Throttle2 Supersonic December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 rebuilt in MY or ? 6k for rebuilding high mercs GB sounds too reasonable for sin. Did u invite the prev owner to ur reg ws for assessment ? Rebuilt in Singapore but let me elaborate, it wasnt a complete 100% tranny rebuilt. The torque converter was the key issue so that was completely done. $6k is too cheap for a complete tranny rebuilt or replacement, you are right. No, i did not get the car checked at any workshop. It was done just a few months before i bought the car. All the receipts intact showing the maintenance it had gone through. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hellovictor Neutral Newbie December 29, 2013 Share December 29, 2013 Hey...did u send to a Mazda Specialist workshop like CityAuto? You may want to try that to get a better advance. Transmission fluid is usually not the real cause of it. And Mz6 tranny and GB is quite steady Also get them to check the Solenoid to see if there are issues with it. This is a electronic device which may need to be replace. + Check your clutch + tranny like what the Throttle2 says..... oh i dont think that workshop is any mazda specialist. cityauto? ok! i'll go try! thanks bros for your advice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kansatish 1st Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Mazda recommends oil change etc at either 10K km or 6months whichever falls first. How bad is it if I pass the 6month mark and wait for the next 10K km cycle? Have another 3K km to go to reach the next 10K km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 (edited) Mazda recommends oil change etc at either 10K km or 6months whichever falls first. How bad is it if I pass the 6month mark and wait for the next 10K km cycle? Have another 3K km to go to reach the next 10K km. just get it change. prolonged EO is just as bad or worst than a dirty oil because of the moisture and depleted addictive over time . Edited December 30, 2013 by Hamburger Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Yup, if in doubt, change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 just get it change. prolonged EO is just as bad or worst than a dirty oil because of the moisture and depleted addictive over time . but like that I will be changing my syn oil every 6k mileage as I clock slightly over 1k a mth. Feels wasted. I used to change every 8k+ around 8-9 mths & each time the oil drain, it still looks ok, .. Only once, I deliberately waited till 9.5k mileage at the 9 -10 mth mark, the oil drain out slightly on the watery side. The I asked ws & was adv that can wait till 10k. Should be no issue. Some websites I visited advised at the very least, change oil once a year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kansatish 1st Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 but like that I will be changing my syn oil every 6k mileage as I clock slightly over 1k a mth. Feels wasted. I used to change every 8k+ around 8-9 mths & each time the oil drain, it still looks ok, .. Only once, I deliberately waited till 9.5k mileage at the 9 -10 mth mark, the oil drain out slightly on the watery side. The I asked ws & was adv that can wait till 10k. Should be no issue. Some websites I visited advised at the very least, change oil once a year. Guess I'll wait for the 8K mark this time, just another 1K to go... Thanks all! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 but like that I will be changing my syn oil every 6k mileage as I clock slightly over 1k a mth. Feels wasted. I used to change every 8k+ around 8-9 mths & each time the oil drain, it still looks ok, .. Only once, I deliberately waited till 9.5k mileage at the 9 -10 mth mark, the oil drain out slightly on the watery side. The I asked ws & was adv that can wait till 10k. Should be no issue. Some websites I visited advised at the very least, change oil once a year. its not the mileage travelled, its the prolonging of the duration for oil change that is more crucial. a under used EO stored inside the oil sump is worse than a slightly overused EO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 its not the mileage travelled, its the prolonging of the duration for oil change that is more crucial. a under used EO stored inside the oil sump is worse than a slightly overused EO. So in a sense it still turns bad slowly like food in a refrigerator, no matter how cold? Fully syn is 6 mths ? Semi is 3 mths? Wah lao, like that I damn lugi siah... Assuming this holds correct, then those OPC with mileage like 5-6k per year will be wasting a lot of oil ? Haiz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 (edited) So in a sense it still turns bad slowly like food in a refrigerator, no matter how cold? Fully syn is 6 mths ? Semi is 3 mths? Wah lao, like that I damn lugi siah... Assuming this holds correct, then those OPC with mileage like 5-6k per year will be wasting a lot of oil ? Haiz... No waste. Actually for OPC/low usage, just use mineral or semi-syn. The key point is not how good or branded your oil or full-syn, it's how often you change. There are two camps of thought: 1. modern engine very well-engineered, don't need to change oil so frequently, just follow manufacturer's schedule (can be as high as 20-30K per interval). 2. you can never change oil too often enough, rough rule of thumb every 6 months or 10K whichever comes first using full-syn oil. Half of this if using semi or mineral. You are lucky.... Motorcycles need to change even more frequently than this. Edited December 30, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 No waste. Actually for OPC/low usage, just use mineral or semi-syn. If semi is 3 mths or 5k, I at most 3.5k at 3 mths. Lugi about 1 mth. As for mineral I guess just nice for me but.....the FC I 9.3/Litre liao. Later drop to 8.7/litre.... On this, my last tank got 10.5/Litre. Damn happy. Must be the monsoon, cool, aircon mostly at low plus light foot. Maybe tyco also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 (edited) I always go by mileage, about 10,000 km, never more. So it usually works out around 9mths for me. I do not believe that synthetic oils will breakdown in just six months. They are made to last much longer than that , probably a year at least. So as long as you change within a year or 15,000km for synthetic oils, you are definitely safe. But i dont know, maybe premium continentals are different? Shouldnt think so though.. Edited December 30, 2013 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 I always go by mileage, about 10,000 km, never more. So it usually works out around 9mths for me. I do not believe that synthetic oils will breakdown in just six months. They are made to last much longer than that , probably a year at least. So as long as you change within a year or 15,000km for synthetic oils, you are definitely safe. But i dont know, maybe premium continentals are different? Shouldnt think so though.. Yes. Normally is 10k or 6mths, whichever is earlier. This 15k EO change is an interesting advice from conti ADs. Some workshop say due to sg climate, EO degrade fast so should still be 6 months regardless. but they seem to have forgotten that the engine internals is a much harsher environment than whatever the weather is throwing at us eh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 http://autos.yahoo.com/owning/maintain/repairqa/qa.html?question=ques119&category=Air+Filters+%26+Oil&topics=qaairfil%01qalubric%01qaengoil Most vehicle manufacturers recommend changing the oil once a year or every 7,500 miles in passenger car and light truck gasoline engines. For diesel engines and turbocharged gasoline engines, the usual recommendation is every 3,000 miles or six months. If you read the fine print, however, you'll discover that the once a year, 7,500 mile oil change is for vehicles that are driven under ideal circumstances. What most of us think of as "normal" driving is actually "severe service" driving. This includes frequent short trips (less than 10 miles, especially during cold weather), stop-and-go city traffic driving, driving in dusty conditions (gravel roads, etc.), and driving at sustained highway speeds during hot weather. For this type of driving, which is actually "severe service: driving, the recommendation is to change the oil every 3,000 miles or six months. For maximum protection, most oil companies say to change the oil every 3,000 miles or three to six months regardless of what type of driving you do. A new engine with little or no wear can probably get by on 7,500 mile oil changes. But as an engine accumulates miles, blowby increases. This dumps more unburned fuel into the crankcase which dilutes the oil. This causes the oil to break down. So if the oil isn't changed often enough, you can end up with accelerated wear and all the engine problems that come with it (loss of performance and fuel economy, and increased emissions and oil consumption). Oil AnalysisTruck fleets often monitor the condition of the oil in their vehicles by having samples analyzed periodically. Oil samples are sent to a laboratory that then analyzes the oil's viscosity and acid content. Oil is then burned in a device called a spectrometer that reveals various impurities in the oil. From all of this, a detailed report is generated that reveals the true condition of the oil. Oil analysis is a great idea for fleets and trucks that hold a lot of oil. But most consumers would have a hard time justifying the cost. Having an oil sample analyzed typically costs $12 to $20 for the lab work and report. Most quick lube shops charge $16.95 to $19.95 for an oil change. So why spend your money on a report that will probably tell you your oil needs changing? Just change the oil every 3,000 miles and don't worry about it. Regular oil changes for preventative maintenance are cheap insurance against engine wear, and will always save you money in the long run if you keep a car for more than three or four years. It's very uncommon to see an engine that has been well maintained with regular oil changes develop major bearing, ring, cam or valve problems under 100,000 miles. No waste. Actually for OPC/low usage, just use mineral or semi-syn. The key point is not how good or branded your oil or full-syn, it's how often you change. There are two camps of thought: 1. modern engine very well-engineered, don't need to change oil so frequently, just follow manufacturer's schedule (can be as high as 20-30K per interval). 2. you can never change oil too often enough, rough rule of thumb every 6 months or 10K whichever comes first using full-syn oil. Half of this if using semi or mineral. You are lucky.... Motorcycles need to change even more frequently than this. ya, last time my cb400 on Mobil 1 = 5k or 3mths whichever comes 1st. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Yes. Normally is 10k or 6mths, whichever is earlier. This 15k EO change is an interesting advice from conti ADs. Some workshop say due to sg climate, EO degrade fast so should still be 6 months regardless. but they seem to have forgotten that the engine internals is a much harsher environment than whatever the weather is throwing at us eh? I am the kind of person who believes in myself only and whats tried and tested, never simply hearsay. Workshop folks mostly just patronise people. Sometimes , when i listen to them bulls**t and act steady, i just smile and keep quiet. The 15k EO change is recommended by premium continental factories and not just AD. So this i definitely have trust in. http://autos.yahoo.com/owning/maintain/repairqa/qa.html?question=ques119&category=Air+Filters+%26+Oil&topics=qaairfil%01qalubric%01qaengoil Most vehicle manufacturers recommend changing the oil once a year or every 7,500 miles in passenger car and light truck gasoline engines. For diesel engines and turbocharged gasoline engines, the usual recommendation is every 3,000 miles or six months. If you read the fine print, however, you'll discover that the once a year, 7,500 mile oil change is for vehicles that are driven under ideal circumstances. What most of us think of as "normal" driving is actually "severe service" driving. This includes frequent short trips (less than 10 miles, especially during cold weather), stop-and-go city traffic driving, driving in dusty conditions (gravel roads, etc.), and driving at sustained highway speeds during hot weather. For this type of driving, which is actually "severe service: driving, the recommendation is to change the oil every 3,000 miles or six months. For maximum protection, most oil companies say to change the oil every 3,000 miles or three to six months regardless of what type of driving you do. A new engine with little or no wear can probably get by on 7,500 mile oil changes. But as an engine accumulates miles, blowby increases. This dumps more unburned fuel into the crankcase which dilutes the oil. This causes the oil to break down. So if the oil isn't changed often enough, you can end up with accelerated wear and all the engine problems that come with it (loss of performance and fuel economy, and increased emissions and oil consumption). Oil Analysis Truck fleets often monitor the condition of the oil in their vehicles by having samples analyzed periodically. Oil samples are sent to a laboratory that then analyzes the oil's viscosity and acid content. Oil is then burned in a device called a spectrometer that reveals various impurities in the oil. From all of this, a detailed report is generated that reveals the true condition of the oil. Oil analysis is a great idea for fleets and trucks that hold a lot of oil. But most consumers would have a hard time justifying the cost. Having an oil sample analyzed typically costs $12 to $20 for the lab work and report. Most quick lube shops charge $16.95 to $19.95 for an oil change. So why spend your money on a report that will probably tell you your oil needs changing? Just change the oil every 3,000 miles and don't worry about it. Regular oil changes for preventative maintenance are cheap insurance against engine wear, and will always save you money in the long run if you keep a car for more than three or four years. It's very uncommon to see an engine that has been well maintained with regular oil changes develop major bearing, ring, cam or valve problems under 100,000 miles. ya, last time my cb400 on Mobil 1 = 5k or 3mths whichever comes 1st. Just like how property agents say that property will forever go up and you must buy and buy flip and flip. For the record , my Harley Davidson, changed engine oil once a year. I ride it maybe 5 - 6 times a year. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 I am the kind of person who believes in myself only and whats tried and tested, never simply hearsay. Workshop folks mostly just patronise people. Sometimes , when i listen to them bulls**t and act steady, i just smile and keep quiet. The 15k EO change is recommended by premium continental factories and not just AD. So this i definitely have trust in. Just like how property agents say that property will forever go up and you must buy and buy flip and flip. For the record , my Harley Davidson, changed engine oil once a year. I ride it maybe 5 - 6 times a year. but does the 15k take into account Asian conditions? Its like a blanket approval. And conti factories have a very holier than thou mindset when dealing with sin ADs. Most of the time when AD email them, takes at least 2 weeks to 1 mth to reply. Almost all the time, they are deaf & dumb to feedback and taiji the cause of the problem back to the driver. For property, since demand & supply are controlled from the same source, it would lend some credence to them. The article did mention that newer engines ( I assume w lower mil?) have more tolerances for downgraded oil. So far, I have been changing aound 8-9 mths at 8-9k mil for last 8 yrs. No issue. Just concern that as my ride is now considered older ride, maybe have to up maintenance routine to compensate. Since I am targeting to renew coe if possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 but does the 15k take into account Asian conditions? Its like a blanket approval. And conti factories have a very holier than thou mindset when dealing with sin ADs. Most of the time when AD email them, takes at least 2 weeks to 1 mth to reply. Almost all the time, they are deaf & dumb to feedback and taiji the cause of the problem back to the driver. For property, since demand & supply are controlled from the same source, it would lend some credence to them. The article did mention that newer engines ( I assume w lower mil?) have more tolerances for downgraded oil. So far, I have been changing aound 8-9 mths at 8-9k mil for last 8 yrs. No issue. Just concern that as my ride is now considered older ride, maybe have to up maintenance routine to compensate. Since I am targeting to renew coe if possible. Factory say 15k So being kiasu singaporean, i change at 10k lor......, hahahaha My car mileage now only 88,000km . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged January 1, 2014 Share January 1, 2014 Hi guys, Any workshop recommendation for Mazda 6 dashboard repair? My friend mazda 6 has this rubbery dashboard (passenger side), and there are some small holes in it. Hopefully it can be repaired ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...