Inconsiderate idiots

1fast1

I went out for lunch at a small place in International Plaza with 2 friends today. This place is usually very crowded and people are always waiting for tables, and people generally finish their meal chop-chop and clear off.

There was a 6-seater table around which 3 people were already seated. This was the initial seating arrangement:

X1 X2 O3

(table)

O4 X5 O6 [corner pillar]

where 1-6 denote position, X denotes a seat filled by a member of the other party and O an empty one. There were no other free tables with 3 seats. X1 was male, while X2 and X5 were females.

The two females (X2 and X5) had already clearly finished their meal, while X1 (the male) was having a drink.

While one friend and I were queueing up to buy makan, my other friend (denoted by Y) sat down, and the new arrangement became:

X1 X2 Y3

(table)

O4 X5 O6 [corner pillar]

I'm a rather large person and O6 was abutting the corner pillar (tight squeeze). Having seen that X at position 5 had *already finished eating* and was just chatting away, I stood behind the seat O6 for a few minutes, hoping that X5 would notice and move to O4 of her own accord.

No such luck. So I politely asked the female in X5 to shift to O4 as space was a bit tight for me, plus there was another friend joining my party. After all, she had already finished eating long ago - although I didn't point this out, as it might have been construed as rude.

Guess what? X5 (passive-agressive bitch) remained stolidly seated, completely ignoring me. To make matters worse, the active-aggressive bitch at X2 piped up: "BUT WE WERE HERE FIRST, CHUKNOW?!" Then they proceed to ignore me again.

OK, fine. Wanna play it that way, you inconsiderate bitches? I'm game. I yanked out O6 and proceeded to deposit my wide and considerable bulk into it, as I was bloody well entitled to do, since it was an empty seat. X5 was now *forced* to move to O4:

X1 X2 Y3

(table)

X4 O5 Y6 [corner pillar]

I only moved back toward the corner pillar to free up space at O5 when my friend returned after placing his order.

X1 X2 Y3

(table)

X4 Y5 Y6 [corner pillar]

During the entire meal X2 was staring daggers at me. I didn't give a sh*t. Incredibly, the X party *continued* to occupy their seats reading newspapers and magazines while people were milling around them waiting for a place.

After finishing our meal (the X party members were STILL occupying seats without eating), my friend at Y5, immediately got up and loudly proclaimed "If we're done, let's be considerate and give up our seats to others who are waiting." I could see this was just to bait X party, so I also got up quickly and rejoined, "Yes, let's be considerate. Unfortunately, being considerate is not a universal trait. Some people are just plain inconsiderate." [laugh] Then the three of us Ys left with alacrity.

So that was my unpleasant lunchtime encounter with inconsiderate idiots, and at least one overt bitch. Oh, and since race seems to be rather important to some people on this forum, the X party were Chinese, as are both my friends, while I'm Indian. Just in case any of those posters who previously made those topics are curious. [rolleyes]

When X5 refused to move to O4,

she was secretly hinting you to seat

at O4 and talk to your fren who

will occupy O6 than you can face

her as you chit chat. :D

I think she likes you lah!

As for X2 staring daggers at you

she jealous you sit next to X5

and not next to her. Its obvious she doesn't like

your fren sitting at Y3.

I am sure nothing wrong with your fren

but she just finds you more attractive.

When X5 refused to move to O4,

she was secretly hinting you to seat

at O4 and talk to your fren who

will occupy O6 than you can face

her as you chit chat. :D

I think she likes you lah!

As for X2 staring daggers at you

she jealous you sit next to X5

and not next to her. Its obvious she doesn't like

your fren sitting at Y3.

I am sure nothing wrong with your fren

but she just finds you more attractive.

Walao. A unique take on the situation. Thanks bro, you made my day! [laugh]

you actually understand all the X and Y thingy..... [dizzy]

my brain is getting too old for this...... :excl:

Solly lah. I thought visual aids would clarify, not confuse. [dizzy]

I went out for lunch at a small place in International Plaza with 2 friends today. This place is usually very crowded and people are always waiting for tables, and people generally finish their meal chop-chop and clear off.

There was a 6-seater table around which 3 people were already seated. This was the initial seating arrangement:

X1 X2 O3

(table)

O4 X5 O6 [corner pillar]

After finishing our meal (the X party members were STILL occupying seats without eating), my friend at Y5, immediately got up and loudly proclaimed "If we're done, let's be considerate and give up our seats to others who are waiting." I could see this was just to bait X party, so I also got up quickly and rejoined, "Yes, let's be considerate. Unfortunately, being considerate is not a universal trait. Some people are just plain inconsiderate." [laugh] Then the three of us Ys left with alacrity.

So that was my unpleasant lunchtime encounter with inconsiderate idiots, and at least one overt bitch. Oh, and since race seems to be rather important to some people on this forum, the X party were Chinese, as are both my friends, while I'm Indian. Just in case any of those posters who previously made those topics are curious. [rolleyes]

Good job, I would have done the same sarcastic remarks!!

X were correct to occupy the seats.

Only rude people come in to join the table.

There is no hard and fast rule to vacate once finish the food.

It's wrong to say people inconsiderate.

Then almost everyone else eating there is rude, by your reckoning. That place is so popular, yet supplied with so few seats, that strangers always share tables.

Nobody chooses to share tables with strangers, unless there is no choice. At this place, it's understood there's usually no other choice.

Apart from X occupying seats long after they finished eating, do you think it's at all equitable for them to be "dogs in the manger" to remain seated in that configuration while another party of 3 wanted to be seated together? Remember that if that woman in X5 had not finished eating, I would never have requested her to move. But do you think it's right she plonked herself down in that seat in the first place, and continued to occupy it after finishing her meal despite knowing that she was preventing another party from being seated together at that table?

If you still see nothing wrong with what they did, then perhaps you're just as inconsiderate as them.

I think you missed the gist, bro... being considerate or inconsiderate has nothing to do with rules.

Being inconsiderate is a character issue, not a legal issue.

When I was in Hong Kong though everywhere is crowded during lunch time nobody will behave like this case and hog the seats. The culture is so different from what we have here. I must say some ppl are rather selfish in the way they behave. It's not inconsideration IMO, it's more of self centeredness that sometimes we have to put up with here.

Yes you are absolutely right. I had timsum at a "Char Lou" (aka kopitiam) in HK, same table 4 different groups. We ate our own food and so were the rest.

Over here in Singapore, personal space is damn precious to some...

Edited by Kenneve888

Actually, I've eaten at this place quite frequently, and (thankfully) this is the first time I'm encountering this sort of self-centeredness/inconsideration/whatever - usually people are very accomodating knowing the space constraints at this place. Hopefully, it'll be the last time I encounter it.

BTW, the place is a damn nice vegan restaurant called Loving Hut - they have branches all over Sg (and outside - I first encountered them in San Diego). Their vegan laksa is to die for, IMO (that's what I had today). [inlove]

The branch at Suntec is also damn nice, and also usually very crowded at lunchtime.

X1 X2 O3

(table)

O4 X5 O6 [corner pillar]

where 1-6 denote position, X denotes a seat filled by a member of the other party and O an empty one. There were no other free tables with 3 seats. X1 was male, while X2 and X5 were females.

The two females (X2 and X5) had already clearly finished their meal, while X1 (the male) was having a drink.

While one friend and I were queueing up to buy makan, my other friend (denoted by Y) sat down, and the new arrangement became:

X1 X2 Y3

(table)

O4 X5 O6 [corner pillar]

I'm a rather large person and O6 was abutting the corner pillar (tight squeeze). Having seen that X at position 5 had *already finished eating* and was just chatting away, I stood behind the seat O6 for a few minutes, hoping that X5 would notice and move to O4 of her own accord.

No such luck. So I politely asked the female in X5 to shift to O4 as space was a bit tight for me, plus there was another friend joining my party. After all, she had already finished eating long ago - although I didn't point this out, as it might have been construed as rude.

Guess what? X5 (passive-agressive bitch) remained stolidly seated, completely ignoring me. To make matters worse, the active-aggressive bitch at X2 piped up: "BUT WE WERE HERE FIRST, CHUKNOW?!" Then they proceed to ignore me again.

OK, fine. Wanna play it that way, you inconsiderate bitches? I'm game. I yanked out O6 and proceeded to deposit my wide and considerable bulk into it, as I was bloody well entitled to do, since it was an empty seat. X5 was now *forced* to move to O4:

X1 X2 Y3

(table)

X4 O5 Y6 [corner pillar]

I only moved back toward the corner pillar to free up space at O5 when my friend returned after placing his order.

X1 X2 Y3

(table)

X4 Y5 Y6 [corner pillar]

During the entire meal X2 was staring daggers at me. I didn't give a sh*t. Incredibly, the X party *continued* to occupy their seats reading newspapers and magazines while people were milling around them waiting for a place.

Are you enginneer ? your maths are really chim.

you are lucky he stop at X, Y and O.... never bring in A, B, C, lambda, pi and e=mc square into the equation.