KIDnapping--beware

Kezg1

Mata cannot use cameras to locate the van?

one of the privileges of living in Sg is this kind of nonsense is easily nipped.

I once saw a student from these schools accusing a local resident of stealing his lunch box at a coffee shop. An Indian student accuse a old local Indian of taking his lunch box left behind at a table.. said the coffee shop “supervisor” ..”the cleaner took his lunch box.. the old local Indian was just there to buy lunch.. damn! And that foreign Indian boy in his British ascent accused the poor fellow n demanded to view the CCTV..me totally stunned.. the shop supervisor classic.. ask the kid.. why you bring outside food m drinks and eat at the shop huh?

Not amdl lah.

Regardlless International/public school must all be cautious parents!

but how they determined he had no ill intentions? they believed his story?

Good r bad intent we must always teach our loved one to be careful.

Let me off topic a bit. Many years ago, when I was a student nurse going for my attachment at a primary school, I was warned by a lecturer not to kidnap the students in the primary school.

My class thought the lecturer was kidding. Then she explained that in the previous batch, some nursing students on attachment brought one or two primary school kid out after school to treat them to ice cream. Apparently the parents were not too happy as the nursing students were not legal guardians and the act of bring the primary school children put of school compound without the parents permission is technically kidnapping.

So I became very careful after that and also warned my students the same when I became a lecturer. Cos it is very easy to think we are doing nothing wrong cos intentions are good but legally it seems shaky.

Edited by Philipkee

Let me off topic a bit. Many years ago, when I was a student nurse going for my attachment at a primary school, I was warned by a lecturer not to kidnap the students in the primary school.

My class thought the lecturer was kidding. Then she explained that in the previous batch, some nursing students on attachment brought one or two primary school kid out after school to treat them to ice cream. Apparently the parents were not too happy as the nursing students were not legal guardians and the act of bring the primary school children put of school compound without the parents permission is technically kidnapping.

So I became very careful after that and also warned my students the same when I became a lecturer. Cos it is very easy to think we are doing nothing wrong cos intentions are good but legally it seems shaky.

Let me share as well.

My boy pre school do provide a pick up shuttle service at a fixed location. The bus don't come with any aunty assistant. So every child must be accompany by a cartaker. The school bus basically take 6 student and 6 adults every trip. The best part. All caretaker can use the whatapp live goggle map tracker to track the motion of the school bus. Every morning I just tap on the driver whatapp to know whether my son is safely in school. Or the bus took a different route.

Kind of overboard imo.

BTW they also provide school bus with aunty. We opt out because to taxing for my boy.

Edited by Kopites

What if the driver is part of the plan?

All Uber trips are logged and tracked. (same with Grab)

Driver, ID, car plate number, everything.

No, you don't want to be driving Uber picking up children if you want to be part of a kidnapping plan. That would be really stupid.

Edited by Kb27

Shouldn't it be the other way around where people are innocent until proven guilty?

How can we say he has ill intentions when all he was doing was (presumably) offering a lift to some students caught in the rain?

Shouldn't it be the other way around where people are innocent until proven guilty?

How can we say he has ill intentions when all he was doing was (presumably) offering a lift to some students caught in the rain?

For this case the driver can always gift the student with an umbrella if his intention was good. Presume he do has one on his van. Better be safe than too late.

when i was in kindergarten eons ago, there was this day when my parents did not pick me up on time.

a lady called out to me from the road in her flashy sports car and told me my parents had told her to pick me up.

so i boarded her car and she drove me back and dropped me at my home.

but the thing is that my parents were surprised to see me back home by myself as they did not ask anyone to pic me up at all !

i never saw the lady again .... don't think i could remember even if i did.

the police has interview techniques.  very effective one. not sure how long the guy la kopi  at CID....

anyway, if the guy is a HDB heartlander with wife, kid, job, won't be a kidnapper profile.  sexual assaulter or not, can never prove i guess.  even the guy may start off good intention, later the teenage girl with short international school checkered skirt sit beside him, god knows what will happen. 

which is why the girl did right, and there's no place for such kindness in the world anymore.

when i was in kindergarten eons ago, there was this day when my parents did not pick me up on time.

a lady called out to me from the road in her flashy sports car and told me my parents had told her to pick me up.

but the thing is that my parents were surprised to see me back home by myself as they did not ask anyone to pic me up at all !

and your parents do not know her, and she's not a neighbour or relative but know where you live?  v. interesting story. 

For this case the driver can always gift the student with an umbrella if his intention was good. Presume he do has one on his van. Better be safe than too late.

For the students, of course it is better safe than sorry and I'm not implying otherwise.

I'm just saying the police should not assume this fellow is guilty if there's no evidence otherwise.

Really depends on what he said to the girl. If he really just said, hey, it's raining... Let me take you home or take you to school then there's nothing wrong in that. But if he said xxx asked me to pick you up but it was found that xxx did no such thing, then that's evidence.

we duno how evil the world has become, it definitely kill off many innocent acts of kindness.

my second day arriving in Australia and got lost while exploring the neighborhood, we walked further and further without knowing, no mobile n GPS that time. We went into a deli and ask for direction and one of the customers offer us a ride back to our campus. people are more trusting and innocent without the internet.