Nzy Twincharged June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Since they chose to drive that car probably means it got no problems and is reliable ma. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 (edited) Most conti cars are meant to be driven for long distance and for high mileage use. Try using it for short runabouts and hell....... they go. Same go for trucks and buses. Was looking at a Skoda Octavia 3 year old last year with mileage of 120K. Smooth sweat operator!!! Too bad, the 2nd hand car dealer subsequently tweaked it to 50K niah. It's funny why people always look for super low mileage cars. If it's extensively used, surely it spends more time on roads rather than in workshops right? Edited June 28, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mandan Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Author Share June 28, 2010 Dear all, thank you for all your replies...Guess im quite a snoob as i oni juz knew about the pratice when it's been an open secret for like 10 years ago.. I can understand that since it's already a used car, adding on slight mileage by the car salesman is normal, My bigger concern is u never know if they juz whack the car on high rev and in the process spoil the car b4 u actualli purchase it..By the time u realise it, may b too late.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Beware of this company Five speed , i think alot of buyer haven kana . you want to tell us more about it ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Dear all, thank you for all your replies...Guess im quite a snoob as i oni juz knew about the pratice when it's been an open secret for like 10 years ago.. I can understand that since it's already a used car, adding on slight mileage by the car salesman is normal, My bigger concern is u never know if they juz whack the car on high rev and in the process spoil the car b4 u actualli purchase it..By the time u realise it, may b too late.... No diff right? It could have been whacked even badly by ex owner before (s)he handed it over to the 2nd hand car dealer. Actually got whacked better than left them idling too long. Clear carbon lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 wat im more concern is the mileage of the car being manipulated by PI and no way we can find out except proper service record.. Huh...PI sell used car meh? Not so common, (and car must be less than 6 months right?) You do know that PI = parallel importer right? Which (mostly) sells only new cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mandan Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Author Share June 28, 2010 Huh...PI sell used car meh? Not so common, (and car must be less than 6 months right?) You do know that PI = parallel importer right? Which (mostly) sells only new cars I do know PI is parallel import, my couz used to sell new cars, but the neighbouring ones are used car dealers..Read my post in detail,,I mentioned in first post already..Had considered getting a used car then, but while waiting for my couz to get off work once, saw a salesman juz get into e used car and drive off like no tomorrow in oni e cp. god knows how he'll drive when on main road..I was put off the idea of getting a used car after.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 As above, had a cousin who used to be a salesman in the PI new sales market in turf city, He informed me that the used car that their neighbouring workshops are selling are used by the salesman themselves as personal transport till a buyer is found on the vehicle..One wonders how reliable then is the used car u are getting as what is claimed on mileage and reliability... you first time buying car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mandan Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Author Share June 28, 2010 you first time buying car? Yeah..my first time was 4 yrs ago in 2006.. This was 2nd time liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 (edited) I do know PI is parallel import, my couz used to sell new cars, but the neighbouring ones are used car dealers..Read my post in detail,,I mentioned in first post already..Had considered getting a used car then, but while waiting for my couz to get off work once, saw a salesman juz get into e used car and drive off like no tomorrow in oni e cp. god knows how he'll drive when on main road..I was put off the idea of getting a used car after.. this is a car. just sit and relax and drive it. Not ask you to EAT it. try taking some tme off and go around hawer centre and see how they prepare the food. I bet you will come in and say it is damn......!@#$%^& and start a new thread I will never eat food that is prepare by others. If you are so particular about all these, u shouldnt even buy 2nd hand car at all Edited June 28, 2010 by Mcf777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Of course the salesman will use the car to tackle mei mei. Andmaybe do it in the car. You know mei mei will be impressed with the bmw/merc or nice sport cars, enough to do it in the back seat. Now u know why these people gets all the girls, they know leverage! How to make use of others people nice car to get good times from mei mei. They will not scared the car licence plate photo kena taken by the geylang blog! That's the perks of cars salesman. Don't start me on property agents, especially those who handles high end props! They also leverage on the vacated house to hooked up meimei very easily! fwah, all the perks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mandan Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Author Share June 28, 2010 this is a car. just sit and relax and drive it. Not ask you to EAT it. try taking some tme off and go around hawer centre and see how they prepare the food. I bet you will come in and say it is damn......!@#$%^& and start a new thread I will never eat food that is prepare by others. If you are so particular about all these, u shouldnt even buy 2nd hand car at all True..Work in a hotel, if u knew how the rooms are cleaned, i reckon u wouldnt wanna stay especially not use their linen..Lolz...Guess im juz affected bcoz of bad experiences i hve seen frm frens around who bought 2nd-hand..One bought a Subaru TS with modifications to replicate a Wrx and on first day driving engine stalled repeatly, he had to send it to a workshop...Will learn to take it with a pinch of salt.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deividz 5th Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 I have bought 3 used cars in the past. No big problems with the ones bought from Direct Owners. They are very helpful even giving advice after selling the car. Bad experience with a dealer. Promised to pay road tax for me but never. In the end drove the car for close to 3 months then realised he never pay the road tax at all. Worst is the car he sold me got problems here there and everywhere. Thankfully I had a clear mind to rectify most faults early during the ownership. Then again, not all dealers are so bad but most are..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ayotee Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 was intending to buy a fiat grande punto 2nd hand, paying by myself and car will be under dad's name, but dad was quite reluctant and said that what if this car kena accident before, mileage problem this and that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 not necessarily.... most times the car are still in the ex owner name.... this is to save on transfer fee Transfers to dealer are under temporary ownership. They only cost $10. Once I've fully settled a car, I will not let it remain under the owner's name. No dealer will ever let that happen (excluding those that do not settle your car loan). Dear all, thank you for all your replies...Guess im quite a snoob as i oni juz knew about the pratice when it's been an open secret for like 10 years ago.. I can understand that since it's already a used car, adding on slight mileage by the car salesman is normal, My bigger concern is u never know if they juz whack the car on high rev and in the process spoil the car b4 u actualli purchase it..By the time u realise it, may b too late.... The boss will also not let their salesman whack the car knowingly. Letting the salesman drive the company's car is a matter of trust. If you know that your staff is the reckless type, you will either not let him drive or give him an "expendable" transport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 not necessarily.... most times the car are still in the ex owner name.... this is to save on transfer fee What happen if they involve in accident? Who is liable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 What happen if they involve in accident? Who is liable? good question... i dunoo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forgot2bme Clutched June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 (edited) If it's been e-transferred to the company (i.e. $10 with no change of name and only valid for a year if i'm not wrong), the vehicle is covered under the company's motor insurance which probably includes their salesmen too, if not... it's ILLEGAL -> criminal charges. My 2 cents. Edited June 28, 2010 by Forgot2bme ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...