1 step forward, a dozen backwards

So_nice

WP's break thru at aljunied GRC is a huge step forward however i'm really sad to see mr chaim lost his GRC fight and also potong pasir, where he had served 27 yrs. wat sway the residents in potong pasir really buffs me. considering mr chaim had fight so hard for the past 27 yrs.

end of the day, pple like WKS, MBT, RL, VB are still happily in their almost 3m/yr post wif no contribution to the country. and worse off, a certain kate spade lady is going thru by the B-system (mind u, not BUDDY but BACK-DOOR system) and she is going to be the voice for pple in MP GRC. for someone whom cant even handle a simple facebook account well, i haf serious doubt she can head the ward.

but borrow a phrase from MM, voters has 5 yrs to regret and repent.

hopefully by then, our fellow singaporeans could grow some courage (or rather balls) and put their words into action.

lastly, good-bye to mr chiam. u're a true legend and a fighter for fellow singaporeans. i salute u and ur hardwork will not be forgotten.

WP's break thru at aljunied GRC is a huge step forward however i'm really sad to see mr chaim lost his GRC fight and also potong pasir, where he had served 27 yrs. wat sway the residents in potong pasir really buffs me. considering mr chaim had fight so hard for the past 27 yrs.

end of the day, pple like WKS, MBT, RL, VB are still happily in their almost 3m/yr post wif no contribution to the country. and worse off, a certain kate spade lady is going thru by the B-system (mind u, not BUDDY but BACK-DOOR system) and she is going to be the voice for pple in MP GRC. for someone whom cant even handle a simple facebook account well, i haf serious doubt she can head the ward.

hopefully by then, our fellow singaporeans could grow some courage (or rather balls) and put their words into action.

lastly, good-bye to mr chiam. u're a true legend and a fighter for fellow singaporeans. i salute u and ur hardwork will not be forgotten.

I believe he will be encouragement for many others to come forward

No doubt this is a breakthru for sg political landscape and for wp. Pap definitely has a lot of rethinking to do despite a "victorious" front. They know they are screwed.

Moving forward, either pap transform internally or external voters will transform them in GE2016. Of course, they will continue to change the GE playing field which is a shame for "first world country".

Social media and younger voters has helped alot and put every contestant under public scrutiny. For OP, they seriously have to do more ground work and consolidate their parties. It's clear that WP as a brand name commands a lot of respect! Screw ups like RP forgot national pledge is not acceptable. NSP rely on Nicole for publicity is also overdone.

Eventually, election is both an emotional and pragmatic process. Simply hating WKS, MBT, TPL to the guts is not a strategy for OP to win.

I believe we will reach a 2 party parliament soon. The social media and WP will put PAP under a lot of heavy accountability and transparency.

Take heart singaporeans! Don't give up on this land!

Edited by Poper

Why Seetoh can win? Very simple. The promise of HDB upgrading, and also because Mr Chiam left his stronghold.

Biggest reason is Lina CMI.

If it is Nicole, it will be a diff story.

I would say that seetoh's patience and hardwork has paid off. For Lina chiam, she may win by CST's face value and her 27 years of presence. But people still need to balance pragmatic needs with emotional support for CST. I see the lost as a gracious retirement for mr and mrs chiam.

Nevertheless, GE2011 is still a victory for our country's democracy process. We can obviously see that within PAP the cracks are showing in the leadership ! *cheers*

I would say that seetoh's patience and hardwork has paid off. For Lina chiam, she may win by CST's face value and her 27 years of presence. But people still need to balance pragmatic needs with emotional support for CST. I see the lost as a gracious retirement for mr and mrs chiam.

Nevertheless, GE2011 is still a victory for our country's democracy process. We can obviously see that within PAP the cracks are showing in the leadership ! *cheers*

second that...to really see the glue in the PAP come apart, the last leaf has to fall

Yes the Sunday Times also reported that the MIW have divsions now. Imagine the conversation that took place between father and son at their comfy landed homes between MM Lee and LHL.

My minister Vivian also said he will work on lesser FTs the next few years but suddenly Lim Hng Kiang said the flow of FTs will continue unabated the nest few years..so really confused who to believe within their party. No common agenda or forceful commander in charge.

I just came back from a driver-thru Potong Pasir. I've stayed in that estate for 10 years in the 80's thru 90's. It's a very cosy 'island' and no different from many of the HDB estates around the country. It's got a kopitiams, CC, open space with fields, nurseries, a JC, good amenities, and it's clean and green. So at least superficially I would say, as well run as any PAP-held constituency.

So it's a bit sad and disappointing for me personally that there's not more support given to Mrs Chiam this GE. And Mr Chiam didn't 'abandon' PP residents for greater glory, so yes, this tie round I'm indeed disappointed with the voters in PP.

i'm happy wif the break thru but also a tad disappointed by the results of pp and mp. i did my part but its a pity i dun stay around there. hope better results next 5 yrs. but then again, how many 5 yrs do we haf? sigh.

Come one lah..PP lost by 114 votes...that sitoh win is pure luck lah...

Come on lah,lost by 1 vote or 1000 votes still consider lose leh.How does luck comes to play?u think buy 4d arh

Anyway,like one bro said,seetoh did his work there for the past 10 years even though he lost 2 GE.Credit muz be given when due,and accept defeat in gracious manner,then only we can move forward.We muz repect the majorities in PP.Its their choices.

Yes the Sunday Times also reported that the MIW have divsions now. Imagine the conversation that took place between father and son at their comfy landed homes between MM Lee and LHL.

My minister Vivian also said he will work on lesser FTs the next few years but suddenly Lim Hng Kiang said the flow of FTs will continue unabated the nest few years..so really confused who to believe within their party. No common agenda or forceful commander in charge.

they can go face to face and slap each other silly.

Lets give credit to seetoh..

If upgrading is the carrot, it would have worked 2 elections ago

He rejected to go to a grc as he only want to serve pp people

He requested pap to let him contest the elections his way

Cst and mrs chiam are worlds apart

My only concern is the chiams may have lost their livelihood...

Come one lah..PP lost by 114 votes...that sitoh win is pure luck lah...

If luck, toss coin can liao... Y waste time and money to vote?

I just came back from a driver-thru Potong Pasir. I've stayed in that estate for 10 years in the 80's thru 90's. It's a very cosy 'island' and no different from many of the HDB estates around the country. It's got a kopitiams, CC, open space with fields, nurseries, a JC, good amenities, and it's clean and green. So at least superficially I would say, as well run as any PAP-held constituency.

So it's a bit sad and disappointing for me personally that there's not more support given to Mrs Chiam this GE. And Mr Chiam didn't 'abandon' PP residents for greater glory, so yes, this tie round I'm indeed disappointed with the voters in PP.

Based on sentiment on the ground, would it be possible that he was persuaded to step out of his comfort zone too?

Believe pp would still be his if he had remained

Lets give credit to seetoh..

If upgrading is the carrot, it would have worked 2 elections ago

He rejected to go to a grc as he only want to serve pp people

He requested pap to let him contest the elections his way

Cst and mrs chiam are worlds apart

My only concern is the chiams may have lost their livelihood...

why lost livelihood? Chiam is a 6 time MP right? He also should get the pension that all MPs supposed to get right - 2/3 last drawn pay. If MP now earn $200K pa. He should be seeing at least $120K p.a. in pension. So I think should be ok to survive la.

Like that ar? More than enough liao.... Can donate some to me liao... Lol