SimonTan 2nd Gear March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 The problem with some police is that when you report an attempted kidnapping, the police will ask so much things. Like who what when where how. Eventually the police may ask you 'where is the crime, when it has not happened yet'. So it's like a accusing someone of a crime they have not done yet. That is a serious accusation is proven wrong! My personnal case with a police case some years back. I paid an exhibitor the 50% for a event that suppose to happen in Expo. But the event was cancelled somehow, and the exhibitor ran away. The exhibitor is actually a middle man. The exhibitor very smart, keep saying he will refund the money. After some months. I made a police report that this is a con man. The best reply from the police was 'the event has not happen, and the exhibitor has promised to return your money'. So there is no criminal intent not fraud. The police then ask me to sue the fellow if I feel cheated. So u see, it's not easy to get the police to act. The police will keep the report in their file as record and statistics. In the end, I have to settle the issue myself. Which till today, I have given up on our police usefulness. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 hmmmm should invent gps tracking clothes for the kids wah if now someone can create a portable GPS device for kids, sure got chance to make money! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wasted 1st Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 "Law Abiding Citizen" sometimes people must learn the hard way. then again its just a movie! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 on paper you'll be charged, but if you give a VALID reason to police/judge and let you off with a "stern" warning answer ? you lost composure, panic and the only thing that came to your mind was to PROTECT your child and push the culprit away and you ended up in a "scuffle" You will only be charged if the person whom u beat up, wants to file the charge at you. If the person doesn't want, police got nothing to do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 those r boy scouts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 (edited) to the CB Kia who spread rumours. KNNBCCB@$%^&U ================= http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_783879.html Tampines child kidnap rumour a hoax Published on Mar 31, 2012 Cheong Poh Kwan and Hoang Ly Trinh Another claim of child abduction surfaced on Facebook on Thursday, but it turned out to be a hoax. According to the post, a girl was said to have been kidnapped near her childcare centre along Tampines Street 22. But the police said no police report has been lodged regarding this case. A check with childcare centres and primary schools in the area also confirmed that no child was reported missing. Edited March 31, 2012 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 to the CB Kia who spread rumours. KNNBCCB@$%^&U ================= http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_783879.html Tampines child kidnap rumour a hoax Published on Mar 31, 2012 Cheong Poh Kwan and Hoang Ly Trinh Another claim of child abduction surfaced on Facebook on Thursday, but it turned out to be a hoax. According to the post, a girl was said to have been kidnapped near her childcare centre along Tampines Street 22. But the police said no police report has been lodged regarding this case. A check with childcare centres and primary schools in the area also confirmed that no child was reported missing. so many biased remarks made in various forums bashing FT/FWs..that shows how ignorant people are Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Dun get too caught up in the reported news. If these kidnappings have been occurring from a few years back, the biggest question is why have we not heard any news or reports of a single kid being reported missing? I have not. Maybe I missed the news but have any of you? This is Singapore, if kids have been kidnapped, would you not think the world world would have known with us treating them as such precious babies? You believe these syndicates that have been operating since 2009 have not even managed to kidnap a single kid all these years? The chances of ransom is remote cos they would no know whom to target after kidnapping a young kid. Just be vigilant. Dun start getting too paranoid and frankly they are blur people around that hold the hands of other kids by mistake. Happened to my mom before. However having said that, there are no dumb kids, just dumb parents. Do your part to educate them on the threats and keep an eye on them always. Kidnappings cases if really happened are mostly not reported in newspapers. This is sensitive and until the suspects are caught, its cannot be made known to the public. For ask you know there are many unreported cases a Ramson paid and no one arrested Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 wah if now someone can create a portable GPS device for kids, sure got chance to make money! japan already have it a few years back for parents to keep track of their kids movement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Police shd charge this p3 parents for spreading rumours. Why is it not done? Shd teach all others hoaxers a lesson. Kill chicken teach monkey (in hokkien) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Parents creating panic, should be punish. And we should not let our guard down, low crime doesnt mean no crime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Kidnappings cases if really happened are mostly not reported in newspapers. This is sensitive and until the suspects are caught, its cannot be made known to the public. For ask you know there are many unreported cases a Ramson paid and no one arrested That is different cos paying ransom is illegal in Singapore. Even if you pay, you won't report cos it is illegal. My point is kids being kidnapped for ransom is remote cos kidnappers can't even contact their parents or be sure their parents can afford to pay a ransom. Big hooha for the last week. So, any CONFIRMED case yet? Answer is still no. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Police advise the public not to circulate kidnap postings online http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...331-336900.html The police said that they are aware that postings are still being circulated online regarding young children being purportedly led away by strangers in public places. While these postings are being investigated, the police would like to urge the public to refrain from re-posting or further circulating these postings as this may cause unnecessary alarm. Four allegations were reported by anxious parents on the Internet in the past two weeks. The reports detailed how men and women had tried to lure children away or manhandle them or their strollers. A Facebook user said a Chinese woman had tried to abduct her five-year-old niece near a Bukit Panjang community centre. On Tuesday, another Facebook user said a Chinese man tried to abduct her young son at Northpoint Mall in Yishun. The mother said the man grabbed one handle of the stroller while she was looking at a baby spa at the mall. Her maid was holding onto the other handle. He left only after she turned and glared at him, she said. Last Friday, a grandmother told the police that a woman had tried to lure her 10-year-old grandson into a van outside his school in Simei Street 5. Should anyone come across such encounters or spot someone behaving suspiciously, they should call 999 immediately. Parents and caregivers of children should also observe the following to prevent their children from becoming victims of crime: a) Ensure young children are accompanied at all times; b) Do not leave your child out of sight; c) Teach your children not to follow strangers; and d) Inform the school or childcare centre if you have arranged someone else to fetch your child. Childcare centres and pre-schools are advised to ensure that only the rightful parents or appointed guardians are allowed to come in contact with their children. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 saw a new thread on hwz [url="http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman- my wife didn't take much notice of it and kept to herself. i scolded her for not telling me about this incident.. the copi session ended black face for both parents.. be aware. i believe a lot have not been reported to mata.. exercise your due diligence. don't regret later on. Police release statement ask pple not to spread rumours. There are no kidnapping cases in singapore for many years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Mai bo liao lah...Kidnapping kids? In the first place they kidnap for what? You are so rich and about to pay $1m ransom? If kidnap also must kidnap some rich kids right? In the first place they kidnap those neighborhood kids what they do with them? They know the parent's mobile number to call for ransom? How much can they pay? $10K or $20K? Worth it meh? Death penalty leh. Like that I think rob gold smith or money changer easier lah. If get caught also no need to die. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 That is the problem I am trying to highlight. If there is only attempted kidnapping, then there is NO kidnapping as yet. So dont spread rumors of attempted kidnapping because it cannot be established as kidnapping if it did not actually happened! This is the type of logic I have faced myself. Reading the police response, It just proved my confidence in the authorities here. Well done. NO kidnapping don't spread rumors. Only can say facts ok! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear March 31, 2012 Share March 31, 2012 Don't need to be rich to be kidnapped. Same logic, if I wear a thin gold chain I will not be robbed inside the lift? When times are bad and tight, anyone can come out with any stunts just to earn some money. I imagined this may happen. Most kidnapping may have a few members acting together. One lady kidnapped the kid. Another follow the panic parents. Then make phone calls to partner to let parent hear the kid voice. Just a simple on the spot ransom of $5000 will be sufficient and a quick buck! U think any parents will make the police report while the kid is in their hands and refuse to payout $5000? The kidnappers may see the parents IC and know where they stay. So you think the parents will report police after paying $5000? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...