Changing brake fluid

Pisces69

Acherly, bro Limiter is correct. Brake fluid will not improve your braking distance or performance. Change of brake fluid annually is to remove the moisture from the fluid due to our common start stop traffic conditions in Singapore.

It is your tires and brake pads that stop your car. Invest in those.

But you must also know that brake fluid, if not changed regularly, will affect your braking performance. Your brake fluid's boiling temperature will be lowered, hence you will experience brake fade/cooked brakes faster than when you just changed your brake fluid. [laugh]

================

Can tell what brand u used (Dot 4) & where u buy?

Thanks.

I got it flush and replaced at Autobac Ubi. They let me choose from their range of products. I chose Liqui Moly. They hold quite a few of well known brands from DOT4 to 5.1. Labour 20bucks plus they let me choose the brake fluid. I even get to watch the mechanic work on my car at the aircon waiting lounge. I did the power steering fluid flush at the same time.

================

Last time my old Corona I did a flush using Lockheed Dot 5.

I did a ATF flush there long ago & they used some unknown brand of ATF & a short while later my autobox started to give me trouble.

Actually there is no need to flush ATF. Just changing it annually according to the factory's specs will do. Don't even think of changing better grade ATF. If the specs say "DIII" , strictly use DIII.

Think flushing will just give the ATF system a "SHOCK". [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

But you must also know that brake fluid, if not changed regularly, will affect your braking performance. Your brake fluid's boiling temperature will be lowered, hence you will experience brake fade/cooked brakes faster than when you just changed your brake fluid. [laugh]

Yo Bro Beehive3783, you managed to flush your brakes and clutch properly yet? [:p]

Yup. You are right. [thumbsup]

Even between brands, I think there's a difference in quality during manufacturing.

Brake fluid is cheap enough for me to stay with the big brands like ATE and avoid unknown local/MY brands.

Yo Bro Beehive3783, you managed to flush your brakes and clutch properly yet? [:p]

hi bro [wave] , i heck care liao.. next year will do a proper one.. and so far brakes and clutch are ok.. no issues so far.

Yeah, don't waste the new ATE SL.6 brake fluid, at least a partial change is better than no change ^_^ Next time find those workshop that has a vacuum machine to flush the brake fluid [:p]

Hi guys, I have done a ATE Super Blue Racing brake fluid Group Buy in Clubhyundai recently. I have checked with my supplier from overseas and they have ready-stock now. I can get the stock in at $17 per 1L can, with payment on collection during meetup. Anybody interested? [:p]

Wah liew.. now got stock.. too bad la.. wait for me to finish my 2+ cans of SL.6 first.. Anyway hor please post your sales in marketplace http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autocom=classified [wave]

If i am not wrong, DOT 5 is used on heavy vehicle like class 4 and 5 mostly.

errrmm.. DOT 5 not used for racing cars one meh? [confused]

For normal street cars, DOT 3, 4, 5.1 is ok.

DOT5 will cause problems if your car's braking system is not designed to take DOT5. Don't risk it! Either DOT3 or DOT4 will do.

=============

OK thanks for the warning.

BTW what is the ill effects of using Dot 5 & what causes it?

Acherly, bro Limiter is correct. Brake fluid will not improve your braking distance or performance. Change of brake fluid annually is to remove the moisture from the fluid due to our common start stop traffic conditions in Singapore.

It is your tires and brake pads that stop your car. Invest in those.

============

Ya I just read from Beehive & Yeobh that I cannot use Dot 5.

Lucky I checked it out b4 I had it changed.

Guess I'll just use Dot 3 or 4 then.

I got it flush and replaced at Autobac Ubi. They let me choose from their range of products. I chose Liqui Moly. They hold quite a few of well known brands from DOT4 to 5.1. Labour 20bucks plus they let me choose the brake fluid. I even get to watch the mechanic work on my car at the aircon waiting lounge. I did the power steering fluid flush at the same time.

============

OK thanks.

Now I know more about brake fluid so can change with confidence.