HDB flat prices up (record high)

Veryfree

I understand what you are going through. I have been and am still going through the same thing you go through in life.

However a declinning HDB prices isn't going to have any effect on our daily struggles, and in fact may add the the sh&t we are already facing. If one is already committed to a HDB flat (e.g. a 4 room flat at $350K), and the price is declining, every other struggles remain the same, but every month you are paying for a $350k flat which is now worth $290K and keep declining. That is not a desirable thing. And if the Govt hears all our lament, and decide to arbiturarily force all HDB prices to go down, they can if they want to, this would be what happen to more than half of the people. So let's just be very very careful what we wish for, because if our wishes comes true, the results will be ugly.

yes, if gov decide to push the hdb price downwards now, many, MANY will die, from high rise jumoing down or mrt track [sweatdrop]

For the young couples starting out, the whole painful truth is they got to be realistic. Go for smaller flats which are not only more affordable, but the value increase will also be much better. For bigger flats like 5 rooms or EA, price increment tend to be much smaller. At the end of the day, it's not the size or type of flat that makes a home, it's the people in the home.

I have a young couple friend, just gave birth to a baby. Hubby works at airport and draws less than 1k per month. Wife is not working. They wanted to buy a 4 room HDB flat, but loan was rejected by HDB because they just can't afford to. I even went as far as to offer them a room at my home rent free for as long as they wish, so they can build up their savings and get a flat, but they refused, cos they want "a home of their own near to their parents". To add on to the problem, I feel they are rather immatured in thinking - like many who complains, and are not willing to work hard enough. It's this inflexible and "kuku" mentality that I see alot in young people nowadays.

wah 1k single income family with 1 kid wanna go for 4rm ahhh... [shakehead]

Mentor Minister Lee recently said: "If we have more immigrants than genuine Singaporeans, you become a different people. We must have that core, at least 65% of people born and bred who understand this place, who are part of this society and who know how we got here and why we must do these things."

Hahaha....he is still dreaming rah. He want at least 65% local breed sporean ?????? [hur]

i had a good look at my fellow collegues in office here. Singles/married with no intensions to have kids oredi make up 50-60% liao. The rest with kid only have 1 or planning to have one only. Im one of only 5 couples with 2 or more kids. Pathethic statistics.

At this rate, he can get 10% local breed oredi damn heng liao. [dizzy]

Sporean are so god damn frighten of commitment now. Still go implement stupid late hours ERP, increasing housing costs, increase GST.....blah blah blah.

He wants more babies........wait long long rah! [laugh]

I understand what you are going through. I have been and am still going through the same thing you go through in life.

However a declinning HDB prices isn't going to have any effect on our daily struggles, and in fact may add the the sh&t we are already facing. If one is already committed to a HDB flat (e.g. a 4 room flat at $350K), and the price is declining, every other struggles remain the same, but every month you are paying for a $350k flat which is now worth $290K and keep declining. That is not a desirable thing. And if the Govt hears all our lament, and decide to arbiturarily force all HDB prices to go down, they can if they want to, this would be what happen to more than half of the people. So let's just be very very careful what we wish for, because if our wishes comes true, the results will be ugly.

For the young couples starting out, the whole painful truth is they got to be realistic. Go for smaller flats which are not only more affordable, but the value increase will also be much better. For bigger flats like 5 rooms or EA, price increment tend to be much smaller. At the end of the day, it's not the size or type of flat that makes a home, it's the people in the home.

I have a young couple friend, just gave birth to a baby. Hubby works at airport and draws less than 1k per month. Wife is not working. They wanted to buy a 4 room HDB flat, but loan was rejected by HDB because they just can't afford to. I even went as far as to offer them a room at my home rent free for as long as they wish, so they can build up their savings and get a flat, but they refused, cos they want "a home of their own near to their parents". To add on to the problem, I feel they are rather immatured in thinking - like many who complains, and are not willing to work hard enough. It's this inflexible and "kuku" mentality that I see alot in young people nowadays.

so nice of you to offer the a room to stay. you are a friend in need indeed. [thumbsup] my place going to have renovation at year end, so, can harbour ?

wah 1k single income family with 1 kid wanna go for 4rm ahhh... [shakehead]

That's nothing bro..... the hubby spent almost half of his take home pay to buy a PSP, on the month before the baby was born... [shakehead] Further, they are in their twenties, with nothing much in the CPF, even if both are working, their total household income in not likely to be higher than 3k per month.

I did recommend them to buy new 3 room flats at Sengkang, but they want to stay near to their parents who live in matured estates. And as we all know, matured estate housing price is [sweatdrop] . Want to help them also difficult, because like every other young couples, they have a mentality problem.

so nice of you to offer the a room to stay. you are a friend in need indeed. [thumbsup] my place going to have renovation at year end, so, can harbour ?

My tiny guest room is for friends who are down and out and need a hand leh.... Anyway got another young chap moving in soon - moving back from overseas rethink his future plans.

You rich guy don't need me lah [flowerface]

That's nothing bro..... the hubby spent almost half of his take home pay to buy a PSP, on the month before the baby was born... [shakehead] Further, they are in their twenties, with nothing much in the CPF, even if both are working, their total household income in not likely to be higher than 3k per month.

I did recommend them to buy new 3 room flats at Sengkang, but they want to stay near to their parents who live in matured estates. And as we all know, matured estate housing price is [sweatdrop] . Want to help them also difficult, because like every other young couples, they have a mentality problem.

they stupid or wat?? [hur]

they should just stay with parents for the time being lah, at the same time baby can be taken care by parents. still young, can save, save.

but thinking back, maybe cannot blame them. if they can think properly or do financial planning, they probably wont have a kid now [lipsrsealed]

just to share, over the weekend i went to a friend's house for baby one month party. the house is a one year old hdb 4 room flat at buangkok.

this is the first time i see a basement car park for hdb flats. the car park is under a few blocks, and so can drive to below the block and take the lift up. i was impressed by this design as i thought only private condo then has this feature.

also, the surrounding was quite nice and it was surprisingly windy. the 4rm flat was quite small though.

More importantly the flats there are very near to Buangkok MRT.

our MM is a realistic man, the world is changing all our thoughts.

i don't recall exactly the date, but there was indication to what SG is moving.

==some quote from

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapor...obs-vacant-sign

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, the prime minister's predecessor and father, said last month that Singapore was previously an Asian society made up of ethnic Chinese, Malays and Indians, but that now "we've got a real rainbow spread". But some say the color analogy is blurred as high-end foreign talent moves in and local labor looks to move abroad.

Official statistics estimate 150,000 Singaporeans, or 3.3% of the population, now work or live abroad. In a 2006 survey, 53% of young Singaporeans said they would consider emigration. Last month, Home Affairs Minister Wong confirmed that an average of 1,000 Singaporeans had given up their citizenship to move abroad every year over the last three years, with many of the departures coming from the same high-end industries the government is bidding to attract foreign talent.

How wide the government is willing to open the door to high-end immigration is an open political question. Mentor Minister Lee recently said: "If we have more immigrants than genuine Singaporeans, you become a different people. We must have that core, at least 65% of people born and bred who understand this place, who are part of this society and who know how we got here and why we must do these things."

===unquote

but he didn't exactly say the words "if Singaporeans are too poor to live here, they can go live elsewhere." Neither is it found in the source u provided here.

If we want to bring down ppl who oppose our views, we must make sure we don't bring ourselves down first by saying things they didn't (perjury).

btw, i voted WP. Did u vote SDP? They love to do perjury LOL kidding....don't anyhow quote lah!!! Must check first.

question. if say you can sell your hdb flat and make a handsome profit (about > $250k, ie. sell price less off purchase price), but will have to buy another which should be about the same price (assuming dont downgrade), then will you choose to do sell, to encash from the profit ? but the bottom line is, there is actually no real profit, but just effectively encashing from one's own cpf account ? pls share your opinion and stand. thanks.

My tiny guest room is for friends who are down and out and need a hand leh.... Anyway got another young chap moving in soon - moving back from overseas rethink his future plans.

i don't have a car, i don't have a property, so can you take me in? [drivingcar]

this example i agree with you. if he is my friend, i would have screw him upside down.

but seriously, how can anyone feed a family with 1k?

Good for you bro.

unfortunate for me & some, the shitty holes (not just one) are just too deep for me to climb.

getting married, taking care of old folks, now forking out larger amount to buy HDB and considering

risking high interest in the future (from a private bank) is making me sick.

So clinging to the motto : when the going gets tough, the tough gets going..

dun worry bro, i think 60% of singaporean males face the same problem as you. (including me)

the other 20% damn rich and 20% damn poor so bo chap ahaha

good for you bro, karma works in mysterious ways..

They are not a chinese family right?

Chinese die die want to have face, don't ever want to be caught dead staying for free in other pple's houses.

They are not a chinese family right?

Chinese die die want to have face, don't ever want to be caught dead staying for free in other pple's houses.

They are Chinese. The way I see it, wife stay at her mum's home, husband stay at his parents home. The in-laws don't like their respective daugther/son-in-law. Wifey and I felt it's not healthy for the family to be broken apart, so we offerred them. They could pay rental if they can afford, but I rather they save up for their own nest for these couple of years.

Anyway, it's all just talk, as they have other ideas.

this example i agree with you. if he is my friend, i would have screw him upside down.

but seriously, how can anyone feed a family with 1k?

A good screwing session is pending lah.... But then again, one can screw all he wants, the screwee also have to be willing to change, and grow up.

Young couples nowadays... haizzz!

A good screwing session is pending lah.... But then again, one can screw all he wants, the screwee also have to be willing to change, and grow up.

Young couples nowadays... haizzz!

let them suffer some hardship, then they will grow up (although abit late)

if still cannot think, just too bad.