Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 talking about using hands to do the job...... my grandma (who doted on me and who had passed away ) used to be a night soil bucket cleaning woman (i know it is a dirty job but it was all she could do........) last time raoches can fly and she used bare hands to catch and squeeze one ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Yes, vacumn them using Delfin! They can fly, but most of the time they crawl, then relak one corner. Easy to catch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Now roaches can fly too though they are quite lazy to fly. (U mean now roaches cannot fly liao)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 what is Delfin is it a brand? (no joke....i really don know) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) "water-based" vacumn cleaner lor, aka use water as filter instead of HEPA paper filter. Can see their bodies through the clear plastic pail. Edited August 17, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 yes, no joke.... last time my house in bukit merah got flying roaches and very big moths nowadays, i see the roaches not flying one all crawling around...... and also i don see the very big moths also.... recently, i saw a few mudium size moths in my neighbourhood and told my sons that last time when i was small, there were many big moths but probably due to the Man's expansion into nature, all the big moths all die already......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 hey......thats good stuff can collect alot of flies and start showing them off to kids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 For lizard, I will use hot water or paper bullet, one shot one kill. (I wish). Most effective way is use hot water, nowhere they can hide and run. Paper bullet? You mean, roll or fold a piece of paper tightly into about 2-3 cm long? Then use a rubber band across our finger 1 and 2 to be the bow? Can shoot cat, rat, lizard, bird, kkc, etc? That's my childhood game. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Yeah, although hate these pests, somehow there is satisfaction in seeing your catch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Yeah, although hate these pests, somehow there is satisfaction in seeing your catch. Not sure if it is sold in Singapore. It looks like a short badminton racket but it has metal wires as strings. When charged (batteries), you swipe it around your swarm of houseflies and they will sure mati from electricution. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 actually i thought of getting those vacuum cleaner with water as a filter so that i can use it to vacuum insects into the water and let my sons see the insects inside the water but each one is like $800 If you only want to use it to suck up insects, you can buy a used second-hand one from Cash Converters for less than $100. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 geee.....i didnt think of that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 Not sure if it is sold in Singapore. It looks like a short badminton racket but it has metal wires as strings. When charged (batteries), you swipe it around your swarm of houseflies and they will sure mati from electricution. It is... Very cheap, definitely less than $10 and should be less than $5. A lot of those shops selling all kinds of household stuff in HDB estates. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jetabout777 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 For lizards, you may want to use a dettol, bleach solution, or mix both in a recycled container which has a spray nozzle. From a reasonable distance, perhaps 1-2m, you can spray at the lizard. I normally use dettol as it can help to clean and disinfect places at the same time. Dettol tends to eat into the skin of the lizard and slowly paralyse them from what I experimented. Try to also aim for the eyes as it will make them go blind instantaneously, then they won't know where you are coming from. Best is of course mix dettol together with bleach and spray, but bleech has a terrible smell for us. Happy exterminating Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flykite Clutched August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 If you only want to use it to suck up insects, you can buy a used second-hand one from Cash Converters for less than $100. as low as $15 also have! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 why must do all this to those poor fellows? they are so small, just crush and let them have an easy death, at least let them die with the least pain. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) For lizards, you may want to use a dettol, bleach solution, or mix both in a recycled container which has a spray nozzle. From a reasonable distance, perhaps 1-2m, you can spray at the lizard. I normally use dettol as it can help to clean and disinfect places at the same time. Dettol tends to eat into the skin of the lizard and slowly paralyse them from what I experimented. Try to also aim for the eyes as it will make them go blind instantaneously, then they won't know where you are coming from. Best is of course mix dettol together with bleach and spray, but bleech has a terrible smell for us. Happy exterminating hiong ehhh you but I like it. Edited August 17, 2010 by Vroomtattat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 (edited) When I was young, my maid would boil water and pour over the rat that was caught in the traps. You can hear the scream from the rats. It was their way of killing rats in their hometown. Ppl onboard my ship do it ur way but they use wd40 instead of baygon. My coswain will reward one day off for each rat caught alive. Another way is to just hang the whole trap with the rat under the sea over the side of the ship todrown the bugger. My worker tried the pour boiling water onto the rat method before. There was 1 period my factory got quite a number of rats. We caught 1 with the rat cage. Pour boiling water onto the rat and it was screaming. After a while, it went silent. When we took up the cage, can see the fur on the floor. Another time, the worker put the rat into a cement bag and whacked the bag onto the floor many many times. Wham Bam Goodbye Mdm! The third time we simply put the cage under hot sun and after a while the rat died. Edited August 17, 2010 by Fcw75 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...