1 step forward, a dozen backwards

So_nice

I just came back from a driver-thru Potong Pasir. I've stayed in that estate for 10 years in the 80's thru 90's. It's a very cosy 'island' and no different from many of the HDB estates around the country. It's got a kopitiams, CC, open space with fields, nurseries, a JC, good amenities, and it's clean and green. So at least superficially I would say, as well run as any PAP-held constituency.

So it's a bit sad and disappointing for me personally that there's not more support given to Mrs Chiam this GE. And Mr Chiam didn't 'abandon' PP residents for greater glory, so yes, this tie round I'm indeed disappointed with the voters in PP.

could it be a result of influx of new citizens to PP that tipped the balance on 7th May??

yes we lost CST but we gained five more opp new voices in the parliament. 1 hg and 4 alj new faces. Is a success and marked improvement for the opp in my opinion. Furthermore this group of Opp MP represented a GRC with large geographical voters spectrun. Imagine the like of CSM, Pit Si and Sly questioning those PAP polcies. Is a marked improvement. i do not discount CST but must admit we do need some fresh voices in the parliament. Reminder to fellow MCFers bros/sis don't forget that now we have CSM in the parliament!

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...n*++show*++mao*

Don't despair and let have hope ok. [drivingcar]

as they expand they need help. can even consider SPP if mr chiam is still ard in the political scene! :D

i wish Mr Chiam the best of health... i know if he has to go he has to go... but i wish him many more good years in life...

recently saw some clips of Mr Chiam in parliment in the late 80s/90s... miss him...

Election's over. Like what Nicole Seah has said, " now that the contest is over, we must come together as one country and work to build that future we want "

Some of you feel that its 1 step forward but a dozen steps backwards, others may say whats the use of 6 opp MPs in Parliament when the 2/3 majority can still pass any laws that they want.

However let this 6 Opps MPs be a good start and let this 60% popular votes be a good wake up call for the PAPs. Even Rome is not built in a day. Remember this ain't a revolution.

Like what I have said in my other post in another topic; Remember how Slyiva Lim lost the ALjunied GRC by 44% in 2006? This was the highest percentage of the votes received by any losing Opp candidates in 2006. She stayed on and work hard for the residents for the next 5 years and assembled the A team to take down the GRC. Yaw Shin Long did his work too, for 10 years under his mentor LKT. He too, get a better winning margin than LTK in Hougang SMC.

This 2011 GE, we have seen many opp candidates in GRC getting good results , if not even better results than what the WP has gathered in 2006. The problem may be the time factor. Many of them, Nicole Seah, former army Col Ang Yong Guan, former civil servant Tan Jee Say etc....they were only field really close to the GE and the time factor may be a bit of disadvantage to them.

Despire their loss in this GE, should they continue to serve the residents with their hearts, together with a good party manifesto and maybe a few more high calibre candidates. They may get better results in the next GE.

This is already proven in WP's victory in Aljunied GRC; The GRC system is not impregable and neither does re-drawn of the electoral boundary can significantly influence the people's choice. More importantly, the people has responded and voice their concerns thru their votes. The PAP, at the same time, would also do their best to improve better results next time. Like what CSM says, if the PAP loses Aljunied, they will still continue to serve the residents better and its a better thing for them since they have 2 groups of people serving them.

Most importanty, we as Singaporeans stand to gain when their is a strong contest in every GE.

This is uncalled for, but I believed you are sorely.

replied in a fit of anger/frustration...

but wat the heck... life goes on...

yes we lost CST but we gained five more opp new voices in the parliament. 1 hg and 4 alj new faces. Is a success and marked improvement for the opp in my opinion. Furthermore this group of Opp MP represented a GRC with large geographical voters spectrun. Imagine the like of CSM, Pit Si and Sly questioning those PAP polcies. Is a marked improvement. i do not discount CST but must admit we do need some fresh voices in the parliament. Reminder to fellow MCFers bros/sis don't forget that now we have CSM in the parliament!

http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...n*++show*++mao*

Don't despair and let have hope ok. [drivingcar]

yes i guess... but you know how pap deals with people whom they see as a threat... [knife]

lets hope these new birds know how to play the game right... actually with Mr Low they should be ok bah...

4th Gear

tick means - yes/agree/want/allow

cross means - no/wrong/dont want

so maybe this will cause confusion for the not so educated old folks...

stupid if you asked me... why cant we tick?... or circle the best... wtf sia?....

Maybe should change to shading.

The young will definitely know 'cos PSLE and 'O' Levels.

The old will too 'cos buying 4D and Toto...... [lipsrsealed][laugh]

on the lighter side:- in a commercial world where dog-eat-dog is common place, when we see signs of cracks in our competitors' organisation, die die must capitalise on such a weakness and exert external pressures to make the internal cracks grow big time........ any strategist here to give some advice please?

I do not agree. You can have a healthy clean competition with your rivals. Of course you will look for area to your advantage, but the fight can be clean & honorable.

wahahahahaha... good one... my first laugh the whole evening.... [laugh]

I'm curious why you are always defending pap. Especially when you said

"I can think of many reasons not to vote for pap but I can't think of a single reason to vote for the opposition"

dont waste time with people who see things superficially...... leave him alone :D

I do not agree. You can have a healthy clean competition with your rivals. Of course you will look for area to your advantage, but the fight can be clean & honorable.

provided both sides are clean. sometimes, u have to fight evil with evil

my parents and grandparents lived in AMK under PM lee... after many many years of delays... lift upgrades came after BOTH my grandparents became wheelchair bounded... and after they died...

so what should my parents/grandparents have done?... vote opposition cause they didnt get any upgrades?...

CASTING A VOTE IS TO DETERMINE WHO WILL BE THE GOVERNMENT OR WHOSE VOICE WILL BE HEARD IN PARLIMENT... NOT BECAUSE YOU WANT A LIFT UPGRADE?.... OMG...

Well said!! [thumbsup]

On CST losing Potong Pasir, although it is really very sad and pity to see that his past yrs of effort in Potong Pasir has came for a stop, at least for this next 5 yrs!

But if you view it differently, i think this cld be a best time for CST to take a break and regain his health, as i seriously think he deserve a good break, and hopefully he will be back 5 yrs later. [:)] Meanwhile, let's see how PAP can change Potong Pasir towards better or worse. And let's see pple in Potong Pasir shld "repend" for the next 5 yrs for choosing PAP or rejoice tht they shld have chosen PAP long ago. [rolleyes]

if we dont exploit the weaknesses of the opponents, and try to be 'gentleman', we are not putting up a good fight........ exploiting competitiors' weaknesses can be done above board and legally......... so the play is legitimate [:)]

LOL......... [thumbsup]

YOUR POST HAS JUST SHOWN EVERYONE HERE WHAT A c--k YOU ARE... VOTE IN FAVOUR OF A BLOODY WALKWAY UPGRADE... YOU GOT BRAINS ANOT?...

THE PAP THREATENS POTONG PASIR THAT IF PAP IS NOT VOTED IN, GET PREPARED FOR POTONG PASIR TO REMIAN WITH NO/LESS UPGRADES... AND EVRYONE IS SCARED... KNN IS THIS FAIR?... IS THIS DEMOCRACY?... THREATENING THE PEOPLE OF POTONG PASIR... AND YOU VOTE FOR THEM?... USELESS PRICK WITH NO BACKBONE...

I DO NOT STAY IN POTONG PASIR NOW... BUT I STUDIED IN ST ANDREWS JR SCHOOL SINCE THE PRE-WAR COMPOUND WAS THERE. I HAVE TONS OF FRIENDS LIVING IN POTONG PASIR... I GREW UP IN POTONG PASIR...

You the bloody co_K dick head. I voted Lina Chiam. I respect my neighbor choice, unlike you.

You scold people who vote differently, what fairNESS you talking. only your way is fair?

DON'T STAY THERE MEANS DON'T STAY THERE. WHAT GROW UP YOU TALKING. YOU DON'T HAVING VOTING RIGHT THERE, STFU... TAKE OUR BACKSIDE SKIN FOR YOUR FACE,... POTONG PASIR RESIDENCE REGARDLESS VOTE PAP OR SPP, YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO SCOLD THEM, OUTSIDER.

Edited by Ender