Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Nope. You're the expert at this type of thing lah. Body builders like yourself tend to be at the cutting edge of nutrition and exercise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 http://drjamescarlson.blogspot.com/2010/04...y-is-wrong.html Tuesday, april 13, 2010 "Tell your doctor his chemistry is wrong, cholesterol and fat are not made from sugar..." Really? You mean I have it all wrong? This was a statement said to me by a patient who told his sister to check out my videos (or book, he wasn't sure which one she saw or read); and that was her comment back to him. I would have no problem if this statement was uttered by a layperson, but it turns out she happens to be a pediatrician. This frightened me because as a pediatrician she obviously sees children and if she does not understand the basics of biochemistry she cannot tell the parents the correct way their children should be eating. Does this scare anyone? It scares the crap out of me and is the reason I so titled my book the way I did. We have a childhood obesity pandemic, we are seeing diseases we only saw in adults now in children under 10; and this will never change until we start teaching our medical students the correct biochemical approach to eating. We doctors are not the solution, we are the problem and are making it worse. As I am writing this my Nurse Practitioner saw what I was writing and stated "Well, that makes for an interesting debate?" But I propose that there is no debate. I am dealing with the facts of nutritional biochemistry. It's like debating that 1+1 is not 2, it could be 3 or even 4. Any doctor, nutritionist, or dietitian who thinks that cholesterol and fat production does not start with simple sugars (glucose, fructose) has forgotten their basic foundational biochemistry, period. You see, it starts with a process called glycolysis which yields a molecule called Acetyl Co A. Turns out, Acetyl CoA is a pivotal biomolecule and can be the starting point for both cholestrol and fat production. Anybody reading this can type in 'glycolysis' in any search box and see the pathway yourself.Then type in Acetyl CoA and see what hits you get. Then review the pathway for cholesterol synthesis and notice what molecule starts the whole process. That's right, Acetyl CoA. A few weeks ago a good friend of mine Greg e-mailed me because he got into a discussion with a biochemist who told him that cholesterol and fat production does not start with simple sugars. The biochemist, being skeptical not cynical, told Greg he would do a little research and get back to him with his results. After he did his research he notified Greg and stated that he, the biochemist, was wrong and that Greg was indeed correct. The glaringly obvious point is that here's a biochemist who wasn't trained the correct way, even though he studied all the pathways, it just wasn't tied together for him; he had to do that for himself after his 'official' training. Make no mistake about it, cholesterol and fat production starts with simple sugars. If you do not understand or want to debate me, you are part of the problem, not the solution and you should not be educating people on the correct way to eat! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 I got left out along the way due to technology advances. Nope. You're the expert at this type of thing lah. Body builders like yourself tend to be at the cutting edge of nutrition and exercise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 I breezed IPPT with gold every year. It's a matter of want or dowan. Everyone can, it's that they're just too lazy to do something about it. Talking will not make you fit. You have to get up and do it, and maintain at it. Not one sort of overnight stunt at the gym is going to make you a superstar the next day. My gym alone, got soooo many weekend warriors. Never ending vicious cycle. My running sucks so I can only manage silver year in year out. Now that I am in Cat Z, higher chance to get gold. Jul this year prob my last try before I MR. Die die must get that $400. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Biochemist and Crossfit trainer, Robb Wolf, on paleo nutrition for kids: http://robbwolf.com/2010/04/16/kids-paleo-...trient-density/ Kids, Paleo and Nutrient Density By Robb Wolf | April 16, 2010 I really do need to Sexify my blog titles like Dr. Harris does! Ok, This needs to be a quiky but I Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cngwannabe Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Hi guys trying out the low carbs diet.. high fat, moderate protein but unsure what are the various foods available can try lettuce with chunk of picnic ham pan fried with butter and top with cheese slice ? mayonnaise, tartar sauce ok? may sound stupid, coconut cream or coconut milk can be taken directly from the can or do we need to heat up in a pot first ? is there a list for foods available to maintain this method for consumption? thnx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 ou don't keep going to lunchie with WISH and Picnic sure confirm can one. My running sucks so I can only manage silver year in year out. Now that I am in Cat Z, higher chance to get gold. Jul this year prob my last try before I MR. Die die must get that $400. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Please do a search in this thread for the necessary answer. Hi guys trying out the low carbs diet.. high fat, moderate protein but unsure what are the various foods available can try lettuce with chunk of picnic ham pan fried with butter and top with cheese slice ? mayonnaise, tartar sauce ok? may sound stupid, coconut cream or coconut milk can be taken directly from the can or do we need to heat up in a pot first ? is there a list for foods available to maintain this method for consumption? thnx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 (edited) Hi guys trying out the low carbs diet.. high fat, moderate protein but unsure what are the various foods available can try lettuce with chunk of picnic ham pan fried with butter and top with cheese slice ? mayonnaise, tartar sauce ok? may sound stupid, coconut cream or coconut milk can be taken directly from the can or do we need to heat up in a pot first ? is there a list for foods available to maintain this method for consumption? thnx Lettuce isn't the best vege to eat. Try dark green leafy veges like spinach or cruciferous veges like broccoli instead. Why fry picnic ham when you can fry some raw beef? Remember: avoid processed foods. Take a look at the ingredients of prepacked picnic ham and you will see a number of ingredients that you can't pronounce. If you have to eat cheese, buy raw milk cheese. Those individually packed cheese slices are rubbish. Again, just look at the ingredient list. Mayo and tartar sauce that you buy from the supermarket are full of sugar in the form of HFCS (high fructose corn syrup). Make them yourself or avoid them. You can eat or drink coconut cream or milk straight fro the can. I like it cold cos I prefer to eat it like a dessert. When it's cold, the texture is firmer. Take a few days (or weeks) to go through this entire thread. You will experience information overload. All your questions have been answered many times over. Edited April 19, 2010 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 (edited) CBS has painstakingly answered most of ur qns here alr. i noe cos i m 1 of e few tat keeps on throwing qns annoyingly . Take time 2 read thru e pages n reap results from it, i noe cos i ve benefited from it Edited April 19, 2010 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Mayo and tartar sauce that you buy from the supermarket are full of sugar in the form of HFCS (high fructose corn syrup). Make them yourself or avoid them. Yup, even salad dressings are bad. Just start with these few 'simple' rules. You'll be on your way. And start reading from page 1 of this thread. Just take your time. 1) eating fat doesn't make you fat and get heart attacks, unless you couple it with carbs 2) exercise doesn't contribute very much to weight loss, weight maintenance yes, but not when you have lots of fat to lose 3) sugar makes people sick and is the cause of most health problems 4) carbs, whether simple or complex, are broken down into sugar inside the body, it's just a matter of how fast 5) short bouts of highly intense exercise yields a much more lean and muscular body than long bouts of not so intense exercise 6) don't eat anything that you cannot find in nature, your body can't deal with it well 7) get enough sun All it takes is an open mind Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 i noe cos i m 1 of e few tat keeps on throwing qns annoyingly . U owe us a butter-fried chicken wing each. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cngwannabe Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 ok thnx a million , will be reading thru the thread , towards a healthier and fitter lifestyle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 U owe us a butter-fried chicken wing each. better still, lets get together n eat 猪油渣 , mi treat........................ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Palm oil. Cheap and good. Just remember to use the most stable oils to cook. They do not break down and produce trans fats and make you sick. The most stable oils are saturated fatty acids, ie ghee, butter, lard, tallow, palm oil, coconut oil...etc. I just wanted to clarify about Palm oil. Is it good? Cos if it is "good" I dun have to pay so much for olive oil??? If I want to drink oil ( cos I dun get enough). What is the best oil to drink? Coconut oil?(not cheap) Fish oil?(quite expensive) Olive OIl? Palm Oil? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 U really got balls LOL i tried drinking coconut oil a few times, and I gag whenever i try more than 3 tablespoons. Yuck!!! It's like swallowing down the head of Uncle Muthu. I absolutely do not mind eating lard, butter, lamb fat or other animal fat....but drinking oil is really another thing LOL U win lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 I just wanted to clarify about Palm oil. Is it good? Cos if it is "good" I dun have to pay so much for olive oil??? If I want to drink oil ( cos I dun get enough). What is the best oil to drink? Coconut oil?(not cheap) Fish oil?(quite expensive) Olive OIl? Palm Oil? Palm oil is a great cooking oil. It's stable and cheap. Great for deep frying, if you really need to. Make sure you buy it in the purest form you can find. The oil I literally drink is coconut oil. Tastes really good. A couple of tablespoons a day. Olive oil is more for taste more than anything. It's ok when it's not heated, like when used as a salad dressing. It's a PUFA. Plenty of Omega 6, so it doesn't really add to health in the context of our modern diet where it's already overloaded with O6. Fish oil is best used as a sort of "balancer" to keep your O3 a d O6 ratio in check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 U really got balls LOL i tried drinking coconut oil a few times, and I gag whenever i try more than 3 tablespoons. Yuck!!! It's like swallowing down the head of Uncle Muthu. I absolutely do not mind eating lard, butter, lamb fat or other animal fat....but drinking oil is really another thing LOL U win lol No issue with me leh. Lots of soups have got a thick layer of oil on them eg. kambing soup. I drink salmon fish oil everyday. Drink the oil directly easier lah. Palm oil how? Can drink or not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...