Manager $6000/mth, reasonable?

Quantum

in some industry, a manager with Business Deg from Local u with around 10 yrs experience only fetching 4k to 5k only... but of course, some industry is paying more than double... for a manufacturing industry, i think 6K is a bit high for a Dip holder with 12yrs experience..

he got a postgraduate diploma, not a plain diploma..

iF you work in PAP GLC (Govt Linked Company) or TLC (Temasick Linked Company) AND you know some Lees, same qualifications gets you 10x that amount.

If you work in the private sector, same kinda qualifications gets u $3-4k max....

ITS WHO U KNOW AND WHERE U WORK, NOT WHAT YOU ACTUALLY CAN DO that makes the mega bucks....here in sinkieland

Cadidate particular:

Education: Postgraduate diploma from NUS

Experience: 12 years

Expertise: Control & Automation (advanced in PLC, DCS, SCADA, Instrumentation plus intermediate electrical panel design)

Nationality: Singapore PR

Ind Area: HVAC, Water treatment, food/beverage, marine, transport, pharmaceutical etc, except Oil&Gas.

Requested pay: S$6000/mth

but no one wanted to offer this pay [:(]

based on current market rate, kindly advise what is the reasonable pay for this position?

:D:D

iF you work in PAP GLC (Govt Linked Company) or TLC (Temasick Linked Company) AND you know some Lees, same qualifications gets you 10x that amount.

If you work in the private sector, same kinda qualifications gets u $3-4k max....

ITS WHO U KNOW AND WHERE U WORK, NOT WHAT YOU ACTUALLY CAN DO that makes the mega bucks....here in sinkieland

Me thinks it's WHO KNOWS YOU...hahah

We may know lao lee and xiao lee, but do they know us?

If they do, easily can get S$15k allowance while do part-time on-the-job training :wacko:

Sadly another colonial mindset. Does it mean that those who built the Great wall of China or Taj Mahal or Ankorwat temple are caucasian or japanese? Why you always think caucasians are superior than your own race? I have seen several ang mos who are not fit for the position but in the position just because they are here to lead their branch or factory. The salaries came down because you manage to get people for lower pay which you used to pay sky and moon if the same thing was done by caucasian.

Relax. Read his post again properly.

His observation of Caucasian/Japanese in the past is just that. An observation. Not an opinion that they are superior.

Similarly, his observation that every "Dick, Tom and Harry" does not specifically refer to any nationality or races. It is just to highlight that it is way too easy to secure PR status nowadays regardless if you are caucasian/japanese/or others.

In the past, FT is really a talent. They are mostly make up of caucasian or Japanese that was posted to Singapore to lead their branch office/factory here.

Nowaday, every Dick, Tom and Harry can be FT easily. As long as they got paper they can apply PR status like a piece of cake. They should not entitle the title of FT as they are competiting with our non high class level local folk for equivalent job here.

Just like how the past COE is established. Bigger CC car produce more contamination than lower CC car. With the improvement of technology, is this the case now?

Just like how the eligibility of purchasing HDB. last time 8k is the cap because our basic salary is lower. Now basic salary is higher, if it is not due to this election, it will still remain as 8k cap.

Really? You say this, I say that, unfortunately no one can prove it.. [laugh]

It is true, according to my Japanese friends. The best ones stay behind in Japan, some may be posted overseas for short stints to gain exposure but anyone who stays more than 2-3 years overseas are probably not the cream of the crop ie. will not be selected for senior office later on. They also dun sent the inferior stuff overseas. I am talking about the bigger bluechip Japanese corporates.

Cadidate particular:

Expertise: Control & Automation (advanced in PLC, DCS, SCADA, Instrumentation plus intermediate electrical panel design)

Ind Area: HVAC, Water treatment, food/beverage, marine, transport, pharmaceutical etc, except Oil&Gas.

based on current market rate, kindly advise what is the reasonable pay for this position?

Postgraduate diploma is a postgraduate qualification awarded typically after a bachelor's degree (just to clarify, some in this forum thinks job seeker is just a diploma holder), a graduate++ drawing $6k a month with 12 years of working experience is pathetic (sorry, no hard feeling), but then manufacturing jobs seldom pay well. Better to change industry if it is not too late.

A fresh graduate in banking now starts off at $4-5k, think about it.

Edited by Voodooman

Cadidate particular:

No mention of any Nobleman Star (if got this, start your own business, since no one likely to be fit to be your Employer alone)

No mention if you intend to neutralised to be citizen and stand as candidiate GE ($15,000/- monthly for new MP)

No mention your achievements/performance/roles in the current/previous industries/appointments

No mention why lethargic (too little information avaialble here) to propose this pay as value-for-money

Many locals twice as expereinced are drawing half that much or unemployed now. What advice can we give you?

i worked in a japanese firm for many years. unless my company is a special japanese firm lo. than again a few of my japanese friends, not from my own firm also same same, they feel promoted when oversea as they get higher pay, all FT allowances and benefits.

They have subordinates in singapore but when go back to japan they becomes other ppls subordinates.

when they go back, they usually sad and all allowances are cut. it can be as much as 40% cut from what they getting if working in singapore.

Edited by Tom_kkh

Very senior engineer in my co is about this pay...

Managers get at least $7K+. We're in electronics mfg...

Which industry are you looking at??

Edited by Karu

A Japanese friend once told me the big corporate like to send managers with potential to overseas to test them. For these managers, they will be happy to return to HO for higher appointment after their tour of duty.

However, if you're of certain age and have been in the HO for long and was suddently posted to overseas, it either means you are going to be retired or you loss your potential. But to some, they may take it as a blessing as they can be more "relaxed". more allowances some more. In their HO, they could be nobody but they can be a head of a overseas subsi or a branch.

Anyway, this is hearsay and surely there is no hard and fast rule in the corporate world.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

This is why u have to aim to retire by 35...once you cross 35, they wlil find people younger and cheaper to replace you...

i thk even the uber rich wont wan to retire at 35...but for the working class yes, they always seek to retire early becos of the burnt out n routinal mundane life.

and u r rite abt the crossing 35...nowadays age really counts agst u, unlike the past.

then got to depend on how "long" you can tahan without $$$.

mid 30s and jobless is very dangerous.

my opinion for your peers is to get a job regardless of salary, gain some experience and move on with life.

this is a scary thot to be honest altho its not news, mid 30s alr facing employability issues.

1 was retrenched and in IT project mgmt, all i heard was this industry is swarmed by FTs, mainly from india.

the other stayed too long in 1 co and speaking w her, gives me the impression that she sorta disconnected fr the current situation. aft 2 months at home buay tahan, took up a recruiter but also gave up aft 3 weeks.

actually pay quite subjective depending on industry la.

my friend oversea degree, 1 step higher than those normal ones, dono wht they call it...

4 years sales experience. got his job in a telcom as sales manager. basic only 3k but plus com, take home average 8k sometimes over 10k.

basic damn low but high com....

my colleague going to be ex soon. also oversea degree with 4 yrs sales expereince. found a new job as a sales manager. basic 6k but no com. transport 1k. total 7k. so which one gets higher "pay" very subjective la.

Edited by Tom_kkh

Cadidate particular:

First of all, what job is this candidate looking for? If I take that he is looking for something he's good at (e.g. Control & Automation), $6K for a manager role sounds reasonable. I have senior managers drawing more than 10K/month [;)] .

Ask the candidate to be patient, it takes time. 6 months to a year is pretty common these days to find a job.

In that case, a job that pays 4k x 12 months x 5 years = 240k with a low risk of being retrenched seems almost the same as a 6k x 12 months x 3.5 years = 252k job (3.5 years, because of two retrenchments in the five years, and nine months to get a new job each time). The latter does have an additional 1.5 years of free time, but it is time filled with anxiety.

i thk even the uber rich wont wan to retire at 35...but for the working class yes, they always seek to retire early becos of the burnt out n routinal mundane life.

and u r rite abt the crossing 35...nowadays age really counts agst u, unlike the past.

ok maybe clarify....retire and be a taxi driver at 35...i guess this is what we shld all aim for...

Average market rate for a manager should be at least $5K to $7K plus if u have at least 10 yrs relevant experience and with a degree. Anything fall below tht, i wld say quite low. Cause i heard even some MNC company can pay around $4K to $5K for an engineer. [:p]

actually pay quite subjective depending on industry la.

my friend oversea degree, 1 step higher than those normal ones, dono wht they call it...

4 years sales experience. got his job in a telcom as sales manager. basic only 3k but plus com, take home average 8k sometimes over 10k.

basic damn low but high com....

my colleague going to be ex soon. also oversea degree with 4 yrs sales expereince. found a new job as a sales manager. basic 6k but no com. transport 1k. total 7k. so which one gets higher "pay" very subjective la.

It is normal for pple who work in sales industry drawing low basic pay, esp if they have comm and others allowance. But the gross they are getting is quite a high amt lo.