Zxcvb Turbocharged March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Sto...ory_348514.html I WAS attacked on a train last Friday by a commuter who failed to obtain a seat from me. My assailant pushed me to the ground and pummelled me repeatedly. When I reported the matter at the control booth in the Bugis station, I was advised to seek treatment and lodge a police report. But I did not file a police report after I was told by the officer at the Bedok North station that a report would not help catch my assailant as the police and the train officials could not identify him. This advice was given despite the fact that I had told the woman police officer that I could identify the man easily and that there were many witnesses to the attack. The police officer's reply was that the above was of no help as his actual identity was still unknown. The officer added that I should have used the emergency button to stop the train to allow the train staff to detain the assailant. I find the explanation I was given puzzling. It is absurd that the authorities are unable to investigate an assault in public on a train, and offer little but sympathy over the incident, even if the injuries I suffered were not severe. Poh Yi Hao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged March 11, 2009 Author Share March 11, 2009 Haiz... so much effort highlighting terrorism prevention in train yadda yadda... but when comes to an assault, all turn a blind eye. Another point down for the Home Team. Everytime i see the men in blue, the less respect they are getting from me. A stark difference when i was a kid, looking them up with so much respect n pride. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 Ya lor.....I tell you , if ever such happen, hammer the fella jialat jialat.....cos polis wun do anything one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 It's wholly a one-sided story. No witness to verify. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 (edited) http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Sto...ory_348514.html I WAS attacked on a train last Friday by a commuter who failed to obtain a seat from me. My assailant pushed me to the ground and pummelled me repeatedly. When I reported the matter at the control booth in the Bugis station, I was advised to seek treatment and lodge a police report. But I did not file a police report after I was told by the officer at the Bedok North station that a report would not help catch my assailant as the police and the train officials could not identify him. This advice was given despite the fact that I had told the woman police officer that I could identify the man easily and that there were many witnesses to the attack. The police officer's reply was that the above was of no help as his actual identity was still unknown. The officer added that I should have used the emergency button to stop the train to allow the train staff to detain the assailant. I find the explanation I was given puzzling. It is absurd that the authorities are unable to investigate an assault in public on a train, and offer little but sympathy over the incident, even if the injuries I suffered were not severe. Poh Yi Hao So next time before we pick up a fight with somebody or identify suspicious character, we should first approach such people and ask for their "deng gi" or name plus contact number? Edited March 11, 2009 by Yuan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 Ya lor.....I tell you , if ever such happen, hammer the fella jialat jialat.....cos polis wun do anything one So now you can "pia zui" on someone with peace and assurance...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Foxfire Neutral Newbie March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 Everyone is drumming performance based rewards and this performance is measured by KPIs and I would think there is someone out there who has a KPI to keep the number of police report low. I believe this person would be in a position to enforce his KPI throughout the system, thus ensuring a perfect bonus at the end of the year and a media release to show how well the system is. One man benefit is the masses' pain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lab4games 1st Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 no wonder yr after yr we hear that SG have low crime rates! because they don't want to log in our cases... now i think SG crime rate is at least double of what is actually reported. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 victim is stupid. waste time only to report to police in the first place, unless you are an MP, or have some grievous injury, the judicial system will laugh at you and spit you back out. never mind if you found the assailant. i was whacked by my crazy neighbour, but the only action taken was mediation. ah well. mediation with crazy old fool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 to be fair, elsewhere also many more cases than reported. just that if people think our police are much better than some countries in the region, i can only am4 chio3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mica_blue Neutral Newbie March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 here's another one http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Sto...ory_348516.html 'No one from the police has called. If the caller's intention was real, wouldn't we be harmed by now? How do the police decide which cases to investigate first?' MADAM TAN LIAN GIM: 'My husband received a verbal threat via his mobile phone last Wednesday. The caller, who knew my husband's name, threatened to inflict bodily harm on him and his family. My husband made a police report the same day at the Bedok North station. No one from the police post has called us since. If the caller's intention was real, wouldn't we be dead or harmed by now? I have read reports about how the police acted swiftly when similar threats were made against a grassroots leader. How do the police decide which cases to investigate first in apparently similar reports?' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 Think they operate on the ruling way that they adhree to, ie: 'you die is your own business' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 Too bad you are not a FT or tourist living in SIngapore. I guarantee + chop + confirmed, IF you were a big shot or FT.....the police will review the MRT video tape together with you to track where and when this guy get into the MRT and from the Ez-link card data gathered from the barrier computer.....the police will be knocking on the culprit's door within 3 hours! Just too bad lah, have to understand that you are just a lesser mortal living in Singapore. The police got more important things to do you know? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lab4games 1st Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 first. .. the law is for the rich and elite now even the police is for the rich and elite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 Think they operate on the ruling way that they adhree to, ie: 'you die is your own business' eh, i heard that if u really want to "pick a fight", do so by slapping his/her face. slapping face won't result in police actions. only bodily harm. so next time road bully, just slap his face can aready. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Sto...ory_348514.html I WAS attacked on a train last Friday by a commuter who failed to obtain a seat from me. My assailant pushed me to the ground and pummelled me repeatedly. When I reported the matter at the control booth in the Bugis station, I was advised to seek treatment and lodge a police report. But I did not file a police report after I was told by the officer at the Bedok North station that a report would not help catch my assailant as the police and the train officials could not identify him. This advice was given despite the fact that I had told the woman police officer that I could identify the man easily and that there were many witnesses to the attack. The police officer's reply was that the above was of no help as his actual identity was still unknown. The officer added that I should have used the emergency button to stop the train to allow the train staff to detain the assailant. I find the explanation I was given puzzling. It is absurd that the authorities are unable to investigate an assault in public on a train, and offer little but sympathy over the incident, even if the injuries I suffered were not severe. Poh Yi Hao Where is the assailant when the victim report to the control at Bugis? Who is he, how is the victim going to made a positive id? Did the victim produced the witnesses when making a report? From the letter the writer wrote, seems like he sustained serious injuries or at least there ought to be some visual(read - he was pummelled repeatedly. Why did he not request for ambulance? This letter seem ambiguous, it may have been 2 person rushing for a seat and slight brushes encountered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 here's another one http://www.straitstimes.com/ST%2BForum/Sto...ory_348516.html 'No one from the police has called. If the caller's intention was real, wouldn't we be harmed by now? How do the police decide which cases to investigate first?' MADAM TAN LIAN GIM: 'My husband received a verbal threat via his mobile phone last Wednesday. The caller, who knew my husband's name, threatened to inflict bodily harm on him and his family. My husband made a police report the same day at the Bedok North station. No one from the police post has called us since. If the caller's intention was real, wouldn't we be dead or harmed by now? I have read reports about how the police acted swiftly when similar threats were made against a grassroots leader. How do the police decide which cases to investigate first in apparently similar reports?' Again, where is the evidence? It would have been a different matter if the threat was to be in the form of a sms. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear March 11, 2009 Share March 11, 2009 IIRC, the police will not bother if there is no broken bones or bleeding or something like that. In Yi Hao case, It is a civil case. He must sustain more damage to become a criminal case... So go on boys & girls, beat up someone. Just make sure it's not serious enough to be treated as a criminal case. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...