Copen 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 For rear wheel drive you counter steer to correct directional issues. But Vios is a FWD car, you DO NOT counter steer to correct control issues. In fact at high speeds, swerving will result in car loosing control. I think a lot of drivers do not really understand their car. Just remember, do not swerve when you are traveling at high speeds. With FWD cars, you need apply brakes then steer, you can't drift a FWD, but you can certainly crash it. I second that! FWD can drift with the right technique. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I second that! FWD can drift with the right technique. er...pulling handbrake not considered drifting hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 er...pulling handbrake not considered drifting hor Not meh? Handbrake skidding? "Whoa!! That was a nice hb skid around the bend bro!!" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 u wanna ride, do it properly do everyone a favor, get a car equipped with ESP for your next new ride, all mig comes standard, bmw/merc/vw Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Speeding at work again. Drive safe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhrisuzu 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 u wanna ride, do it properly do everyone a favor, get a car equipped with ESP for your next new ride, all mig comes standard, bmw/merc/vw from 4min 35sec onwards.. should take due consideration when driving past stationary vehicles.. the baby pram imagine got ESP, but driver still KK type.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Author Share May 25, 2011 Not meh? Handbrake skidding? "Whoa!! That was a nice hb skid around the bend bro!!" waliao... your avatar.. sibei distracting leh.. no wonder car can skid and rollover so many times.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Why so eager for press interview? Insurqnce may pick up statement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Not meh? Handbrake skidding? "Whoa!! That was a nice hb skid around the bend bro!!" Wah lau eeehh! Ripe for the plucking? 1 kilo how much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 If foot brake is not working, I will just pull handbrake and disengage engine. Regards, Actually shouldn't do it... Cos the person is travelling at quite high speed (i suspect is 90-100km/h) Somemore she is changing lanes... If pull handbrake....cfm will "drift" liao... lagi worse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Copen 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 er...pulling handbrake not considered drifting hor Yeah I know. FWD drifting is a totally different thing. There are few videos online by Ken Nomura FWD drifting, you can check them out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 If the car has ABS but the driver doesn't know how to use it correctly, then it's as good as having no ABS. Maybe she didn't keep her foot firmly pressed on the brake pedal all the while? (see link on ABS at http://www.nhtsa.gov/cars/problems/equipment/absbrakes.html) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 Ya if only every driver in singapore practise that safe driving, less of weird accident will not occur already. Some driver just need to have major accident than can learn, some ? no hope already.. no matter how many major accident also never learn, some worst do not understand how to handle the car at all. Try telling it to Tonyng and this idiot will reply by saying it's not practical. This idoit says it will slam the brakes in front of the person who drives safe in front of its car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A5SB 1st Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 I second that! FWD can drift with the right technique. What she had was not drifting, it's out of control. It's much harder to actually drift with FWD as you need to pull handbrake at the right time and steer. Nothing like how RWD works. Anyway she fits my mental profile of a kayu driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 What she had was not drifting, it's out of control. It's much harder to actually drift with FWD as you need to pull handbrake at the right time and steer. Nothing like how RWD works. Anyway she fits my mental profile of a kayu driver. haha [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear May 25, 2011 Share May 25, 2011 The road looks dry. Unless there is a oil spot on the road... No farking way a ahmah can cause a car to drift!! Even if traveling at 100km.hr.....also not likely to drift. The excuse of going to 2nd lane from 1st lane, and then swerve back to 1st lane to avoid a car in 2nd lane is a Joke! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JoaC5teR Neutral Newbie May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 According to STOMP, the driver was distracted by a dog in the car.. http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/stomp/sg...ent_on_pie.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched May 26, 2011 Share May 26, 2011 She said that while changing lanes, she swerved sharply to the right to avoid hitting a car in the middle lane. "I tried to turn to the right where there were no cars, but it was as though the carhad amindof its own. "When I turned the steering wheel towards the right, the car turned left instead." The 1st photo shows that she turned right, and crashed into the road divider, no? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...