1 step forward, a dozen backwards

So_nice

I thought the lift upgrading already a go ahead?? It was already a go ahead before the elections. Seriously ,those who never stay in Hougang and PP should go walk around the town and see how the estate is. Its nothing like what PAP has been saying. And you have to live here to actually know the pros and cons better.

i stayed in Hougang for a while... under Mr Low... got lift upgrades yes... it is not like what pap is saying correct...

Come one lah..PP lost by 114 votes...that sitoh win is pure luck lah...

There are more spoiled votes than this margin. Did people really draw a tortise or Batman instead of the simple X? Who audits the counting?

I find it a wonder that the government uses upgrading as a threat/carrot when the money used for the upgrading belongs to the citizen.

I agree, whatever is coming, 60.1% of Singaporeans voted it. So cannot complain.

yes 60% voted it... in a GRC board game kinda way... if all constituencies were SMCs... surely the results would be different?... :D

There are more spoiled votes than this margin. Did people really draw a tortise or Batman instead of the simple X? Who audits the counting?

maybe some thought 'X' is to vote them out and crossed the wrong box.

should have changed to a tick.

I find it a wonder that the government uses upgrading as a threat/carrot when the money used for the upgrading belongs to the citizen.

they deems that those staying in opp wards don't pay tax?

so always the last or maybe none LUP for them.

it's such carrot like LUP and what offset package that makes people du lan especially to those of younger generation.

give $1 and take back $10. [furious]

Yup, go ahead, brought by Sitoh claiming credit. My In-laws voted yes for the lift.. So you know the old folks, what matters..

my parents and grandparents lived in AMK under PM lee... after many many years of delays... lift upgrades came after BOTH my grandparents became wheelchair bounded... and after they died...

so what should my parents/grandparents have done?... vote opposition cause they didnt get any upgrades?...

CASTING A VOTE IS TO DETERMINE WHO WILL BE THE GOVERNMENT OR WHOSE VOICE WILL BE HEARD IN PARLIMENT... NOT BECAUSE YOU WANT A LIFT UPGRADE?.... OMG...

i'm sure heaven got eye..but i dunno abt some fellow singaporeans.

however i'll keep the faith. i might consider to volunteer to help out the opp next term.

i and my ex-wife emailed wp to volunteer... but there had too much help liao... [laugh]

For the first time ever, they can field 2 shifts of polling agents.

as they expand they need help. can even consider SPP if mr chiam is still ard in the political scene! :D

Why? Without RP, AMK GRC people will be like TP GRC, no chance to vote.

I feel whatever the results, all the different parties have put in the effort to give people a chance to exercise their right. [thumbsup]

So sad that the one team was late by 35 sec. Effort not good enough.

yes agree...

and i dont hate Kenneth... just that i expect more of him like his dad... Kenneth is not as impactful as his dad... needs to brush up alot...

and the 35sec late thing... i dont want to say anything about my views... but there are rumours about how it was fixed to not let them run for elections... and the fact was that thewhole them was there on time actually... didnt you watch their clip and comments?...

Sitoh won cause mr chiam left... It was a gamble that ltk n cst took... I succeeded and I fail. Y blame the voters?

why blame the voters?... the voters make or break the decisions mah...

a part of me felt that maybe it was time for Mr Chiam to retire liao...

but a bigger part of me wanted to see bishan toa payoh go to the opposition by a slim margin win... and see what PAP will do for its residents there the next 5 years... then can see SOME MORE unfairness of how Potong pasir and Hougang residents are treated by the pap COMPARED to the Bishan and Toa payoh....

YOUR POST HAS JUST SHOWN EVERYONE HERE WHAT A c--k YOU ARE... VOTE IN FAVOUR OF A BLOODY WALKWAY UPGRADE... YOU GOT BRAINS ANOT?...

THE PAP THREATENS POTONG PASIR THAT IF PAP IS NOT VOTED IN, GET PREPARED FOR POTONG PASIR TO REMIAN WITH NO/LESS UPGRADES... AND EVRYONE IS SCARED... KNN IS THIS FAIR?... IS THIS DEMOCRACY?... THREATENING THE PEOPLE OF POTONG PASIR... AND YOU VOTE FOR THEM?... USELESS PRICK WITH NO BACKBONE...

I DO NOT STAY IN POTONG PASIR NOW... BUT I STUDIED IN ST ANDREWS JR SCHOOL SINCE THE PRE-WAR COMPOUND WAS THERE. I HAVE TONS OF FRIENDS LIVING IN POTONG PASIR... I GREW UP IN POTONG PASIR...

This is uncalled for, but I believed you are sorely.

The blame for no lift upgrade is the PAP playing dirty, not the fault of Chiam.

I don't blame your neighbour, I blame PAP & I have little respect to PM Lee & many of the minister for that matter. No PAP MP also speak up against this idea to link upgrading as a carrot. [thumbsdown]

actually i dont blame the old people of Potong Pasir who voted for pap for upgrading... infact after reading the post and replies here so far... i guess i will never understand the people of potong pasir who voted for the pap... i have watched some you tube clips of the residents of Potong pasir being interviewed... and some did express their wants of a 'better' neighbourhood... so i guess they hv their reasons...

but i dare say that if i did live in potong pasir, the more i get threatened... the more i will get extremly pissed and not vote for pap... guess we could go on giving all our view forever... but at the end of the day its the people living there hving the final choice... just feel sad for Mr Chiam... maybe i'm taking it too personal....

maybe some thought 'X' is to vote them out and crossed the wrong box.

should have changed to a tick.

tick means - yes/agree/want/allow

cross means - no/wrong/dont want

so maybe this will cause confusion for the not so educated old folks...

stupid if you asked me... why cant we tick?... or circle the best... wtf sia?....

I'm curious why you are always defending pap. Especially when you said

"I can think of many reasons not to vote for pap but I can't think of a single reason to vote for the opposition"

that single reason would be democracy. cos if that fails, we're doomed. not now, but surely in the future.

For the first time ever, they can field 2 shifts of polling agents.

yah lor... over whelming response... haha... [laugh]

I would say that seetoh's patience and hardwork has paid off. For Lina chiam, she may win by CST's face value and her 27 years of presence. But people still need to balance pragmatic needs with emotional support for CST. I see the lost as a gracious retirement for mr and mrs chiam.

Nevertheless, GE2011 is still a victory for our country's democracy process. We can obviously see that within PAP the cracks are showing in the leadership ! *cheers*

on the lighter side:- in a commercial world where dog-eat-dog is common place, when we see signs of cracks in our competitors' organisation, die die must capitalise on such a weakness and exert external pressures to make the internal cracks grow big time........ any strategist here to give some advice please?