Headshok 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 hi guys. Assuming you are in this situation: 1 year ago, you bought a brand new Civic 2L Manual. Assuming, you paid 60% cash up front, 40% loan for 5 years. Being your new Baby, you only give it the best, best engine oil, regular checks, do a little mods here and there to have fun with the car. 1 year ago, think the price of civics were not too crazy ( 80k-90k range?) Then, 1 month after you got your car, you meet your future wife. then, 1 year after getting the car, you 2 decide to get married ( assuming you 2 are ready to tie the knot, buy house etc etc etc and she's a really good partner blah blah, your parents love her, her parents are super cool with you). Then assuming you 2 find the house of your dreams ( ie, you got the property at an incredible price! jump down price, maybe 10% below market value due to extremely good kang tao). But all this time, while you are dating/ patohing, you are still driving your civic 2L and you still maintain it perfectly ( regular grooming, part changes, overall checks). Then next yr ( car is 2 yrs old liao), you are married liao, dinner over liao. then here's one bad thing: your wife only has Class 3A licence. She wants you to change to an Automatic car so that she can drive. But then, your car is still as good as new! Assuming, by then, COE is still as high as today ( Cat B $72k, Cat A $40k+) and car prices are still insane, Would you change your car to an automatic just for your wife ( and spend more) Or get your wife to convert to a Class 3 licence so that she can drive your car? Lets assume, you are planning for a child and every cent save counts. This is just a hypothetical situation. Just curious cause, I just got my new ride b4 COE went crazy, ride's manual and confirm not girl friendly. hahaha... Cheers all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 yes and no.... u will know the answer when u have to decide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 It depends bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
XALmoN Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 hell no. girls shouldn't be driving, especially not my cars, and if they do, they better learn how to drive it. No concessions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sinetic8 Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 I will get her to convert licence. Reasons: 1: you said she is a good partner and both of you are planning for a kid. So she will and should understand your current situation. 2: Changing car VS convert licence. Of course licence sounds like the cheaper alternative. It is all about her understanding that requires you to make the final decision. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 haha.. to the bros who have been in the situation, care to share? Personally, I plan to keep my ride for the next 10 years as most other cars don really appeal to me ( unless i earn 1 million a year, then different story), My ride is manual, economical, VERY FUN TO DRIVE, but hard to park, but very practical ride :) Happy New year to all the bros in this thread :) Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 hell no. girls shouldn't be driving, especially not my cars, and if they do, they better learn how to drive it. No concessions. nice one man :), hahahahahaha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 can change gear box to auto? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Since you say hypothetical, Then when it happens then say Lor.... Maybe strike toto each 1 car leh... Maybe bankrupt both no car leh.... When the times comes, you will know what to do naturally... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Rather than shell out 80-90K for another new auto car and make the gahmen richer, just spend 20-30K to get ur wife a 2nd hand Picanto auto. Tell her it is to let her 'practise' and get used to singa road conditions before you guys 'graduate' to a better car together. 2 cars mean you can drive u beng civic in peace while she can crash or dent the 2nd hand car in whatever way she likes without you feelig heartpain. (not to mention she has to pay or all the subsequent repairs). To me this is the best path forward. My sincere suggestion although I am a bachelor and likely I will be grilled for this durng the annual AGM at the CNY family meet ups. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 Since you say hypothetical, Then when it happens then say Lor.... Maybe strike toto each 1 car leh... Maybe bankrupt both no car leh.... When the times comes, you will know what to do naturally... bro don like that leh, hahahahaha.... i strike toto, give her $$ ask her go settle herself, leave me alone, hahahahaha speaking of which, u still driving the cool honda Euro R ( think the old version)? Happy new yr to u man :) we met a long time ago :) Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 Be water, my friend. Anyway, I'm glad my gf prefers manual, just like me. The only problem I can forsee is picking a manual SUV in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 yoyo, don worry, i also single, lagi worse, last guy in my family to get married. So will be taking the heat during CNY! hahahaha Cheers! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JingYun Neutral Newbie January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 very obvious situation here....convert license...save hell alot...i m sure tat if the gal is so prefect as u mention...she will accept tis decision... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 With the COE so high I would get another wife. And if thats not possible, I would get my wife a small OPC, COE auto car. Easier to drive, no worry if she dinks it in car parks etc. If she can't drive too good, I wouldn't trust her with a nice 2.0 like new Civic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear January 2, 2011 Author Share January 2, 2011 Be water, my friend. Anyway, I'm glad my gf prefers manual, just like me. The only problem I can forsee is picking a manual SUV in future. hahaha.. bruce lee issit? hahahaha guess got many diff kind of girls out there lah. but generally, char bo all want auto lor, hahahah.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 (edited) bro don like that leh, hahahahaha.... i strike toto, give her $$ ask her go settle herself, leave me alone, hahahahaha speaking of which, u still driving the cool honda Euro R ( think the old version)? Happy new yr to u man :) we met a long time ago :) Cheers! Ya I know we met before..... But I was driving galant if I rem correctly, notice your biz going international too Congrats I was in the exact same predicament as you... Except my wife has class 3 license but she can't really park using manual..... Wanted to change to auto car so she can drive to work... But no suitable car also she like Ai Mai Ai Mai so still driving the accord... That's y I say when it happens you will know what to do naturally. Cheers and happy new year Edited January 2, 2011 by Galantspeedz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dec_allion Clutched January 2, 2011 Share January 2, 2011 I would rather be my wife driver rather change a new car or ask her change to a manual licsense. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...