'Foreign' doesn't always mean 'talent'

Latka

pic of the doc

1463241716.png

AMDK is gifted worrrrrrrrr

Makes you put a double take on the word "gifted"

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Educati...28-188488.html

blank.gif

tab_nw_a1news.gif blank.giftab_nw_tst.gif blank.giftab_nw_biz.gif blank.giftab_nw_np.gif blank.giftab_nw_Mailbox.gif blank.gif
blank.gif >> ASIAONE / NEWS / EDUCATION / STORY
blank.gif20091228.164437_gifted.jpgblank.gif
blank.gif Fri, Jan 01, 2010
The New Paper blank.gif
but_printfriendly.gif blank.gifbut_email.gif
He didn't know he was gifted blank.gifBy Bryna Sim
WHEN you were 3 years old, could you read, write and speak fluently in three languages?
Mr Mikhy Brochez, who is of Jewish-Spanish descent, could - in Hebrew, Spanish and English.

His gifted abilities did not stop there. Now 25, Mr Brochez is an experienced child and educational psychologist who can converse in eight languages.
He is a lecturer at Temasek Polytechnic in two courses - Diploma in Early Childhood Studies and Diploma in Psychology Studies.
While the latter has been around for two years, the former is a new course for students joining the polytechnic from April 2010.
"I didn't know I was a gifted child initially. I also didn't know I was speaking in three different languages then," said Mr Brochez.
He simply saw his language abilities as "talking in different ways to different people", and he recalls calling Hebrew "funny talk".
In hindsight, he sees himself as a successful "laboratory rat" of his mother, Dr Teresa King, a renowned professor of child and adolescent psychology, child neurology and gifted science and mathematics education in the UK.
He said his mother tried out "many of her theories on gifted education" on him when he was young.
Not that he's complaining.
He credits her for his achievement in becoming the youngest registered psychologist in the history of the American Psychological Association.
"My mother is a really big influence in my life. I would not have made it without all her help and guidance," he said.
Mr Brochez sat for the local equivalent of the A-levels examination in the US when he was just 12. He was enrolled in Princeton University at 13.
He transferred from Princeton to Vanderbilt University in his first year, because he felt the latter offered better linguistic courses.
Major decisions
While at Vanderbilt, he had the chance to work with students with special needs, and that was when he made the decision to major not only in linguistics, but also educational psychology.
After he graduated, he continued studying and was eventually awarded two master's degrees from Vanderbilt.
One was in Developmental & Child Psychology, the other in Psychopharmacology.
After that, he dabbled in various vocations and travelled around the world.
"I wasn't entirely sure what I wanted to do with my life, so I explored various places and options," he said.
He knew for sure, however, that he wanted to build a career that he could call his own, without relying on any of his family members, such as his successful mother.
His adventures abroad eventually led him to Singapore.
He first came here as a tourist and to visit friends in November 2007, but ended up buying a condominium unit in the Tanjong Pagar area.
"I don't know how it happened. I just saw the place, liked it, and bought it," he said.
He moved to Singapore in January 2008, and worked as a child psychologist in private practice.
In September that year, he chanced upon a Temasek Polytechnic advertisement, seeking to hire a child psychologist.
Mr Brochez applied for the position and was hired.
Apart from teaching the new diploma course, Mr Brochez will play a key role in setting up a Child Psychology Clinic within the polytechnic, where he will provide consultancy and assessment for exceptional children.
These children can be either gifted or have severe learning disabilities.
Mr Brochez is looking forward to both these roles, as he hopes to "impart to my students the importance of understanding childhood development".
"Childhood development is not about making the child a genius, but to help children be all that they can be," he said.
This article was first published in The New Paper.

i'm more furious the local lover doctor go all the way to cheat [mad]

no sentences to this local doctor? [rifle]

I am scare for those who were treated by Dr Ler.

He's my year mate actually. We did MOCC together.

Didn't interact much with him, but nice quiet guy.

Indefensible. Highly unlikely he will escape jail time. 

at the end was mentioned he will be sentenced later

serous wor this one..... hor @lala81

He's my year mate actually. We did MOCC together.

Didn't interact much with him, but nice quiet guy.

Indefensible. Highly unlikely he will escape jail time.

I tiagong aids cannot go jail

This one talent?  Scary to think that these kinds of clinicians exist too.....haiz

attachicon.gifIMG_1159.JPG

Why so zhun ah? This news come out just after Pinky skewered over 377A? :D

A little late to reply but who was the one spreading these kind of rumors? For #1, wasn't he the CEO of BHP Billiton? That's not some fly by night company and I think even a primary school kid can do that kind of DD.

Too many 'he' in the article. I got confused halfway thru and only after some thought did I realize this fellow is an ah gua.

Not yet la. Read the last sentence in the article.

But I was wondering why his gay boyfriend was willing to help him and even willing to presumably sleep with him despite knowing he had HIV.

Imho, I think gays are promiscuous. They will take more risk. Somemore the doc will know how to reduce the risk.

I think don't get too homophobic.

They are doing a lot of these things discreetly cos they know people cast a judging eye even though it's none of their business.

You can bring a girl home to meet your parents, most of them will never be able to.

I know many of them actually have been with the same partner for many years. 

Just like all the tiko rangers, everyone has a sexual appetite.

I am not too concern on the gay part, more on the cheating part, and most worried on his profession. -_-  -_-

First time hear even blood test can be fake?!  :o

The greatest scrutiny of body fluid sampling happens in athletics during anti-doping testing. Sample switching (blood, urine) used to be a massive problem before they tightened up these procedures. Of course, athletes had to come up with more innovative cheats, and tests had to keep up like the red queen phenomenon, but that's another story.

We are not so intrusive for "normal" testing. It's all built on trust. But even doctors can abuse trust, like this criminal.

I am not too concern on the gay part, more on the cheating part, and most worried on his profession. -_-  -_-

True, whether he is gay or not actually not the main point. Like you said, it is the cheating part which is totally unacceptable.

The greatest scrutiny of body fluid sampling happens in athletics during anti-doping testing. Sample switching (blood, urine) used to be a massive problem before they tightened up these procedures. Of course, athletes had to come up with more innovative cheats, and tests had to keep up like the red queen phenomenon, but that's another story.

We are not so intrusive for "normal" testing. It's all built on trust. But even doctors can abuse trust, like this criminal.

And this one condone THRUST

Even if the doctor escape jail time (unlikely), he will be struck off the SMC practicing doctor list.

I know for sure I will make a complain to the SMC if is otherwise. 

This one talent?  Scary to think that these kinds of clinicians exist too.....haiz

attachicon.gifIMG_1159.JPG

:slow: Goodness!

and in his practice, did he deal with people or prescribe medication?!?

and his girlfriend (who is also a doctor), is she positive too? if she is, is there a need to review the patients that she has dealt with to ensure they are safe from HIV?!?

:inlove: goodness!!! that is so unethical. Esp the guy! Calling him a b**tard is an understatement!  :veryangry:

:slow: Goodness!

and in his practice, did he deal with people or prescribe medication?!?

and his girlfriend (who is also a doctor), is she positive too? if she is, is there a need to review the patients that she has dealt with to ensure they are safe from HIV?!?

:inlove: goodness!!! that is so unethical. Esp the guy! Calling him a b**tard is an understatement!  :veryangry:

huh? That gay doc still got gf? You mean he's a bi?

jialat lah... if doctors are HIV+, then it is a real worry and danger. Which patient will dare to take the risk of being treated by them? 

The gay doc seriously... what was on his mind? 

So many errors of judgement in his life?? How many lives had/would he ruin?