Mazda Biante MPV

Swifter78

Would not the seat belt be able to hold the cabby in place under this situation? Flashbacks would still be there regardless of airbag isn't it? Don't think the issue of airbag would surface in this situation, there are more important things in life to come to mind.

Dunno leh. I also find all the front seat airbags redundant cos got seat belt liao.

You ever thought about disabling your front seat airbags in Mazdie Biante?

I mean as you mentioned in an earlier posts the Biante is so well designed that there is no need for airbags in the rear, I'm sure they also applied the same technology to the front passenger cells, the front airbags in the Biante are just marketing gimmicks. Disable them. Mazdie technology is lightyears ahead. Cannot bluff one.

I mean your query about taxi seat belt is a Eureka moment for me. I now realise why taxis have no need for airbags. Because they have seat belts!

Edited by Sabian

Today more free, took a picture of the 4 aircon vents under roof of Biante for passengers sitting at 2nd and 3rd row. Aircon confirm powerful enough to keep everyone happy.

post-101253-0-12247000-1398571474_thumb.jpg

Took 3hrs to wax the car few days ago. Now even better shine than when just collected it!

EncoUntered something wierd when waxing the windows. The glass on the 2 front windows very hard to apply and remove wax, creating audible static sounds throughout and very resistive, like some kind of original coating. Other glass panels all ok. Anyone got any idea?

ALso, anyone got lobang for those visors for Biante that allow slight opening of windows please give a headsup. Available in Japan and ebay but prefer local vendors. Cant find any at the moment. Many TIA.

post-101253-0-32228800-1398572070_thumb.jpg

post-101253-0-11705300-1398572085_thumb.jpg

Edited by Heartlander

What is the profile of the tyre? Any chance of getting a low profile tyre to reduce the height of the car? Pros and Cons?

i dont see how lowering the profile of tyre can lower the height of car.

Standard profile is 205/60R16. I have not explored using low profile tyres, but isn't the overall external diameter to be same or within a 5% tolerance else the speed sensing will be out? Pardon me i always thought is a case of more metal or rubber. Anyway the pros and cons of low profile tyres could be easily googled or yahooed. Not really desirable for mpv as the emphasis is more on comfort and not performance, since it should not alter the height of the car if done properly. Else might have insurance and inspection problem later on.

Today more free, took a picture of the 4 aircon vents under roof of Biante for passengers sitting at 2nd and 3rd row. Aircon confirm powerful enough to keep everyone happy.

Thanks for the photos!

Btw, there's a "hole" on-top of the 3rd row right passenger seat. What's in this "hole" ??

You ever thought about disabling your front seat airbags in Mazdie Biante?

airbags provide an extra safety layer in accidents. if u thk u dont need the extra feature, go ahead n disable it but since u a paid for it, why wld u disable it on purpose?

Thanks for the photos!

Btw, there's a "hole" on-top of the 3rd row right passenger seat. What's in this "hole" ??

Safety belt...

Thanks for the photos!

There are 2 of them actually. As what Bro Blackyv has replied, that is the seatbelt for middle seat of middle row. 3-point type. One more is behind.

Owner maybe removed the 3rd headrest.?

Yah I did remove the headrest for middle seat in 3rd row and keep it in the spare wheel well. Very big and blocking the view behind.

These 2 days used the car quite a lot to run errands for 2 different birthday parties. Really came in very handy as load carrier due to its tall height and flexible seating with its track design. I can push the 2 row of seats all the way to the front or back depending on requirements. Even with the 3rd row push all the way to the back, could still put a ice-chest in the boot area. Pardon my suaku-ness, coming to the full-size MPV club!

But all everything is rosy to be frank. The roof is noisy when raining. This car should be the noisiest I ever own, though not as bad as Sunny I sat before. Typical Japanese standard I guess. Also, the FC is holding consistently at 9km/L, not sad but a bit disappointed only. After run-in, would be happy to achieve 10km/L.

mazda biante crash test: if it didnt have airbags activated, the driver's face wldve likely hit the steering wheel even w seatbelts on.

I look at crash tests of other MPVs, Biante's car structure rigidity really outstanding. There are total 3 videos on the crash tests and the amount of collapse is not as extensive as most other models. The frontal test is especially outstanding if you look at where the crumple zone stops. Estima seems to fare much worse as it crumbles all the way to the driver space.

And the nature of these tests is unstrained type, meaning great impact such that the steering wheel will be dislodged. Definitely not the type that we encounter mostly here. At least now I am feeling safer in my Biante already. [thumbsup]

airbags provide an extra safety layer in accidents. if u thk u dont need the extra feature, go ahead n disable it but since u a paid for it, why wld u disable it on purpose?

I'm not advocating it. Just that got c0ckster say seat belt very good so no need airbag.

And another say rear cabin airbags waste of time because futuristic tech from mazda has negated the need for rear air bags.

I'm not advocating it. Just that got c0ckster say seat belt very good so no need airbag.

And another say rear cabin airbags waste of time because futuristic tech from mazda has negated the need for rear air bags.

LOL... cocks drive Audis!

ok i get it now

maybe his passenger's "airbag" v big so no need car airbags lol

while let it be.....

sometimes, people needs to justify their decision......

so, when bought cars with many many airbags, brag about how safe it is....

when bought cars with no or 2 airbags, justify it with.......

actually haaaa, both also not wrong lor....

'cos everything on this earth is like a two-edged sword.

I see people drive many many airbags car, never put on seatbelts........ So, it's a disaster waiting to happen....

I also see people drive no airbag or 2 airbags car like F1 racer.....

Further, nobody can really know how reliable airbags are 'cos only langah langah will know...... Maybe most airbags will up lorry in 5 years time..... nobody knows......

Sestbelt is still your most important first line defence!!! Wear it, don't loose it. Always buy a car with 5 proper 3-point seatbelts..... and don't remove any headrests 'cos they are really important to prevent / minimise neck injuries. I don't undertand why people remove it. If block rear view, just push it down. When ferrying passengers, they can just prop it up again.

Edited by Kangadrool