuscani or get a Tuscani to bang a Jap car see who cave in :) Tested and proven, my Tuscani bang twice, once a taxi where his bumper dislodge, i only scratch my bumper so never repair. 2 to 3 years later on the express way bang into a Mazda 3 rear, the bumper side fold in slightly, my damage? Errrr my number plate crack, that's all :) My ex-colleague rear ended a Tuscani, the tuscani only bumper dislodge but her Japun car front crumble in dunno repair how much. BTW, i driving a Jap car now for the jap car maybe it's very wellbuild, sound proofing is really good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 try banging into a Tuscani or get a Tuscani to bang a Jap car see who cave in :) Tested and proven, my Tuscani bang twice, once a taxi where his bumper dislodge, i only scratch my bumper so never repair. 2 to 3 years later on the express way bang into a Mazda 3 rear, the bumper side fold in slightly, my damage? Errrr my number plate crack, that's all :) My ex-colleague rear ended a Tuscani, the tuscani only bumper dislodge but her Japun car front crumble in dunno repair how much. BTW, i driving a Jap car now for the jap car maybe it's very wellbuild, sound proofing is really good. Bro, like to offer this alternative view on "hard" & "soft" cars. A car that has an overly hard shell is not good when it comes to crash worthiness due to its lack of impact absorbtion/distribution. The impact of a frontal collision will be very bad if 80-90% of the impact gets transfered to the passenger cell, causing it to deform (cave-in). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBDyeWofcLY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 (edited) right. a car when upon impact will crumble can absorb the shock much better, thereby cushioning the whiplash effect from the passengers. That's what crumble zone is about. Edited January 30, 2009 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear January 30, 2009 Share January 30, 2009 right. a car when upon impact will crumble can absorb the shock much better, thereby cushioning the whiplash effect from the passengers. That's what crumble zone is about. to add on, "soft" offers better pedestrain protection. what's the point of having "hard bumpers" when one end up seriously injuring pedestrain? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 (edited) Eh... Bro dun waste your time here. I seriously wonder why some ppl come to a car enthusiasts forum and call their car a A-B transport. What's there to talk about when their car is only a tool? I think they also call F1 cars a A to B car since all cars are meant to move from one point to another. Some ah siaos call me jap car supporter, lagi siao... I drive jap because I can't afford a conti, Lim peh will go buy conti cars if kena TOTO. Although they are not so reliable but I still want them. Mmmm...... I wonder who will have the last laugh when they meet the creator, one who spent a fulfiled life with his last dollar or another one who left $millions in bank but lived like a pauper his entire life. But I think this is personal choice, so I won't venture there.... Edited January 31, 2009 by Riceracer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 Eh... Bro dun waste your time here. I seriously wonder why some ppl come to a car enthusiasts forum and call their car a A-B transport. What's there to talk about when their car is only a tool? I think they also call F1 cars a A to B car since all cars are meant to move from one point to another. Some ah siaos call me jap car supporter, lagi siao... I drive jap because I can't afford a conti, Lim peh will go buy conti cars if kena TOTO. Although they are not so reliable but I still want them. Mmmm...... I wonder who will have the last laugh when they meet the creator, one who spent a fulfiled life with his last dollar or another one who left $millions in bank but lived like a pauper his entire life. But I think this is personal choice, so I won't venture there.... I beg to differ. There are many ppl who treat their cars as a point A-to-B car, in fact many of them are jap car owners. Think it depends on what car you driving as it tends to be an extention of your personality, but don't mix it up with their worth. Not everybody buy car according to their earning power or status. Someone earning 10k a month could be driving a Carens, while someone earning 4k could be driving a Accord (real-life examples), does it mean anything? It is definitely not that korea car < jap car< conti car, though many think it that way. If you driving a korea car because you cannot afford a jap car, then of course you feel miserable and will not think too highly of your korea car, and so on and so forth. Then you will be very miserable. There are a lot of points for these point A-to-B car owners to be in any car forums. They want to know what are the common problems their cars have, so they can look out for lobangs so that they don't have to be carrots to be chopped by unscrupulous sales people, so they can spend minimal to maintain their humble car. It is especially useful for those who are new to car ownership. All kinds of car owners should try to co-exist peacefully in any forums. We could argue against biased opinions we feel strongly about, but we should not diminsh their existence. Live and let live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 (edited) I think you are missing my point. Perhaps my English is poor. Everyone can be enthusistic about cars regardless of their income and the car they drive. Even a person driving a Chery QQ can be as long as they have the common love for cars. And these ppl do not regard their car as just a mode of transport. A person who claims a car is just a tool for transportation is not a car enthisiast. Its natural for a car lover/enthusiast to spend more than a regular person in their car expenditure. So what a person make 10k a month, he might have other commitments such as supporting 10 kids, an alimony to pay, sick parents to maintain, a huge house loan that is bigger than he can swallow etc. He could the poorer one with lesser disposable income than a 2k income man without liabilities. So dun cry foul and criticise others for having a better car than them. Edited January 31, 2009 by Riceracer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 Riceracer, A car is nothing but a f***ing tool in its most basal level. Passion about cars is not about ownership of brands. Passion and enthusiasm about cars is about their maintenance. Their detailing. Their enhancements. To keep them running as a tool. For them to give the least problems. How a normal point A to B enthusiastic car owner with a Korean car looks at his car is different from how an Alfisti looks at his car. You have to accept it. Some cars are made to be tractors. They are made to get dings, have the upholstery ripped to shreds by kids, have the boot smell of fresh fish from the market and still chug on because they are nothing but tools. Some cars are made for admiration. They have performance and they have pedigree. They get wows, they get thumbs up and they give their owners a sense of pride. If you don't call this a tool, I don't what is. BTW a huge dick is a mighty fine tool if you ask me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgongwolve Clutched January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 I think you are missing my point. Perhaps my English is poor. Everyone can be enthusistic about cars regardless of their income and the car they drive. Even a person driving a Chery QQ can be as long as they have the common love for cars. And these ppl do not regard their car as just a mode of transport. A person who claims a car is just a tool for transportation is not a car enthisiast. Its natural for a car lover/enthusiast to spend more than a regular person in their car expenditure. So what a person make 10k a month, he might have other commitments such as supporting 10 kids, an alimony to pay, sick parents to maintain, a huge house loan that is bigger than he can swallow etc. He could the poorer one with lesser disposable income than a 2k income man without liabilities. So dun cry foul and criticise others for having a better car than them. I have a friend who just got a picanto... we know it's a cheapo car.. but he loves his picanto like his GF.. even jam brake and stop by the roadside to wipe a fresh bird s--t. It's the same feelings towards their car.. Why picanto and not BMW? Cos he makes 2k a month and can only afford a picanto... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 (edited) Mr Genius, I'm not an f**king idiot and of cos I know a car is tool for transport but it's more than just your feeling for the forks and spoons inside your kitchen. I shall not repeat myself. Perhaps my primary school dropped out english is too difficult for you comprehen. If one treats his car is a tool, why bother detailing it. Whether its paint work is glossy or not does not affect its functionility. Or why would one change wheels to enhance its look? Even steel wheels can transport you from point A to B. I dun think this kind of words come out from a car lover/enthisiast's mouth: "A car is just a tool to move you around" "I have money but I'm not willing to spend on cars, those who spend more are stupid" I think you are also not a car enthusiast. You are probably enthisiastic about oil only. BTW, I have never criticised anyone driving any kind of cars including koreans. They are just average cars but there are ppl who over rates it and start twisting facts around. A car enthisiast is one who would buy a car to to the maximum of his affordability that he can comfortably afford beside his family commitments Edited January 31, 2009 by Riceracer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 (edited) I have a friend who just got a picanto... we know it's a cheapo car.. but he loves his picanto like his GF.. even jam brake and stop by the roadside to wipe a fresh bird s--t. It's the same feelings towards their car.. Why picanto and not BMW? Cos he makes 2k a month and can only afford a picanto... Of cos... My first car was a 13yrs old starlet and she was my PRECIOUSSSSS.......... But I bet your friend doesn't go around calling bmw owners are stupid because their cars are not value for money and condemns bmw or brag how his picanto is better than a bmw. Eh... Bro how can you call a picanto cheapo here?? You're inside a korean's den where you can only PRAISE korean cars............ Edited January 31, 2009 by Riceracer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 It is a fork and a spoon from the kitchen at the most basal level. It helps me eat comfortably at the most basal level. How you relate to this tool is different with different people. That is the whole thing about it. I religiously maintain a car because I don't want it out of action when I need it. I treat it like a farm tractor because it is meant to be treated as a farm tractor. I stuff it with a gas cylinder because I clock high mileages and performance is not my concern. Running cost is. I like taking the car up north because this is a car and not a trophy. It is meant to clock mileage otherwise how to justify paying for it be it cheap or expensive? I like to bring it to places I have never been before because it is my actual travel companion. It is the one that will take me there and take me home. This is my relationship with my car. So how? All those different angles? Not enthusiastic enough? My car, my relationship with it. How you relate to the car is what matters. No need Korean, no need Japanese. A tool but how do you see this tool? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Riceracer Clutched January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 (edited) I think we are both barking up the wrong tree. I still dun understand what's your point???? You can have whatever relationship with you car or what you treat your car is no business of mine. Whatever floats your boat bro, to each his own. I think you did not follow this thread from the beginning and hence you dun know how it developed into this state Edited January 31, 2009 by Riceracer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 My post is not just for you. It is for everyone here. Don't harp on Korean, Japanese, Malaysian or Chinese. Nobody sees their cars the same way as you. Whether it be value for money or just an over glorified extension of their dick. Nobody experiences their cars the same way either. This includes the finances to get them. Some might be fair value (Korean), dirt cheap (Chinese), value for money (Malaysian) or overpriced grocery getter (Toyota). Different car, different relationship. Like wives if you can blow through many in a lifetime. If the car made your life easier and happy with it, be happy with it. If it made you miserable, get rid of it. Any car, any make is capable of doing it. Why? It is a fork and spoon from the kitchen. It did let you taste pretty good food or lousy food, didn't it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 One kind of rice feeds a hundred different kind of people, is what you are trying to get across. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 Mr Genius, I'm not an f**king idiot and of cos I know a car is tool for transport but it's more than just your feeling for the forks and spoons inside your kitchen. I shall not repeat myself. Perhaps my primary school dropped out english is too difficult for you comprehen. If one treats his car is a tool, why bother detailing it. Whether its paint work is glossy or not does not affect its functionility. Or why would one change wheels to enhance its look? Even steel wheels can transport you from point A to B. I dun think this kind of words come out from a car lover/enthisiast's mouth: "A car is just a tool to move you around" "I have money but I'm not willing to spend on cars, those who spend more are stupid" I think you are also not a car enthusiast. You are probably enthisiastic about oil only. BTW, I have never criticised anyone driving any kind of cars including koreans. They are just average cars but there are ppl who over rates it and start twisting facts around. A car enthisiast is one who would buy a car to to the maximum of his affordability that he can comfortably afford beside his family commitments Sort of understand your point, on the definition of the word Car Enthusiast or just another Motorist out there. Qualifying to be Enthusiast in something means a in depth knowledge of that subject and not just a tool of transport. Take Camera hobby as example. Camera enthusiast - whatever models he can afford, keep his equipment in great trim, go for photography sessions, discussed about technology and how to improve his photo taking capability, in composition, lightings, pose, etc... Normal Camera user - buys any models, keeps it well so it serves him well and doesn't breakdown when he brings it for tour or use for work purpose. These category are definitely not enthusiast. Hence, those point A to pt B drivers are simply Motorist. Not Car enthusiast. Regardless of what brand or model they own. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged January 31, 2009 Share January 31, 2009 car Enthusiast to me are those who appreciates cars, and not slamming other car makes. Cars to me are divided into 3 kinds. 1) The good old vintage cars. 2) Performance and Super luxury cars... (Not even BMW 3 series, to me cost should be more than 200k bah..) 3) the everday, super mass produced cars.... cheers guys.. Stop arguing, no one has killed somebody yet ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...