Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 i am one of the case you mentioned. but the thing is, even if i sell now to make a 100% profit, i still need a roof and will have to buy another one at the current market price, so actually i dont really benefit . Exactly, it's about comfort or mind and peace of heart. Say sell HDB and top up $500k for condo. age about 40yrs (take 25yr loan) earning $100k take home per year. owe car, owe house, pay maintenance, kids expenses will lead to serious savings reduced it's quite a stretch.....or walking on thin ice as one of the folks here say. $100k pa buy $1mil condo affordable? + $100k pa MUST buy $100k car otherwise , no face. in the end, panting heavily, with weight on the shoulders. If anything happens, world may fall apart. Like that considered affordable? thats is why the market is moving up. becos of people who can "afford" hyak hyak ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 I don't want. I don't mind the $ but I don't want the fame, people hovering around me and everyone knowing me. Best is everyone only know me as an average joe who has a decent job like say a zoo keeper. day in day out working in nature, interact with your charges, clear their poop and take care of them. And best is they will never backstab you. Play for liverpool lor... their fanz will not mob around you want. they treat you like their son lah... look at torres and gerrard, ppl dont bother them one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 i curious.. why people like condo than landed?some area landed can get at less than a million freehold some condo so super ex.. wondering how come..for investment ? or the facilities? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Exactly, it's about comfort or mind and peace of heart. Say sell HDB and top up $500k for condo. age about 40yrs (take 25yr loan) earning $100k take home per year. owe car, owe house, pay maintenance, kids expenses will lead to serious savings reduced it's quite a stretch.....or walking on thin ice as one of the folks here say. $100k pa buy $1mil condo affordable? + $100k pa MUST buy $100k car otherwise , no face. in the end, panting heavily, with weight on the shoulders. If anything happens, world may fall apart. Like that considered affordable? thats is why the market is moving up. becos of people who can "afford" hyak hyak Actually hor. i mil i will buy a landed liao... cause dont need to pay monthly fee for security guard...and got free parking... easy to wash car too... got own garden mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Me booked my ponggol flat about 12 years ago, stay for 8+ years already. If jus consider the purchase price then and the price can fetch now, still not yet 100%, but about 75% more...... 12 years ago... happens to be 1997 right? dunno about hdb but private there is a big difference in 1997 and 1999.... u probably the worst case scenario if you bought at the peak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Play for liverpool lor... their fanz will not mob around you want. they treat you like their son lah... look at torres and gerrard, ppl dont bother them one.. Lao liao, and no football talent. And footballers always get injured and short playing life. If I make enough money to retire, I will really quit my present job and go apply for zoo keeper role. No joke. That job can shovel poop until 60. Have you seen the size of the elephant's poop? If I shovel daily, I will have arms like Arnie's by the time I withdraw my CPF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Lao liao, and no football talent. And footballers always get injured and short playing life. If I make enough money to retire, I will really quit my present job and go apply for zoo keeper role. No joke. That job can shovel poop until 60. Have you seen the size of the elephant's poop? If I shovel daily, I will have arms like Arnie's by the time I withdraw my CPF. Lao liao hor can be commentator mah.. look at football channel those so call expert. talk as if very easy to do this do that one. and when they are player, they are mostly not very good one... also mention about how ppl should defend free kick and how they should run without ball... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 (edited) i curious.. why people like condo than landed?some area landed can get at less than a million freehold some condo so super ex.. wondering how come..for investment ? or the facilities? .... less than a million landed freehold... if looking at the location I am looking at in the north area around YCK MRT, it meant a small plot of land 1600sqft and very band condition, need rebuild. But I agree totally about getting landed. I stayed in my EC for 5 years. Swam ONCE. that is all of the facilities I used. never BBQ, never gym, never tennis. That is why I sold of my place and bought a landed terrace. Frankly the PSF for freehold land is only like 20% higher than the PSF of leasehold EC built-in.... If I count the built-in, then the freehold terrace built-in psf is 20% lower than the EC. Location wise, my EC is 0.6km from YCK mrt. My new place is 1.2 km away from YCK mrt...... Edited September 17, 2009 by Wind30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Perceived security (my wife's reason) Landed maintenance can cost a bundle Typically landed houses are hotter because low level Too big for comfort esp if small household Got old folks staying with you so walking up and down the stairs dangerous for them Anyone can add on more? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 .... less than a million landed freehold... if looking at the location I am looking at in the north area around YCK MRT, it meant a small plot of land 1600sqft and very band condition, need rebuild. But I agree totally about getting landed. I stayed in my EC for 5 years. Swam ONCE. that is all of the facilities I used. never BBQ, never gym, never tennis. That is why I sold of my place and bought a landed terrace. Frankly the PSF for freehold land is only like 20% higher than the PSF of leasehold EC built-in.... If I count the built-in, then the freehold terrace built-in psf is 20% lower than the EC. Location wise, my EC is 0.6km from YCK mrt. My new place is 1.2 km away from YCK mrt...... Heard that earlier got developer want to sell BTO terrace house at 800K. 3000sqare feet i think. this is better deal than Condo man.. but of couse ppl think got cisco very good mah... can show off... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Perceived security (my wife's reason) Landed maintenance can cost a bundle Typically landed houses are hotter because low level Too big for comfort esp if small household Got old folks staying with you so walking up and down the stairs dangerous for them Anyone can add on more? i agree. i stayed in landed before with my parents so i noe. also, when come to repairing this and that, you tend to get chopped. i remember just to engage contractors to paint the whole house inside out, already cost $25k liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 those condo ads always show a sexy woman in bikini lying by the pool, all fake one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 i agree. i stayed in landed before with my parents so i noe. also, when come to repairing this and that, you tend to get chopped. i remember just to engage contractors to paint the whole house inside out, already cost $25k liao. but condo not big enough for big family mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 1997 booked is correct, collect keys from HDB in mid 2001. Wrong as in din buy at the peak.Price then was trending down, 5 rm ponggol started in the high $260K to $280K +/- for those high floor ones that collect keys 12-18 months ahead of me. those collect keys 12-18 months after me got it probably at the lowest point, a tad higher than $200k for high floor ones. have quite a few peers around my area, getting their keys around the period of 2000 - 2004 these IF my memory serve me correct........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 ya lah different people different needs. There isn't really a good answer whether condo or landed is better. For me, the main adv of landed is 1) no upstairs neighbours. My upstairs neighbour is SOOO NOISY. the kid every day bang the floor with toys, cars, dunno what. Talked to them nicely also useless. 2) more space. I want a computer room. A guest room for my mom to stay overnight. A big area to hang clothes and not worry about upstairs. A small playarea for my baby. A home theatre room. A reading space. An open concept kitchen so I need to have the stove seperate at the backyard. A walk in wardrobe. There is so many things I cannot do in a 13xx sqft apartment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 those condo ads always show a sexy woman in bikini lying by the pool, all fake one. u neber ask the developer when not the same as the ad?? then developer ask u to read the fine prints, actual development might differ from artist impression. so they put a ah ma in beegeenee beside the pool for u ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 ya lah different people different needs. There isn't really a good answer whether condo or landed is better. For me, the main adv of landed is 1) no upstairs neighbours. My upstairs neighbour is SOOO NOISY. the kid every day bang the floor with toys, cars, dunno what. Talked to them nicely also useless. 2) more space. I want a computer room. A guest room for my mom to stay overnight. A big area to hang clothes and not worry about upstairs. A small playarea for my baby. A home theatre room. A reading space. An open concept kitchen so I need to have the stove seperate at the backyard. A walk in wardrobe. There is so many things I cannot do in a 13xx sqft apartment. i agree with point 2. point 1 i stay in top floor so i am the one that is noisy.. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 I need to have the stove seperate at the backyard. There is so many things I cannot do in a 13xx sqft apartment. yes, nothing feels like plucking a coconut tree from your own yard, whacking it open and drinking the juice, then fire up a barbee on some bricks on the grass and grilling some steak, flavoured with herbs grown right beside the stove. To me, a condo is just a spruced up HDB flat. Not worth it at all. In 10 years' time see if i have enough money, maybe buy back the terrace house i grew up in ;) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...