Freestylers09 5th Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A...915-168000.html good example..too rich till scare and phobia to be poor therefore even rich people are worried good example ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A...915-168000.html good example..too rich till scare and phobia to be poor therefore even rich people are worried good example this fella is definitely not too rich. he is simply sick. but you are right, rich people got their problems too. jia jia you ben nan nian de jing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 this fella is definitely not too rich. he is simply sick. but you are right, rich people got their problems too. jia jia you ben nan nian de jing I rather to be rich and have problems rather then poor and have problem . At least money can help solve a lot of the problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 I rather to be rich and have problems rather then poor and have problem . At least money can help solve a lot of the problems. they are different kinds of problems. not money problems. my mum always say , any problem that can settle with money is not a real problem..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Dude, you assume this person can borrow 30 yrs right? so he must be not too old. Lets say 35yrs old. Fair? OK. This means that he should have been working for about 10yrs (considering singaporean finish Uni) Fair right? OK this means he didnt earn $100k pa for the last 10 yrs. say 1st 2 years earn $40k 3-4th yr earn $50k 5-6th yr earn $70k 7-8th yr earn $85k 9 and 10th yr earn $100kpa Considering standard expenses + car + keeping up with the Joneses etc etc He probably saves only 10% a year spread out over the 10 yrs. So total savings is less than $100k, throw in usable CPF say another $100k Total $200k He downpays $200k to buy a $1mil property so the loan is $800k with no cash left except the asset. if market cracks, his life can become naught. Walking on thin ice , dont you think? By the way, we are discussing probable scenarios which in this instance makes most sense. Which ever part you feel the scenario is not fair painted, plse feel free to discuss. Buy a $1mil condo only to live like a pauper, very few people like you (and me) around lah. you scenario is wrong lah. you forgot the hdb super appreciation over the past 10 years. That is the MAJOR factor. Lets say he saves 10%. so he have 100k cash. Another 12-4% and cpf 10% goes into housing loan which comes up to 230k. So he paid of his hdb loan of 170k (minus grant) 100%. A 200k hdb new flat is probably worth 400k right now. So with 100k cash and 400k flat they have only need to take 500k loan for a new condo provided they sell the hdb. U ask who here have done it, well I just sold off my EC for 0.9 mil to a young couple who have a pungol flat. I think their income does not look very high. Seriously, I think it is easily done if you take into account the hdb appreciation over 10 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 (edited) deleted Edited September 16, 2009 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 (edited) Dude, you assume this person can borrow 30 yrs right? so he must be not too old. Lets say 35yrs old. Fair? OK. This means that he should have been working for about 10yrs (considering singaporean finish Uni) Fair right? OK this means he didnt earn $100k pa for the last 10 yrs. say 1st 2 years earn $40k 3-4th yr earn $50k 5-6th yr earn $70k 7-8th yr earn $85k 9 and 10th yr earn $100kpa Considering standard expenses + car + keeping up with the Joneses etc etc He probably saves only 10% a year spread out over the 10 yrs. So total savings is less than $100k, throw in usable CPF say another $100k Total $200k He downpays $200k to buy a $1mil property so the loan is $800k with no cash left except the asset. if market cracks, his life can become naught. Walking on thin ice , dont you think? By the way, we are discussing probable scenarios which in this instance makes most sense. Which ever part you feel the scenario is not fair painted, plse feel free to discuss. Buy a $1mil condo only to live like a pauper, very few people like you (and me) around lah. The propose income you post look reasonable at 1 glance, but the problem is that when you take a closer look, a lot of things is miss out. Firstly, with a combine incoming of 40K, the cpf contribution will already be 80K after 10 years even if you did have any increment at all. final sum is about 138K(but could be more due to the interest). Anothing is that, some of them. their starting pay could be higher than 40K. (not much different though). but the 10% of saving is abit low from what i see the trend that most of my friends have. they are saving almost 30~50% of their saving(hearsay though). furthermore, if they had already planned in earliers years to buy a 1Mil property, they could have actually saved even more along the way. furthermore, like another brother mention on the property, they might have a hdb flat that could fetch a high prices, these things are possible. Edited September 17, 2009 by Joseph22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A...915-168000.html good example..too rich till scare and phobia to be poor therefore even rich people are worried good example I wonder why such a pessimistic guy could end up so rich.... Born with a silver spoon? or married to a silver spoon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 I wonder why such a pessimistic guy could end up so rich.... Born with a silver spoon? or married to a silver spoon? When he have nothing, he got nothing to worry about so he was optimistic and can invest and work hard as he got no worry?? but when he have a lot, his lifestyle change and suddenly feel that he has a lot of important things. now he got so many thing impt to him he fear that he will loss them, hence become pessimistic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 frankly speaking, i find no point (my opinion) debating or trying to make calculation on the affordability of 1 million dollar house based on 100K pa income......too many assumptions and its a waste of time becos those who think they can afford that will buydespite having these calculation right in front of them..... they probably won't think of the consequences. Gamblers mentality..... just like all gamblers walking right into a casino, everyone will think that luck is with them & they gonna make a pile in the casino. Nobody goes in thinking they will loose their money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 my mum always say , any problem that can settle with money is not a real problem..... wah, my father says that all the time. but unfortunately for me, its easier said then done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyhawk 1st Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 frankly speaking, i find no point (my opinion) debating or trying to make calculation on the affordability of 1 million dollar house based on 100K pa income......too many assumptions and its a waste of time becos those who think they can afford that will buydespite having these calculation right in front of them..... they probably won't think of the consequences. Gamblers mentality..... just like all gamblers walking right into a casino, everyone will think that luck is with them & they gonna make a pile in the casino. Nobody goes in thinking they will loose their money its a forum. everything we say/do here is a waste of time. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 frankly speaking, i find no point (my opinion) debating or trying to make calculation on the affordability of 1 million dollar house based on 100K pa income......too many assumptions and its a waste of time becos those who think they can afford that will buydespite having these calculation right in front of them..... they probably won't think of the consequences. Gamblers mentality..... just like all gamblers walking right into a casino, everyone will think that luck is with them & they gonna make a pile in the casino. Nobody goes in thinking they will loose their money we are all here passing time mah. nothing to do now due to slow economic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 trader boss ma..of coz rich and stress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 i went to a taiwan fengshui master talk b4..he helped people like top 3 richest in taiwan.. actually he say quite true la..rich is own defination for contentment and happiness he say dont think the richest pple no worries..they are more worried and stress how to keep their empire and fortune everyday and every minute..satistify by the wealth but mentally not easy to cope with hmm..this article seems quite make sense too. maybe tio toto or big sweep one..can be more relax ..no things to worried about Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 you scenario is wrong lah. you forgot the hdb super appreciation over the past 10 years. That is the MAJOR factor. Lets say he saves 10%. so he have 100k cash. Another 12-4% and cpf 10% goes into housing loan which comes up to 230k. So he paid of his hdb loan of 170k (minus grant) 100%. A 200k hdb new flat is probably worth 400k right now. So with 100k cash and 400k flat they have only need to take 500k loan for a new condo provided they sell the hdb. U ask who here have done it, well I just sold off my EC for 0.9 mil to a young couple who have a pungol flat. I think their income does not look very high. Seriously, I think it is easily done if you take into account the hdb appreciation over 10 years. To begin I dont disagree. my scenario is there as a base for forumers to add on. I thought I made that quite clear. but if assume he bot HDB 10 yrs ago means he got married at 25 and in debt since 10 yrs ago, have wife since 10 yrs ago. etc etc etc...maybe he cant even save a cent. and perhaps it is not a realistic scenario of someone who may earn $100pa by age of 33. or maybe such a person wont have such a risk profile that enables him to get where he is? we're looking for a most probable scenario, you see. anyway if he is on leverage and geared up. his car doesnt belong to him and his savings are not really there . then it's about leverage bottomline is once we start to discuss the matter largely on leverage factors, then no point already. becos gearing is about risk profiles not some much about real affordability. Therefore, we need a 'live' example of someone with a household income of $100k pa and have bot a condo of $1mil to stand out and then we can see how he did it and what his circumstances were. like a case study. Just for discussion purposes only. for fun, happy happy and also learn something maybe. dont be too serious in MCf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 just wondering how to earn 100k a month can teach me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Affordability means different things to different people. The young couple who bot the 0.9mil EC from you wind30 may be sacrficing many things for it. and living a slaves life. or maybe parents help? we dont know. just like how some people buy their cars. through huge loans and miserable lifestyles.... if thats what affordability means, ok I zip up. anyway, i just think many people here should watch "money no enough" again. i reckon, no one is taking any offence here....just "forumming" ok hahah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...