Possible to appeal against fine and demerit points?

Terryble

Hi guys, like to consult MCF brothers and sisters who might have been in a similar situation before.

My friend just received a TP letter charging him for 'driving without consideration for other persons'.

The offence carries a $200 fine and 9 demerit points.

My friend just wanted to pay the fine and get it over with, but I thought the outcome was unjust.

Here's what happen on the road:

He stopped behind a lorry which is dropping passengers.

In an attempt to overtake the lorry, he signalled right and checked his blind spot.

That was when a foreign motorcycle rammed past his right car mirror, losing his balance and crashing onto the road.

The right car mirror broke into pieces as a result of the impact.

Needless to say, both road users could not resolve the dispute, each making allegations at one another.

Due to abrasions on the foreign motorcyclist, he checked into a hospital.

My friend was then called down by TP to record a statement.

Subsequently, this notice of traffic offence arrived in the mailbox. [furious]

I'm not sure how TP arrived at the conclusion that my friend drove without consideration,

bearing in mind that his car was stationary when the bike crashed into his mirror.

Of course, I understand that this is just his side of the story,

and the IO probably have a different view on the accident.

But does that mean that every car driver has to be penalized for the recklessness of other road users?

(Especially locally unqualified foreign road users who are not familiar with traffic rules and safety)

Thanks for reading, I guess I just wanted to find out if its worthy to pursue the case further or just get it over with.

My friend can't even be bothered to appeal the offence, saying its a waste of time. [shakehead]

Edited by Terryble

Hi guys, like to consult MCF brothers and sisters who might have been in a similar situation before.

My friend just received a TP letter charging him for 'driving without consideration for other persons'.

My friend just wanted to pay the fine and get it over with, but I thought the outcome was unjust.

Here's what happen on the road:

He stopped behind a lorry which is dropping passengers.

In an attempt to overtake the lorry, he signalled right and checked his blind spot.

That was when a foreign motorcycle rammed past his right car mirror, losing his balance and crashing onto the road.

The right car mirror broke into pieces as a result of the impact.

Needless to say, both road users could not resolve the dispute, each making allegations at one another.

Due to abrasions on the foreign motorcyclist, he checked into a hospital.

My friend was then called down by TP to record a statement.

Subsequently, this notice of traffic offence arrived in the mailbox. [furious]

I'm not sure how TP arrived at the conclusion that my friend drove without consideration,

bearing in mind that his car was stationary when the bike crashed into his mirror.

Of course, I understand that this is just his side of the story,

and the IO probably have a different view on the accident.

But does that mean that every car driver has to be penalized for the recklessness of other road users?

(Especially locally unqualified foreign road users who are not familiar with traffic rules and safety)

Thanks for reading, I guess I just wanted to find out if its worthy to pursue the case further or just get it over with.

My friend can't even be bothered to appeal the offence, saying its a waste of time. [shakehead]

From what i see its totally ur frens fault.

He checked blindspot and signalled does not mean he has the right of way.

If another motorist can ram into him it means that either he didnt check the blindspot correctly or he didnt check at all.

Or he checked and expected the motorist to give way just caused he signal?

He almost caused the life of a motorist, in my opinion he shd be suspended driving.

But since only get a fine and a few demerit points, faster pay liao wait for wad

In between here, there is some informations missing your friend have not filled you in.

everything also can appeal...they will just suspend your fine while they listen to your side of the story. but if no other credible witness or evidence, then it will be tough.

i don't think his insurance premium will increase if the cyclist did not make any claim. If the hospital bill is small, then make a private settlement. Make sure the guy sign off a document agreeing that this is settled privately. I think some insurance companies provide a template letter for such document. TS friend will at most lose the 5% good driver bonus.

as far as i know,it's tough.... what to do... they have no more money already.... [lipsrsealed] .... even i myself tried to appeal for the first time (in 5+yrs of driving, 1st time kena minus pt...) just 3 weeks ago for a $120/3pt illegal parking fine (mind you that guy simply jot down my number plate and i receive love letter after 1 week), it was rejected.. similarly, one colleague also fail a similar offence appeal recently... [sweatdrop]

Not bad liao.... i kena before, police van slightly behind on 1st lane, Me in 2nd lane, Car A in 3rd lane.

3rd lane is a turn right only lane. At junction, instead of turn right, car A went straight (halfway lane 2), i swerve horn and swerve into lane 1 to avoid collision, police van behind me.

I kena fine....... [sweatdrop] just take it as pay abit to avoid misfortune lor

Why it alway like that whereby we have to get the penalty due to someone convenience?????

Those illgeal parking/stopping car make other cars that are coming behind it must filter out. If it happen to be 1 lane to and fro, we are force to do illgeal stuff by crossing over to the other different direction lane to pass through. If something happen to us (like bro above, or get caught because we become illgeal driving off to the other direction road) why are we become the one to get the blame/ penalty instead? In the 1st place, if the illgeal parking car is not infront of us, such incident will not happen right?

appealing is one thing, but whethe TP accept or not is another thing.. from wat u describe, i think normally motorcyclists are more protected in accidents as compared to motorcars.. cos in the eye of TP, they are perceived as the more vulnerable on the roads and hence motorcars must be more tolerant towards them.. hence ur friend might be rite to just accept the outcome and move on.

Not bad liao.... i kena before, police van slightly behind on 1st lane, Me in 2nd lane, Car A in 3rd lane.

3rd lane is a turn right only lane. At junction, instead of turn right, car A went straight (halfway lane 2), i swerve horn and swerve into lane 1 to avoid collision, police van behind me.

I kena fine....... [sweatdrop] just take it as pay abit to avoid misfortune lor

Bro,i think ur so called lane one is lane three,and ur so called lane three is lane one,cause remember lane one is always the most outest lane on the right(fastest lane)

I understand ur point of view,it is that car A's fault,i also meet these type of a-----e drivers tons of times,they are very selfish,only think of themselves,never care of other road users,but come to think of it,if there is a motorcycle on the 3rd lane(leftest),it will be damn suay for him as he will sudden swerve his bike to the left or sudden break and the vehicle behind may bring him to hell or heaven next. So if u also swerve to the left to other lane suddenly,u are in fault too,it is best to drive slow when u see this type of scenario,that is what my dad told me,it is useful though,he said sometimes slow will bring u home peacefully,drive fast may prolong ur journey home. Just my 2cts,cheers bro :)

I think appeal also no use unless it's the motorcycle that crash into the mirror and fell .

IN your friend case , I believe his car is ready pointed/swerving outwards then he check the blind spot ...

Bro,i think ur so called lane one is lane three,and ur so called lane three is lane one,cause remember lane one is always the most outest lane on the right(fastest lane)

I understand ur point of view,it is that car A's fault,i also meet these type of a-----e drivers tons of times,they are very selfish,only think of themselves,never care of other road users,but come to think of it,if there is a motorcycle on the 3rd lane(leftest),it will be damn suay for him as he will sudden swerve his bike to the left or sudden break and the vehicle behind may bring him to hell or heaven next. So if u also swerve to the left to other lane suddenly,u are in fault too,it is best to drive slow when u see this type of scenario,that is what my dad told me,it is useful though,he said sometimes slow will bring u home peacefully,drive fast may prolong ur journey home. Just my 2cts,cheers bro :)

i was not driving fast, how to with police van beside me? Just that the car was maybe only a quarter or half car length in front me and just swerve in... only way is to swerve out.

Looking at the positive side, it is not as troublesome as an accident [;)]

Edited by Galantspeedz

as far as i know,it's tough.... what to do... they have no more money already.... [lipsrsealed] .... even i myself tried to appeal for the first time (in 5+yrs of driving, 1st time kena minus pt...) just 3 weeks ago for a $120/3pt illegal parking fine (mind you that guy simply jot down my number plate and i receive love letter after 1 week), it was rejected.. similarly, one colleague also fail a similar offence appeal recently... [sweatdrop]

ah gong boh lui liao, boh tang cham siong [lipsrsealed]

Hi guys, thanks for the all the replies and advice.

My friend is of the opinion to just pay and move on.

Sorry if my description wasnt clear enough, my friend vehicle was stationary when he signalled right and checked his blind spot.

Before he could move off, the bike slammed past his car mirror.

The first question I ask was,

'Is it you accelerate at the same time you check blind spot huh?'

Well, he said he stopped behind the lorry, and before he could move, the bike hit into his car.

So technically, my friend's car wasnt moving at all, he just stopped behind the lorry and tried to overtake when the accident happened.

That's why I felt that the incident wasn't my friend's fault if the bike didnt maintain a safety distance.

But alas, I know that its my friend's words against the other,

no witness so difficult to prove anything.

Just wanna see if can appeal for a re-investigation of the case.

But quite silly right? Over $200...

I dont think TP so free also.

Probably will just reject the appeal.

Edited by Terryble

Anyone successfully appealed against speeding offence? I was snapped by the KPE camera earlier. Will try to write in to appeal.

against traffic offense from TP, your chance of appealing successful is very very slim. so far, me, all my friends got no chance at all either speeding, beating red light, park illegally (tp case).

for your friend, i believe he did move at the same time so called checking his blind spot. i dont think he stopped behind the lorry, then signal right and check blind spot. only when he being hit by the motorcycle then he stop. i have seen so many examples liao.

Anyone successfully appealed against speeding offence? I was snapped by the KPE camera earlier. Will try to write in to appeal.

If it's your first time in KPE. It will be a letter warning. If more dan once, good luck.

Forget about appealing on speeding as zap by Camera somemore. I have a few driver frens also kana caught in different occasion (eg. road block, camera via PIE and BKE) - all their appeals went down the drain and 1 of them even got license suspension due to speeding 40km/h+ more.

For TS's fren senario, from a rider POV, the rider must be behind the car and change lane to right and unexpectedly your fren never see rider cos he was at the back. Never check rear mirror even thou with blind spot and signal, bike can pick up very fast and rider likely unable to react as car serve right out to his lane and end this kind of accident. Riding can easily change lane but reacting to suddenly movement of car is not easy.

Edited by Gentoro

[shakehead]

According to GIA's Barometer of Liability chart, as long as the driver cross into another lane and result in an accident, the driver is 100% at fault.