Why directasia car insurance so cheap?

Agentwilson

yes NCD starts from zero for 2nd vehicle owned concurrently.

Thanks for the help everyone. Looks like I have to slowly accumulate my NCD again.

does DA do commercial vehicle?

No,

Nor do they do COE vehicle

This is standard practice. I've had two cars for years, and even with 50% on the first you start with scratch on the second.

I'm not sure how things go if you make a claim on one. Would be the height of injustice if they all went together.

That's just stupid

When I bought my car here, I negotiated with the insurance company and they allowed me to carry over 20% NCD from NZ.

Not quite a matter for legislation, but not very good business ethics to my mind - if you can prove a no claims record, you should get the discount regardless.

And you can be sure that if you have an accident they will take away ALL of you NCD on all your vehicles

No,

That's just stupid

When I bought my car here, I negotiated with the insurance company and they allowed me to carry over 20% NCD from NZ.

Not quite a matter for legislation, but not very good business ethics to my mind - if you can prove a no claims record, you should get the discount regardless.

And you can be sure that if you have an accident they will take away ALL of you NCD on all your vehicles

wonder why [grin]

maybe goods and coe vehicles more hiong [sly]

Hi everyone, got a question to ask.

I have a directasia insurance plan with my current car, and I have accumulated 50% NCD on it. I just purchased a second car. I am not selling my first car as I will be passing it to my parents to drive (until COE expires in August 2016).

Since I am not transferring my current insurance plan to the new car, I signed up another insurance plan with the AD, which is an MSIG plan. However, I have been told that I cannot transfer my NCD over, since I am not terminating my earlier insurance package. So basically I have to start afresh with 0% NCD.

Is this correct? Is there any way to have my NCD taken into account by MSIG? Very reluctant to have to start accumulating NCD again. Thanks for your help!

Its correct that your no claims discount can only apply to one vehicle.

However what can you do is transfer your no claims discount to your new policy if you cancel your existing policy. Your parents will then need to start a new insurance policy without any NCD but on the basis of their age / driving habits (retired.?) and also by only having 3rd party and not comprehensive insurance (as body value will already be <$1000 unless its something very exotic).

Overall paying 50% of the cost of an expensive policy and 100% of a cheap policy will save you at least a few hundred compared do the cost of doing it the other way around...

No,

That's just stupid

NCD system is universal. IE, if you shift to NZ. You can apply to have your NCD transferred over to NZ. When you return, you can again execute the same procedure.

Every country has a different way of NCD accumulation. Eg for Singapore, it is in 10% increment (private vehicles) up to a max of 50%. The exact entitlement that will be awarded will be calculated accordingly to their country practice when you switch over.

If you have multiple vehicles, you will accumulate multiple NCD entitlements on each of them. Each accident will affect the NCD on that specific vehicle only, however claims record stick to your NRIC and the vehicle owner's. Both driver and owner will need to declare truthfully whenever taking up insurance coverage.

You can also cross transfer NCD from vehicle A to vehicle B. Eg 50% from vehicle A to swap with 20% from vehicle B.

an insight into car insurance logic:

when I called to ask for a renewal quote, I was told there's a surcharge of $xxx for using aftermkt exhaust and rims, but in the event of a claim, the replacement parts will be original car spec, not aftermkt.

me: what's the reason for the surcharge if the replacement parts are original spec, not the ones I am paying the surcharge for.

insurance: because the car will have higher power

me: if I use bigger rims and tyres, it will be heavier than the original ones, so I actually lose horsepower and torque at the wheels. Thus I should get a discount, not a surcharge.

insurance: surcharge still applies.

me: :a-bang:

in other words, heads we lose, tails they win.

You mean to say that if I own five different cars, I have to accumulate NCD on each of them individually? Even if I haven't had an accident in the last 15 years? That's not very logical.

I'd just argue the point with MSIG

edited.. listerry replied.. he should know better

Edited by Galantspeedz

Hi DA, any comments on this ?

agree.. it is not a blank cheque.... if I get hit in the rear, I should not change the bonnet but I believe I have every right to request for a change in rear bumper... and everyone knows AD is more expensive...... so if the 7th quote $3k and if it gives me, the accident victim, the most comfort... then yes I should have the right to change at $3k.

Not talking about inflated claims here

yo... you are back.... are you the same CSO as previous?

I believe they are talking about the other party going back AD not the DA insured going back AD... is it possible?

quoted Babyt

issue is my authorised workshop for my insurance is Kah Motor yet the other party insurance, direct asia, rejected the settlement w Kah.

I read from other forum (HWZ) that 2 guys were given up by DA when they met with an accident.

Apparently it's due to named/main driver concerns.

DA abandoned them and don't want to insure them when they encountered an accident.

So anyone buying DA, please fill in named/main driver details very carefully. .

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/cars-cars-204/what-your-experience-aviva-directasia-insurance-4632663.html

Directasia also voided my insurance coverage after i got into an accident which was not my fault. It was also because of the main/named driver issue. They clearly just want to find a quick way out. They refunded me the 7 months premium minus a certain fee. It landed me with alot of problems like finding a new insurer in a short span of time and also finding a lawyer to deal with the claims.

My advise to those who want to buy from directasia, don't bother if you have more than 1 person driving the car. Buy only if you are the ONLY person driving the car.

In my opinion, this main/named driver is very subjective. What if the named driver suddenly needs prolong use of the car? does he become the main driver and must we change the policy? So having this bad experience, I'll never buy from Directasia again. Better to spend abit more on more established insurers than save abit now and get a big headache if you get into that unfortunate accident.
Edited by Rayoflight

Read only mah? How true? You know, I know

I read from other forum (HWZ) that 2 guys were given up by DA when they met with an accident.

DA abandoned them and don't want to insure them when they encountered an accident.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/cars-cars-204/what-your-experience-aviva-directasia-insurance-4632663.html

Directasia also voided my insurance coverage after i got into an accident which was not my fault. It was also because of the main/named driver issue. They clearly just want to find a quick way out. They refunded me the 7 months premium minus a certain fee. It landed me with alot of problems like finding a new insurer in a short span of time and also finding a lawyer to deal with the claims.

My advise to those who want to buy from directasia, don't bother if you have more than 1 person driving the car. Buy only if you are the ONLY person driving the car.

In my opinion, this main/named driver is very subjective. What if the named driver suddenly needs prolong use of the car? does he become the main driver and must we change the policy? So having this bad experience, I'll never buy from Directasia again. Better to spend abit more on more established insurers than save abit now and get a big headache if you get into that unfortunate accident.

True or not, u dare to try meh? hahaha

boh taiji nvm leh

but insurer leaving you in the lurch and piak piak pigu tell u byebye..sorry your own tai ji liao because u nv declare..

This one how to accept? haha

thanks for the heads up. Could you kindly elaborate where actually went wrong ?As in what is the main/named driver issue that made them terminate your policy ? 

Thanks in advance so all of us here can make an informed decision before getting insurance  [thumbsup]

edit - my bad, I thought you has bad experience. Well, read the hwz thread. Hmm, would prefer more info to make a comment, though the FIDREC ruling may be an indication. Suspect is "fronting". 

Edited by Othello

For those who never kena accident claim before, you may really think that lowest price is best.

When kena .... every night pray that the insurance company will not suddenly invoke some clause and ask you to f off. The stress and fear is unbelievable.

I had this experience last year, was with NTUC, still waiting for them to settle with the other party more than 1.5 years later. So far no funny tricks but I still feel stressed and worried throughout the period.

For now, I will pay for most premium insurance (I did with recent new car) for most peace of mind.