Headlights turn yellowish

Tleslie

i also curious why:

1. Jap cars most prone to this, and very obvious. I think mine around 6-7 year old that time, already started to lose its shine and started 'yellowing'...
  2. even korean cars not so jialat as Jap...
  3. contis don't seem to be affected much, unless maybe like min 13-15 year old...

There is a chemical selling at Autobac and NTUC (AMK Hub). Small bottle (about 70ml) and just apply onto the headlights, wait for 1 minutes and then polish it off.

Very effective. Forgot the brand name.  I used it before on my Picnic and Corolla

Go to the car care section under 'polish' and less than $15/- :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

Older car will house have this and it makes the car looks very old. Anyway to clean it off other than replacement?

turtle-wax-headlight-lens-restorer-kit.j

i brought this at caltex, not bad. 

got a clear coat at the end also

i also curious why:

1. Jap cars most prone to this, and very obvious. I think mine around 6-7 year old that time, already started to lose its shine and started 'yellowing'...
  3. contis don't seem to be affected much, unless maybe like min 13-15 year old...

I think Japanese car makers expect their customers to change new car every 5 years hence no need to spend so much on headlights. Can cut cost. [laugh]

Japs jin rich... cannot expect whole world think like this leh. Esp in our case, still got COE...   [sweatdrop]

so i live with the yellowish headlight lor [bigcry]  

i also curious why:

Plastics will degrade with long term UV exposure.

I think either the car is park outdoors most of the time or the protective coating used on the plastics is different.

I was introduced to this shop

http://www.drglass.com.sg/home

But never used their services before..

so cant vouch for the quality of work there..

ahh . . . Thanks bro. I go look look  [thumbsup]

I think either the car is park outdoors most of the time or the protective coating used on the plastics is different.

a few layers of clear coat does help  [:)]

Ohh sorry, must get those with UV protection ones

Edited by Count-Bracula

ahh . . . Thanks bro. I go look look  [thumbsup]

a few layers of clear coat does help  [:)]

Ohh sorry, must get those with UV protection ones

Another way is to wax the headlights at the same time while waxing the car. Most wax/sealants have some protection against UV rays.

Hmm.... think i forgot to wax my headlights...

IMHO, it is the plastics used.

My previous car,  original from new, within 3 years, turn yellowish.

The replacement, same usage,  7 years no issue. 

At the service centre,  I pointed to the service advisor -   the headlights on an older car looks so much better than mine despite mine being "newer" based on license plate. 

Toothpaste is good for a simple restoration. Use a sealant after that for UV resistance.

Can use the liquid wax to protect the headlights from becoming yellow?

Any products to recommend?

If you use a plastic polish, normally they are polish & protect however if you use those toothpaste method, you need to apply something on. Best is check out the label on the wax products and see if it suitable to use on plastic etc.