Phluvcat 6th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 I was "inspired" by a friend who drove like that. He got his license way before me. So some time after passing driving test, has been driving like that and become second nature liao. Is really one handed, not awhile, but 99% of the time from once seated in the car to reach destination and leave the car. I guess a lot here also drive like that right? Please note that this is not haolian thread...just like my "barefoot thread", just wanna see the norm or peculiar way people drive. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antony Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 (edited) rarely but when driving thru bends, 2 hands is a must, at least for me, and ur friend using 1 hand 99% of the time? just hope his reflex with 1 hand is as good as using both hands of his Edited February 24, 2011 by Antony Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 (edited) I was "inspired" by a friend who drove like that. He got his license way before me. So some time after passing driving test, has been driving like that and become second nature liao. Is really one handed, not awhile, but 99% of the time from once seated in the car to reach destination and leave the car. I guess a lot here also drive like that right? Please note that this is not haolian thread...just like my "barefoot thread", just wanna see the norm or peculiar way people drive. I drive with one hand 99% of the time. Even U-turn also one hand. And I can drive with either hand on the steering wheel.So when one hand is tired, the other hand can take over And becos my car is auto, I sometimes drive with my left leg resting on my right knee. It's second nature to me. Sometime I wonder if I can drive using my leg on the steering wheel.....still haven try that yet.... Edited February 24, 2011 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 I was "inspired" by a friend who drove like that. He got his license way before me. So some time after passing driving test, has been driving like that and become second nature liao. Is really one handed, not awhile, but 99% of the time from once seated in the car to reach destination and leave the car. I guess a lot here also drive like that right? Please note that this is not haolian thread...just like my "barefoot thread", just wanna see the norm or peculiar way people drive. I'm one of those. Most of the time I would say. The other hand instinctively hold on to the gear stick. Though I'm driving an auto now, old habits still can't get rid of . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evoluzio Neutral Newbie February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Same same, I drive with one hand on the gear stick, except in corners when I'll bring my left hand to the wheel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Same same, I drive with one hand on the gear stick, except in corners when I'll bring my left hand to the wheel. When I use both hands probably will be the time I engaged with the paddle shifters or parking the car. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richardlimbs Clutched February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Me too~~ One hand on the gearstick though its an auto.... turning oso 1 hand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 i do...i am a lazy driver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 hope to see the day where i can drive a car with voice commands Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 hope to see the day where i can drive a car with voice commands Like Batman har . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 When I was learning to drive my instructor made an effort to make sure my left hand do not rest on the manual gear lever while I drive using only my right hand, reason is becos in case of emergency when I need to maneuver out of danger I dun need to waste additional time to bring up my left hand to grab the steering wheel to steer clear of danger. He said although it does not seem to take up much time but it will make a difference in times of danger. That's why I still drive with two hands on the steering wheel always. I dunno what TS is trying to promote here cos I remember clearly to wear proper attire and flat soled shoes when going for driving test. No such thing as taking off footwear or drive one handed, all these are unwanted driving habits to adopt. I think ppl watch too much of that Jay Chou driving one handed in that kid movie Initial D. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 Another one hand driver here. Even fighter pilots fly with one hand on the stick and one on the throttle. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 For continental manual cars I think hard to drive with just one hand right? Unless you dont signal when changing lanes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 hope to see the day where i can drive a car with voice commands Go take a taxi then. "Uncle, geyrang." auto all the way..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 this one self-declared openly and kena fine ah? =x Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 For continental manual cars I think hard to drive with just one hand right? Unless you dont signal when changing lanes. its possible....but you must be fast....if u are talking about the left hand doing all the work..... drive safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 When I was learning to drive my instructor made an effort to make sure my left hand do not rest on the manual gear lever while I drive using only my right hand, reason is becos in case of emergency when I need to maneuver out of danger I dun need to waste additional time to bring up my left hand to grab the steering wheel to steer clear of danger. He said although it does not seem to take up much time but it will make a difference in times of danger. That's why I still drive with two hands on the steering wheel always. I dunno what TS is trying to promote here cos I remember clearly to wear proper attire and flat soled shoes when going for driving test. No such thing as taking off footwear or drive one handed, all these are unwanted driving habits to adopt. I think ppl watch too much of that Jay Chou driving one handed in that kid movie Initial D. I old man liao and I don't watch Initial D though heard of it. To me, use one hand on gear stick serves 2 purposes: Always ready to shift gear up and down due to traffic conditions. I'm those that hate to brake for every small little things. using engine brake is more efficient than keep braking to slow down vehicle. Save fuel and offers more control. Although I can use paddle shift but I still find gear stick offers quicker and "hands-on" response. Left hand also close to the hand brake so quicker to react. I have once used the hand brake once during an emergency. These days cars are well built and offers ease of steering control. So one hand is adequate. Just my 2 cents worth. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged February 24, 2011 Share February 24, 2011 you are all GOD ARM!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...