Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

side track a bit, CBS

ur scope of work is:

1. song composing?

2.arrangement of musical instuments into songs? If so, r u responsible also for the composing of intro for a new piece?

mi curious leh...... ^_^

My pure composition jobs comprise of music mainly for TV ads, internet, corporate product launches, government agencies...etc.

Production and arrangement wise, most of it is from the mando-canto pop industry. Yes, most of the time, I will have to compose intros, interludes and outros, on top of making the original song "listenable".

My pure composition jobs comprise of music mainly for TV ads, internet, corporate product launches, government agencies...etc.

Production and arrangement wise, most of it is from the mando-canto pop industry. Yes, most of the time, I will have to compose intros, interludes and outros, on top of making the original song "listenable".

most often than not, ppl tends to overlook e contributions done by u guys. Personally, i find ppl tat arrange music n make intro for a new piece is of vast importance. Esp intro, i tend to pay lots of attention to it [thumbsup]

Mave, we are all BUILT differently. No need to try and come up to CBS's numbers,

I told you before and I will say it again to you, DO TO FAILURE

if you can only do 8 reps in one set, and after the 3rd set you already exhausted yourself FULLY,

then you have achieved your training goal, and you will see your gains for sure!

If you train this way, "Oh, I do THREE, can liow" and walk off, then it's a waste of time.

Training to failure makes you go PAST your limit, I train to failure every time, and after that

the next training session will see an increase in weight, thus there is ALWAYS a challenge

in every training session,instead of the same old routine and the same old weight.

Sounds painful MO :wacko: Masochist is your middle name izzit [laugh] Seriously though, 2 questions:

1) Recovery - surely cannot train daily like that right?

2) How to prevent injuries? Muscle strain or worse, tear?

Jokes aside, on a serious note.

When one does not train to failure, there is no exhaustion of the muscles

so fat burning is some what limited or nothing at all. Training to failur forces the body

to push one past one's limit (survival mode sort of thing) and only then will one see gains.

E.g. if one can sprint 20 x, and end it there, what challenge is there, it's just your NORMAL

walk in the park, because you are not pushing past your limit.

1. Ans: Alternate days. 1 day rest between.

2. Ans: Warm up with stretches prior, no need to overkill. 5-10 mins. Do all exercises to PROPER form.

Injuries are caused not because of poor stretching, but by one's ego to show off

and also doing improper form. Leave the ego at the gym door. have seen FAR to many

come in and try to prove to the sexy chic he can lift heavier then everyone else, (who btw have been training for years)

and end up crawling out the gym.

When you cannot attain perfect form on that rep, then you have done to failure.

Sounds painful MO :wacko: Masochist is your middle name izzit [laugh] Seriously though, 2 questions:

1) Recovery - surely cannot train daily like that right?

2) How to prevent injuries? Muscle strain or worse, tear?

The famous Mexican tribe lor forgot how to spell liao they love to drink corn liquor lol

Yes, the tarahumara tribe - the 'running people', a poor but contented tribe living in Mexico. They eat field mice and drink corn 'beer', live in caves and run like the wind.

The book reads like a thriller and if you love runnning and wants to be inspired by this people and other ultra distance runners, you can find 'Born to Run' by Christopher McDougall in Kinokuniya [thumbsup]

Hahaha

As you can see from my "avatar", I am a death knight and I serve the lich king [laugh]

Of course, there are times when I switch into my alter-egos - a troll shaman, an undead priest and a blood elf paladin

Hi, out of interest is the paleo diet suitable for people trying to gain weight? Just need to increase the portion?

U wanna gain bodyfat or u wanna gain muscle mass? I know it's a strange question, but who knows, some ppl might like the chubby look LOL

Bodyfat is best gained on a diet of refined carbs...eat lots of rice, drink lots of beer....u will gain alot of bodyfat.

A low-carb diet is a homeostatic diet, meaning if u have more bodyfat than your "natural bodyfat setting", u will lose weight, and if u r below it, u might either slowly gain some bodyfat, or the change in diet will readjust your bodyfat setting. This "setting" is not fixed and many variable will influence it. For example, gender, pregnancy/period, illness, weather, all will influence the amount of bodyfat our body deems optimal.

If u wanna gain muscle mass, u need to workout, do heavy weights, eat lots of protein and do carb-cycling to increase glycogen stored inside the muscles, puff 'em up LOL.

Yes, the tarahumara tribe - the 'running people', a poor but contented tribe living in Mexico. They eat field mice and drink corn 'beer', live in caves and run like the wind.

The book reads like a thriller and if you love runnning and wants to be inspired by this people and other ultra distance runners, you can find 'Born to Run' by Christopher McDougall in Kinokuniya [thumbsup]

apparently, it isn't "beer" but a sort of powerful liquor/wine with high alcohol content lol. Once again, demonstrates that alcohol is much less damaging than carbohydrates....modern beer is mainly carbo, only 5% alcohol....really evil stuff.

Thanks Topgun. I have been looking for the title of this book for quite a while. One of my American colleagues, who used to be marathon runner, told me about this book and recommended I read it; however, I forgot the title of the book. Now I know. It will be the next book on my list [thumbsup]

BTW, which marathon are you training for? Sundown? I am taking a break this year. Only doing 1/2 marathons and shorter distances to improve my speed; also too lazy to train for a full marathon this year; although, I must admit that the new Singapore Marathon route this year looks enticing.

Edited by Triproton

apparently, it isn't "beer" but a sort of powerful liquor/wine with high alcohol content lol. Once again, demonstrates that alcohol is much less damaging than carbohydrates....modern beer is mainly carbo, only 5% alcohol....really evil stuff.

If I am not wrong, the carb content for beer is only about 5%. This is actually not so bad cos milk products already have higher percentages.

Maybe you can drink one beer a wekk ..................

Oh! Miss my belgium beer ............. dreaming of Leffe, Chimay, Westmalle, and most of all.... KWAK!!!

Thanks Topgun. I have been looking for the title of this book for quite a while. One of my American colleagues, who used to be marathon runner, told me about this book and recommended I read it; however, I forgot the title of the book. Now I know. It will be the next book on my list [thumbsup]

BTW, which marathon are you training for? Sundown? I am taking a break this year. Only doing 1/2 marathons and shorter distances to improve my speed; also too lazy to train for a full marathon this year; although, I must admit that the new Singapore Marathon route this year looks enticing.

Yo, 1/2 way thru the book. As you read about the tribe and some of the unique characters found in ultra running, you'll really be inspired. To run is to live [thumbsup]

Nope, haven't plucked up the courage to run Sundown. Sticking to stanchart end of the year. Will see how it goes, as Paleo eating or low carb will take extra effort to train for endurance.

Yup, this year new route the 1st 1/3 at least anyway. Starts at 5am for the full marathon.

Chicken thigh got lots of fat also what.

Eyh, I give you one recipe, I use a hot air cooker,

or you can grill or fry, it's up to you.

1. Tamarind 1/2 tablespoon

2. Meat Curry Powder x 1 tablespoon

3. Stump of ginger (approx. 2", grind and extract juice)

4. Two big onions.

5. 5 stalks fresh chili (more if you like it spicy)

6. Black pepper corn x 1 tablespoon

7. Salt to taste x 1/3 teaspoon.

8. One can Ayam brand coconut cream

9. 200grams butter unsalted.

Grind above into a smooth paste.

9. 2kg chicken wings or thigh.

Add paste to marinate meat overnight (above 6hrs)

Remove, fry or grill to golden brown. As I said, I use a hot air blower over to cook mine.

[thumbsup] [thumbsup]

Warning: Neighbors will knock on door asking what you're cooking due to the smell.

Mine did, I cooked chicken thigh just now, and he came for some. BTW oil dripped from the cooking

use to fry eggs. YUMMY!

Enjoy.

mi gonna try tis out. hope its yummy like MO says :wub: . anywway, need to ask OC wat is Tamarind [hur]

After cooking. Skin crispy, crispy, meat nice hot and juicy.

post-11534-1274710991_thumb.jpg

Edited by Mazdaowner

When I use the convection oven, the smell is totally buay tahan.

I cooked one big bag of thighs, thought it would last me to tomorrow's breakfast

my kids joined in, and nothing's left. <_<

Wah - looks damn shiok

Meat lovers' wet dream [laugh]

Sorry, corrections, it's Turmeric not tamarind. Was thinking of cooking something else, aka ASAM.