Jellandross Supersonic April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 (edited) I hope that you can say the same thing in 12 month time. Human beings are naturally optimistic which is good in the long run for humanity. It is because of this optimistic nature that made people continue to ignore danger (Knowing the 7-Speed DSG is known in the world to be problematic) and buy a defective product. Without these heroes, VW may never earn enough profit to one day solve the problem. To those men and women who continue to think that they will never experience the problems faced by so many others. Bravo! I totally agree on the optimistic nature of humans, sometimes to the contrary of facts and figures. Take smoking for example. Many people take up smoking because it feels so shiok, although there's a possibility of facing lung cancer one day. There are heavy smokers I know who died from lung cancer and there are others who are still alive and kicking enjoying their puffs everyday. As we speak, there will be new smokers everyday taking up the habit just like there will be new owners who can't wait to get their hands on that new VW ride. Making that decision with awareness of the possible consequences and being able to accept them when they do happen is the key. I decided to be a VW owner 4 years back, but I have never dared to become a smoker. There's no right or wrong. It's all about personal choices, enjoying the fruits of that decision everyday and being able to deal with consequences if the decision turns bad. Edited April 18, 2015 by Jellandross ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 someone mentioning me What ride you get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 Get the 6 speed one. You will enjoy it. 1.4 all came with the 7 speeds... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 Cos the car got cluth and MU replaced recently. Not sure is it a safe buy. Better avoid,get a lower mileage one,there are alot out there,as i said,except ths one you eyeing is dirt cheap,if not,avoid it,even clutch & MU replaced,at these high mileage,there are many others parts started to age or wear...costly items inc A/C compressor,suspension parts,engine mountings,etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 1.4 all came with the 7 speeds... the older 1.4 comes with 6 spd dsg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iczboi Neutral Newbie April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 What about passat 1.8? Got same problem like jetta and scirocco? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 What about passat 1.8? Got same problem like jetta and scirocco? 1.8 comes with 7 sp dry. skip this model. my friend sold his after 11 mths of ownership. buy only the 2L and above from VW or the very old 1.4 with 6 sp wet dsg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iczboi Neutral Newbie April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 Looks like no vw car worth buying. All very problematic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged April 18, 2015 Share April 18, 2015 Looks like no vw car worth buying. All very problematic. not true. Golf GTI. Golf R. R32, R36. GLI, Roc 2L, Roc R. all these can buy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DJ4eva Neutral Newbie April 24, 2015 Share April 24, 2015 (edited) I might be wrong, but from hearsay cos I can't own too many VW cars... Was sitting in a tow truck (cos my car's tire punctured, not because gearbox problem) and driver told me that based on his experience, VW's car is top on his towing list, followed by Audi and BMW/merc. Was at Mazda couple of weeks ago and salesperson mentioned that VW Golf always have gearbox issues. And at many times at workshop, bros shared with me that VW certain engine model is not as good as previous model, which is interesting since newer ones should be better? Got another confirmation today by a fella car lover who commented that VW Golf MKV is much better and reliable than its successors, especially in terms of their DSG technology. A lot of hearsays... My manual transmission works perfectly fine though. But will I get a VW again in the future? NO FREAKIG WAY. Too ex for commoners like me and japanese cars are still reliable and cheaper to maintain. Edited April 24, 2015 by DJ4eva 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 Just to share. Got my Sharan 45k service done 3 weeks ago. booking time 10 days. 2 days ago, light bulb burn, drive down to Macpherson centre without appointment and got it fixed within 15mins. Seriously still enjoying the ride quality and pick up. Guess I'm the lucky few to many hearsayers. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 Just to share. Got my Sharan 45k service done 3 weeks ago prease lor, 45K is still early days, u reach 80K boh tai ji then come back to hao lian. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 Just to share. Got my Sharan 45k service done 3 weeks ago. booking time 10 days. 2 days ago, light bulb burn, drive down to Macpherson centre without appointment and got it fixed within 15mins. Seriously still enjoying the ride quality and pick up. Guess I'm the lucky few to many hearsayers. Don't worry. Hearsay Sharan is problem free due to the wet clutch being used. If the workshop is not overwhelmed by troubles due to dry clutch, then you would not be affected. 10 days waiting time for servicing is really amazing, hope VCs can keep it that way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 Don't worry. Hearsay Sharan is problem free due to the wet clutch being used. If the workshop is not overwhelmed by troubles due to dry clutch, then you would not be affected. 10 days waiting time for servicing is really amazing, hope VCs can keep it that way. Their new car sales are dropping + they probably ramp up workshop facilities - Prob why now less congestion to get servicing. Usually most of the workshop servicing appts is for new cars - old cars prob do their scheduled service outside to save $$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 prease lor, 45K is still early days, u reach 80K boh tai ji then come back to hao lian. Well. My old Nissan presage at 80k already got tai ji how huh? Super reliable hor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
chuanyan128 2nd Gear May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 Don't worry. Hearsay Sharan is problem free due to the wet clutch being used. If the workshop is not overwhelmed by troubles due to dry clutch, then you would not be affected. 10 days waiting time for servicing is really amazing, hope VCs can keep it that way. Was quite worried about all the negative feedback about DSG before buying but after knowing Sharan is using the older gti mk v engine and gearbox instead of the dry one, that's why I dare to commit. For now, no regret. My experience at both Alexandra and macpherson so far positive. Can sense they are trying to improve. Anyway all brands have their problems, it's a never ending list, I can easily name many but what's the point, that makes me another hearsay. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 why you all like that ?? ask bro zerobim08 to explain the goodness of the GB lah ..... He says problems solved liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 7, 2015 Share May 7, 2015 Their new car sales are dropping + they probably ramp up workshop facilities - Prob why now less congestion to get servicing. Usually most of the workshop servicing appts is for new cars - old cars prob do their scheduled service outside to save $$. For me, I would not want to over-analyse the situations but just enjoy the improvements as it is. Would not lose sleep if VW slip a position or two or three in sales volume, more relevant would be having enjoyable workshop experience when going servicing. So long as VCS don't close shop would be ok. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...