Mini-itx Clutched June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 Heard this from my friend, His cousin received letter that says his OPC was caught w/o valid e-license 3 times over a period of 2 weeks. This happened abt 2-3 mths before receiving the letter as during that time, his father-in-law kena stroke so he has to in out hospital so may have forgotten to buy on some of the days. Went 4 interview, now waiting 4 court. Was being told to expect summon of $5000-$8000.... Nw the cousin everyday cannot eat cannot sleeo... haizz.... Well, thats the down side of OPC....... If you want to save $$$, make sure you remember to buy the elicense. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 9th apr It took them 1 month plus to inform u that u commited the offence? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 It took them 1 month plus to inform u that u commited the offence? The wheels of justice turn slowly.... but surely... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vios73 1st Gear June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 I do heard about some people who are so free that they take pictures of all OPCs they sighted on the road (7am-7pm) and send them to LTA almost on a daily basis. This could be true and that could explain why some OPC drivers received their letter of offence quite late. While the govt already implement ways to "catch" OPC offenders, i.e. gantries, highway/small road camera, mobile scooter, and now public volunteers to submit pictures. So all OPC drivers do pay your part if you needs to drive during peak hours, else face the fine from govt as there are many "eyes" looking at you at all times the moment you roll your car out of the carpark from 7am-7pm......:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 I got a 500 bucks fine also after I surrendered. Process as below. 1. Went to LTA the following day 2. Filled up a form detailing what happen 3. IO ask me go back wait for letter/phone call The above happened in march, I just received the letter. Very unforgiving of LTA man... I am a very prompt purchaser of the e day coupon, in fact I purchased it every day as I drive the OPC every day. Made a mistake of not purchasing for one of the days and was not let off :( Bro, they are doing their job lar... you are caught, nothing they can do..... heard this from someone from LTA............ they help you, who going to help them..... law are law, they need to follow else they themselve will be investigate by CPIB......... and they not only employ the ERP and carpark thingy... heard they employ tons of fella on the road taking "notes"... so no, no use just stay away from ERP and carpark..... Of course they are also "Citizen" mata who will take photos of OPC car during restricted hrs....... The best advise..... just buy the e-coupon.............. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 It took them 1 month plus to inform u that u commited the offence? Yes, even if they take 2 to 3 months... still liable.... you can kpkb to LTA why so long..... but commit offecnce means commit offence..... LL lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 Heard this from my friend, His cousin received letter that says his OPC was caught w/o valid e-license 3 times over a period of 2 weeks. This happened abt 2-3 mths before receiving the letter as during that time, his father-in-law kena stroke so he has to in out hospital so may have forgotten to buy on some of the days. Went 4 interview, now waiting 4 court. Was being told to expect summon of $5000-$8000.... Nw the cousin everyday cannot eat cannot sleeo... haizz.... wah your cousin hiong OPC sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGY8900K Neutral Newbie June 13, 2010 Share June 13, 2010 yup....one month. actually two months to settle the entire process. the process is slow. and now I am quite sure that it was the ERP gantry cause the location was clearly mentioned in the letter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda2gal 5th Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 Thought I should share this experience, though the loss seems too trival as compared to the $500 or $5000 fines others are facing. Every time I purchase the E coupon I see that statement 'you are encouraged to buy with a confirmed usage date' so one day I finally did. I purchased a dated coupon in advance because I planned to drive on a certain day. However I fell sick, took MC and did not drive that day. Later that day I tried to cancel that coupon in the one motoring system, since to me, it is 'unused', but it couldn't be done. I emailed LTA to appeal, someone called me to listen to my explanation, guess what? She said that they have no way to verify if I did not drive between 7am-7pm that day. How can that be? If they can check who drove during peak hours, and my car is not in the list, then I did not drive right? She said that that belongs to another dept. Anyway I told her about the misleading statement, that we are encouraged to buy with confirmed usage date, now something unexpected happens, and it cannot be cancelled. I feel cheated. She even doubt that that statement exists in the system, which means she is not familar with it. And the system is down from midnight till 6am? So I'm expected to wake up and go online to cancel the coupon between 6 and 7am, is this called user-friendly and convenience? Anyway no prize for guessing the outcome, appeal not successful. I lost $20 just like that, but that's ok, I lost faith in the system too. I'm not going to purchase dated coupons in advance, because my schedule keeps changing, I won't be able to make sure that I'll use it, and not we are not given a grace period of 1 or 2 days to do the cancellation. Just need to remember to enter usage date after we use the car, it's a challenge sometimes, but what to do when the system is so unfriendly? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear June 15, 2010 Share June 15, 2010 (edited) Thought I should share this experience, though the loss seems too trival as compared to the $500 or $5000 fines others are facing. Every time I purchase the E coupon I see that statement 'you are encouraged to buy with a confirmed usage date' so one day I finally did. I purchased a dated coupon in advance because I planned to drive on a certain day. However I fell sick, took MC and did not drive that day. Later that day I tried to cancel that coupon in the one motoring system, since to me, it is 'unused', but it couldn't be done. I emailed LTA to appeal, someone called me to listen to my explanation, guess what? She said that they have no way to verify if I did not drive between 7am-7pm that day. How can that be? If they can check who drove during peak hours, and my car is not in the list, then I did not drive right? She said that that belongs to another dept. Anyway I told her about the misleading statement, that we are encouraged to buy with confirmed usage date, now something unexpected happens, and it cannot be cancelled. I feel cheated. She even doubt that that statement exists in the system, which means she is not familar with it. And the system is down from midnight till 6am? So I'm expected to wake up and go online to cancel the coupon between 6 and 7am, is this called user-friendly and convenience? Anyway no prize for guessing the outcome, appeal not successful. I lost $20 just like that, but that's ok, I lost faith in the system too. I'm not going to purchase dated coupons in advance, because my schedule keeps changing, I won't be able to make sure that I'll use it, and not we are not given a grace period of 1 or 2 days to do the cancellation. Just need to remember to enter usage date after we use the car, it's a challenge sometimes, but what to do when the system is so unfriendly? I'm not an OPC driver, so not exactly sure of the system. Buying with confirmed usage date is cheaper? In any case, you were "encouraged", not "compulsory", so there is still an element of choice involved in your decision. Someone in your position where your schedule keeps changing would be ill advised to purchase confirmed date coupons in my opinion. Nevertheless, I can understand your frustrations, and disagree that there is no way to verify. Obviously the capability lies with another department as mentioned by her, and you'd most likely encountered a bureaucrat that refuse to go the extra mile. Edited June 15, 2010 by Walkingtree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 Thought I should share this experience, though the loss seems too trival as compared to the $500 or $5000 fines others are facing. Every time I purchase the E coupon I see that statement 'you are encouraged to buy with a confirmed usage date' so one day I finally did. I purchased a dated coupon in advance because I planned to drive on a certain day. However I fell sick, took MC and did not drive that day. Later that day I tried to cancel that coupon in the one motoring system, since to me, it is 'unused', but it couldn't be done. I emailed LTA to appeal, someone called me to listen to my explanation, guess what? She said that they have no way to verify if I did not drive between 7am-7pm that day. How can that be? If they can check who drove during peak hours, and my car is not in the list, then I did not drive right? She said that that belongs to another dept. Anyway I told her about the misleading statement, that we are encouraged to buy with confirmed usage date, now something unexpected happens, and it cannot be cancelled. I feel cheated. She even doubt that that statement exists in the system, which means she is not familar with it. And the system is down from midnight till 6am? So I'm expected to wake up and go online to cancel the coupon between 6 and 7am, is this called user-friendly and convenience? Anyway no prize for guessing the outcome, appeal not successful. I lost $20 just like that, but that's ok, I lost faith in the system too. I'm not going to purchase dated coupons in advance, because my schedule keeps changing, I won't be able to make sure that I'll use it, and not we are not given a grace period of 1 or 2 days to do the cancellation. Just need to remember to enter usage date after we use the car, it's a challenge sometimes, but what to do when the system is so unfriendly? In other words, "got cheng hu win, no you win".... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shteo83 Neutral Newbie June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 Omg, I forgot to purchase the E Day License used on this Monday and only realized by today, Wednesday. I called to LTA and they said cant do anything now, have to wait for LTA notification letter. Dear all, please advise me what should I do NOW!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
3dwin Neutral Newbie June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 (edited) Omg, I forgot to purchase the E Day License used on this Monday and only realized by today, Wednesday. I called to LTA and they said cant do anything now, have to wait for LTA notification letter. Dear all, please advise me what should I do NOW!!! Prepare money to pay fine and the same time, pray hard they did not capture you. There is really nothing u can do now. Edited June 16, 2010 by 3dwin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 Don't call LTA to check maybe better... now you called and they have your record to check against their system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shteo83 Neutral Newbie June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 Don't call LTA to check maybe better... now you called and they have your record to check against their system. Huh? I thought the OPC car always keep watch by Satelite?? I used on Monday, then realized on Wednesday morning 3am.. like a nitemare suddenly wake up.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear June 16, 2010 Share June 16, 2010 Read thru the forum that has been so many 'rumours" as to how LTA catch OPC... don't know which is correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabrinas Neutral Newbie June 25, 2010 Share June 25, 2010 Hi all, i wish to add something that was overlooked here. LTA will need you to come down to write a brief report n see the officer( Lvl 3). They will first check on their system if you were "registered" on the day you drove out. If you are a first timer, that will be the only final warning n concession to make a backdated payment of $20(Counter 19, Lvl 1). That means no next time! hey just to check. what if i forgot to buy twice in a row. i emailed LTA but no response. 1 month later i forgot again. then after that i receive a letter tt requires me to go for investigation. what will the penalty be like? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desmondtwb Clutched June 26, 2010 Share June 26, 2010 hey just to check. what if i forgot to buy twice in a row. i emailed LTA but no response. 1 month later i forgot again. then after that i receive a letter tt requires me to go for investigation. what will the penalty be like? If I'm not wrong the first timer pay $20 is no long valid. Now for the first time you pay IIRC $500. Second time.... good luck my friend. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...