Stomper angry because expired voucher not accepted

Ahtong

Stomper has not actually indicated if the voucher has expired explicitly. It is up to the readers to deduce that the voucher has expired. This is rather dishonest as an author.

The waitress and manager's reaction is one-sided story as far as we are concern.

If the voucher has expired, then it will not be honored. Simple as that and Alex should just accpet it as it is.

in his case, even if he keep quiet, it is the shop that need to check (it SOP to do so)...

but normally we will be like guilty ask if it can be used [blush]

As a service provider, they need to cover all aspect even if the customer is wrong... like one mentioned, if you turn the mistake into a goodwill and make the customer feel a bit guilty, you probably gain a return customer. Moreover if the voucher was only $10, you still get back $18 rather than losing both!

Stomper thought he has outwitted the supervisor by not mentioning about the expired voucher date.

This FT supervisor NOT STUPID. If supervisor said the voucher is expired, then stomper would have gone away and not patronise the ice-cream shop.

So the FT supervisor just say the voucher can use, to hoodwink stomper to eat at the restaurant. Got sales for the restaurant!!

Since Stomper can conveniently forgot to mention the expiry date(or the stomper REALLY did not notice the expiry date), then the supervisor can also conveniently forgot to confirm the expiry date too.

What makes the stomper so peeved that the supervisor must check the expiry date?

Still stomper got pay $28 in the end? One business for the shop! This type of stomper will NEVER eat such expensive ice cream if not for the voucher one lah. So lose this stomper customer is not a problem at all.

Honestly, I have not eaten Jerry ice cream, as it is too ex. I only eat HagenDaz once.

aiayh the stomper way is not any different from one of the forumer here

irc

one of the forumer have an expire gift voucher or something which the front staff of a bank correctly point out

he's not satisfy with the answer and call the bank customer hotline demanding the free gift

This stomper knows he is wrong. But cleverly divert the point to highlight the RUDE service staff.

Some on lah, if stomper had admitted and agreed on the spot, when the supervisor say voucher is expired. Then all will be peaceful.

The stomper must have insisted that supervisor said can, then now cannot, and insisted on using it.

No stupid supervisor will want to argue and scold customers openly like that!

Stomper is not elite enough.

Usually supervisor will accept the $28 cash from customers, and the go kitchen to Bitch and fark and cursed the cheapskate customer behind his back!

vouchers usually have expiry dates written right? how come this stomper cannot check him/herself?

but the way the supervisor or manager managed the situation was wrong also.. totally nvr give face to customers lol.

if he's already prepared to fork out the money to "buy them dinner", then phrase it in another way say its on the house then let them leave satisfied lah.. stupid.

customer tried to pull a stunt. showed an expired vouchor and if the staff did not notice the expiry date, then he thinks he got the rights to use the discount even after the expiry date is discovered cos the staff said so.

this is shameless and cunning.

it not about the customer cos you bound to see 1001 type of them everyday...

there was a case in HK that one lady patronise a shop with 7 days money back and she will use the product for 6 days and return..... the shop happily honor it and it has been years that she does that [;)]

* note the products are not recyclable and has to be discard.

Edited by Jman888

aiayh the stomper way is not any different from one of the forumer here

irc

one of the forumer have an expire gift voucher or something which the front staff of a bank correctly point out

he's not satisfy with the answer and call the bank customer hotline demanding the free gift

Use Mutton's(98.7fm) method lah , cry. You will get your way.

I dunno how many heard it over the radio. LOL...

The manager also got no business sense. The cost price for a few scopes of ice-cream how much only. Just treat them lor, save an argument save a customer.

Thats why FnB biz not easy in spore, need to find good staff able to think like the boss.

Being from the service industry before, i have seen all kinds of idiotic customer. And this is just a typical example.

As for the rude manager, to tell u the truth, i find it hard to believe dat he said dat voluntarily. He must have been qutie severely provoked by Alex (although it is still not an excuse). But well, ppl are all human and have feelings. There are some customers who tink they are blardy king of the world just cos they spend a few dollars.

Edited by Kar_lover

Being from the service industry before, i have seen all kinds of idiotic customer. And this is just a typical example.

As for the rude manager, to tell u the truth, i find it hard to believe dat he said dat voluntarily. He must have been qutie severely provoked by Alex (although it is still not an excuse). But well, ppl are all human and have feelings. There are some customers who tink they are blardy king of the world just cos they spend a few dollars.

i guess you were just a waiter/customer service then [rolleyes]

pay-up and move on

it is the responsibility of the person using the voucher that it is still valid

just like when you "accidently" used a fake $50 noted

the police will catch you first and not the guy in charge of monetary of Singapore

if we have people like that

how are we going to be a gracious society

where is this bugger

it is only $28, I will buy him dinner

Note: I had many voucher expired on me, I think this guy knew the voucher is expire and is trying his luck and asked the staff

most people would just eat and the use the voucher because you must have read the conditions eg pay 4 get one free or something like before you even use the voucher

so this bugger is not simple

lousy bugger - a r s e and still want to be a pain in the a r s e

STOMPer Alex was appalled that the manager at Ben & Jerry's Orchard Central outlet, rudely told his family off that their bill was only for $28 when they presented a voucher to pay with.

Said the STOMPer in his email:

"My family and I dined at Ben & Jerry's Orchard Central outlet today (Mar 26) at about 9pm.We had the most unpleasant experience and that left a bad taste in our mouths.

"We were appalled by the rudeness and audacity of the staff in the store, having the supervisor speak to us in a rude manner was bad enough, when we requested to speak to the manager, Mr Jeff, his tone was equally bad, if not, worse off than his subordinates.

"This is the gist of the incident. Upon arrival at the restaurant, we presented a discount voucher issued by UOB bank to one of the waiters to check if we can use this voucher. The waiter was not sure and he proceeded to enquire from his supervisor, a China lady by the name of Jennifer. She confirmed that we were able to use the voucher and we went on to order our food and ice-cream. She then returned the voucher to us.

"After we finished our food, we called for the bill and presented the voucher once again. The supervisor, Jennifer brought the bill to us and also collected our voucher, she returned shortly after and told us that the voucher has expired and could not be used anymore.

"We were surprised as she was the one who gave the approval to use the voucher. A slight argument ensued and I guess for the fear of being reprimanded, Jennifer insisted it was solely our mistake and repeatedly mentioned many times that we should have checked the voucher before using and it was all our fault!

"At that moment, she could not find anymore excuses and we demanded to see the manager. The assistant dining manager came out and before we could speak, he told us, 'yes, you can use the voucher provided it was not expired'.

"We reasoned that it was his supervisor who told us we could use the voucher and that was why we sat down to order our ice-cream, how could he turn the tables around and say such illogical excuses?

"We held our grounds and told Jeff that this verification was done by his waiter and supervisor. He should not deny and he did check with Jennifer. Seeing that there was no way out, Jeff mentioned very rudely, 'it is just $28, I can buy you the dinner'.

"To my utmost astonishment and shock, that was not what I was expecting from a manager! Was he looking down on me by saying such things in a very rude tone? I warned him not to be rude and he mentioned once again, 'it is only $28 lah. I can buy for you'. He then walked away.

"Actually I was pinpointing at the rudeness of the supervisor, but seeing how rude and uncouth the manager is, I forgave her and thought to myself, maybe this is Ben & Jerry's way of protecting their staff and subordinates, by standing on the staff side and oppose all customers regardless!

"This will be my last visit to Ben & Jerry's. Customers to Ben & Jerry's at Orchard Central, beware."

Use Mutton's(98.7fm) method lah , cry. You will get your way.

I dunno how many heard it over the radio. LOL...

i did!! he did a prank call during one of the morning, heard it while going through a traffic jam.

"you kena pluck!" section.

he had voucher to buy tv or something, but expired, called in and ask until very poor thing and cried.. (correct me if im wrong) :D

end up the lady asked him to come down to the store and she promised a good deal for him.