Triston77 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 ok......i'll read up on diamonds.....but i doubt larry's sales ppl will smoke customers right? one more qn regarding trading in rings.>>>>>>>must a larry's ring be traded back to larry? or i can bring the larry's ring to SK and trade in? doubt so right? and blue nile's ring cant be traded in right? assuming other companies wont allow u to trade in rings from other brands. i've got my proposal rings and wedding rings from Larry. An honest bunch of people. so far, very satisfied with their service and workmanship. prefer the guys at the ION branch though :) btw, larry does not do trade in. only SK, LH, GH etc does trade in. so..if u get a larry, prepared to keep it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 im deciding on a 48pointer E color triple ex diamond from a private jeweller. cost around $3k. is it too ngiao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 not bad liao lah mine was from sookee brilliant rose... F colour Vs1 or vs2...cannt remember 0.25 got it for S$ 1.74k abit low budget Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Desong Neutral Newbie February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 how much u think ur girl is worth to u..than u decide on a budget :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 how much u think ur girl is worth to u..than u decide on a budget :) well... wanna start small first... the money can be channelled to other uses... it was a VVS2. E color 3x excellent cut.. so..... im still shopping Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noobcar Clutched February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Whao congrat man. For me proposal ring I won't really spend that much the most maybe 3k as down the road u will need more $$ for your wedding dinner, photo, honeymoon, house etc. So budget it well and make a plan to put all these into consideration. Of cos if you can afford a more expensive ring pls do, your future wife will really love it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Ytd i was shopping for a proposal ring... I was walking around tampines mall/one area, after going through all the shops i was deciding on a 0.46carat color D clarity VVS1, EX,VG,VG from Soo kee. the SE quoted me $2499 after resetting and everything. i was wondering i whether or not its a good deal. i suddenly tot of my buddy's gf, who is somewhat a expert in diamonds. she told me a proposal ring is supposed to be 4x my monthly income. and my gf deserve morethan a 0.44 $2.5k ring i was like, like that i must spend more than $10k liao. she also advise that no point gg to the general shops as im actually paying for the brand. she told me she wanna recommend me a few private custom jewellers to custom set for me im wondering how much u guys spend on the ring that make u go on ur knees and whether u all got custom jewellers to intro anot... i dont mind spending but most impt must get best deal congrats bro Robo. . . 4x ur salary for a ring, isn't that too much. . .? As i followed the replies i think bro Vextan response is a good piece of advice. . . btw, now i know why you havent been posting jokes, cos you are busy looking for a ring. . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 congrats bro Robo. . . 4x ur salary for a ring, isn't that too much. . .? As i followed the replies i think bro Vextan response is a good piece of advice. . . btw, now i know why you havent been posting jokes, cos you are busy looking for a ring. . not in the office ma this week.... so not much time to search for jokes.. now shopping for rings... later got appt to meet a couple of private jewellers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 not in the office ma this week.... so not much time to search for jokes.. now shopping for rings... later got appt to meet a couple of private jewellers. alrighty. . . all the best man. . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 yup. I also agree on going for size :) You buy tiffany ring, who can tell on her finger? All people say will be "so small". I got my ring 7 years back, a 0.78 carat diamond ring for $7-8k I think. bought from one of our family friends who opens a "shaddy" jewellery shop in a very old shopping center. If not because we know the owners, we would never have dared to buy from that shop. come to think of it, I never saw the ring again after the wedding.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 interesting..new car, new yr, new ring and wedding!! congrats robo :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 ok......i'll read up on diamonds.....but i doubt larry's sales ppl will smoke customers right? one more qn regarding trading in rings.>>>>>>>must a larry's ring be traded back to larry? or i can bring the larry's ring to SK and trade in? doubt so right? and blue nile's ring cant be traded in right? assuming other companies wont allow u to trade in rings from other brands. Larry's is good. They are very upfront and honest. some of the street names quoted me like 30-40% more for a same spec diamond, while trying to sell their 'special cut'. Just get a perfect cut diamond and you'll be fine. Diamonds have various specs and grading. Go for a particular spec eg 1 carat, e color, VVS1, perfect cut and ask all the price around with those specs and do not get distracted. Take a notebook with you. You will get a very clear picture of what i'm talking about. The street names are expensive!!!While the blue box wanted to charge me almost 60% more!!!! If you are very rich then i guess you can go ahead and buy the marketing. Go to Taka and scour each and every shop. That's what i did. i think you will find that Larry's offer very good value. Buy the diamond, and the Tiffany's style mounting is very common. Shouldn't cost more than a thousand +/- a bit, depending on material Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear February 19, 2010 Author Share February 19, 2010 interesting..new car, new yr, new ring and wedding!! congrats robo :P thanks bro! hope i achieve sucess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 im deciding on a 48pointer E color triple ex diamond from a private jeweller. cost around $3k. is it too ngiao? Its your thought that counts, where got say ngaio one. But from my limited experience, 0.70-1.0 onwards will start to look 'big'. 0.48 will still look small. Color can compromise up to F to get a larger size. Never ever compromise on the cut. A poorly cut diamond will not shine. How big also looks like glass. Stay below 1.0 and you should be fine. Past the magical 1.0 mark, the prices escalate 30-40% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saycheese78 Clutched February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Size, cut, clarity, colour all important and must balance. 0.3C, Colour D, Excellent cut,IF can never fight with 0.7C, VVS2,Verygood cut, F colour. In fact, 0.3C go for such good grade for what. Cannot see anything (unless you are talking about a string of 20X 0.3C for necklace. Thats a different story) On the other hand, big diamonds need better cut, clarity, colour. A "G" on 0.5 not that nice but okay lah. A G on 1C will look quite yellow. It is like buying Cars. If you buy luxury car but use lousy fabric for your car seat, it will look out of place. by the way, upgrade from VVS2 to VVS1, the price experience a big jump. upgrade further to IF or even Flawless, the jump is scary. My personnal view. Dun need triple E + VVS1 unless the stone is close to 1.0C. Brand itself is another bragging rights. Where u get your stone from? Answering "Larry's" and "Lazare" is different class altogether. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 Size, cut, clarity, colour all important and must balance. 0.3C, Colour D, Excellent cut,IF can never fight with 0.7C, VVS2,Verygood cut, F colour. In fact, 0.3C go for such good grade for what. Cannot see anything (unless you are talking about a string of 20X 0.3C for necklace. Thats a different story) On the other hand, big diamonds need better cut, clarity, colour. A "G" on 0.5 not that nice but okay lah. A G on 1C will look quite yellow. It is like buying Cars. If you buy luxury car but use lousy fabric for your car seat, it will look out of place. by the way, upgrade from VVS2 to VVS1, the price experience a big jump. upgrade further to IF or even Flawless, the jump is scary. My personnal view. Dun need triple E + VVS1 unless the stone is close to 1.0C. Brand itself is another bragging rights. Where u get your stone from? Answering "Larry's" and "Lazare" is different class altogether. Answering "blue box" even better=A lot of money to burn!!! LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 (edited) Size, cut, clarity, colour all important and must balance. 0.3C, Colour D, Excellent cut,IF can never fight with 0.7C, VVS2,Verygood cut, F colour. In fact, 0.3C go for such good grade for what. Cannot see anything (unless you are talking about a string of 20X 0.3C for necklace. Thats a different story) On the other hand, big diamonds need better cut, clarity, colour. A "G" on 0.5 not that nice but okay lah. A G on 1C will look quite yellow. It is like buying Cars. If you buy luxury car but use lousy fabric for your car seat, it will look out of place. by the way, upgrade from VVS2 to VVS1, the price experience a big jump. upgrade further to IF or even Flawless, the jump is scary. My personnal view. Dun need triple E + VVS1 unless the stone is close to 1.0C. Brand itself is another bragging rights. Where u get your stone from? Answering "Larry's" and "Lazare" is different class altogether. Actually my idea was to maximise the size, get a perfect cut, up to F color. Clarity can compromise a bit. Very few people go around with a 10x loupe at dinners Larry's happened to give me the best price and value. Edited February 19, 2010 by Tedlhw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear February 19, 2010 Share February 19, 2010 how much u think ur girl is worth to u..than u decide on a budget :) huh ? if she means the world to robo, then he should pay with all he has ah ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...