What wrong with MOE???

Ask98

Wayang one la.

Last time my class also had a duty roster but no one follows it except the poor sap who has to clean the blackboard because the teacher would be right there.

I never get this lousy job because I learned from my buddy who told me to declare that we are allergic to chalk.

Nowadays teachers, principles, directors, ministers can come and go within a couple of years. What does it say?

Organisations too top heavy these days. And all these jiak liao bee people whose role has nothing concerning teaching have nothing better to do.

nowadays, there are 3 to 4 VPs in many schools, then another 2 councilors

now they even wanna add in another psychiatrist, then mentalist and so on . . . .

teachers these days only teach intro and leave the main contents to home tuitions

they even masterminded spams across all levels by insisting communications with students via whatapps, as if all students must own smartphones to survive nowadays!!!!

MOE is now injecting more virus by blinding all parents, instead of going for the cure

and this edu minister ng cs even facilitated bandwidth into PSLE scores to blurr all ppl by building bureaucracies instead of transparency

wtf is has our gahmen become today?

totally clueless and directionless

its getting hopeless . . . . . .

I was looking at the Linkedin profiles.  Quite a few VP (admin) are ex-lieutenant colonels.

一介武夫, how much do they know about the education industry?

I am posting this at 6.30 am only because school starts at 7.20. That's the one thing that screams out for a change and nothing is happening #%^**~

there was a time when much hype given to parents about "bullying" teachers and complaining MOE . . . .

but these days, it is the MOE that is now building bureaucracy to block & blind the public and all parents

every contact you make into MOE will be automatically replied, claiming response within 3 days!

every call you make into MOE will be replied by pretensive response claiming feedback/update within 2 weeks.

but they will either ignore you or block you from further queries!

dun believe? try it yourself......

teachers play politics to survive, newbies left with estranged dreams of being true educators

school established its individual performances, so-called meeting KPI and not excelling in better teachings

pointless gahmen public agencies setup one after another just to make their existences out of taxpayers' $, serving no purposes

useless keyroles built into public units like town councils, schools & institutions doing nothing but wayangs and more wayangs!

lky's name being ruined by his son - this is such common discussions al around asia these days!

:TT_TT:

MOE to train student groups in all schools to spot distress in their peers

Dhany Osman Yahoo News Singapore 7 March 2017

The Ministry of Education (MOE) will train a core group of students in each school to help them identify signs of distress in their peers and offer basic social and emotional support starting from this year, said Minister of State for Education Janil Putucheary in Parliament on Tuesday (7 March).

These peer supporters can raise awareness of mental health issues among their fellow students and help engender a “culture of support and resilience”, wherein students are willing to seek help, he added.

Such training and experience will also offer a “unique development opportunity” for the students involved to hone their empathetic listening, interpersonal and communication skills.

Putucheary was responding to a question from Tampines GRC MP Cheng Li Hui on MOE’s involvement in NurtureSG and its ongoing efforts “to build healthy bodies and healthy minds” during the Committee of Supply (COS) debate on the ministry’s 2017 Budget.

Announced during the MOE’s 2016 COS debate, NurtureSG is a plan for enhancing health outcomes among Singapore’s youth and is jointly led by Putucheary as well as Minister of State for Health Lam Pin Min.

Touching on how older students in particular play a vital role in fostering a caring and supportive school environment, Putucheary pointed to how some schools have already taken the lead in developing and strengthening their own peer support networks.

“We hope to build on this good work and establish the practice across our school system,” he said.

Acknowledging that there is no single solution to the underlying problem behind mental health issues, Putucheary said that one of the NurtureSG taskforce’s recommendations would be to set up an interagency work group on youth suicide.

The group will be led by Professor Daniel Fung of the Institute of Mental Health, he said, adding that he is confident that its findings will be “instructive”.

what the hell is going on inside MOE these days since this ng cs becomes the edu minister !!!

[hur] :a-bang:[crazy][grin][confused]

Halo MOE, distress among students not ok. Distress among teachers ok wor.

Organisations too top heavy these days. And all these jiak liao bee people whose role has nothing concerning teaching have nothing better to do.

not only this, they even wanna balance the whole entire organisations by beefing heavier tops with steamlining a bottom support

good examples:

each and every top leadership role is being doubled and multiplied

but every executor roles are being sandwiched by more commands from more nato!

finance, trade, education and even arts, sports & councils ........ are these are not led by 1 but 2 ministers !!!

and below them another multipliers of 2 each in each and every functioning departments . . . .

this is the kind of gahmen we have these days......

those 70% voted . . .  happy now?

:nosebleed:

Edited by A_korusawa

Frankly as a father of a school going kid, and sac member of a neighborhood school, I didn't think it's all that bad with MOE since Heng and now Ng.

The world is changing and there is at least a keen awareness at MOE and compare to last time, the system, thinking, opportunities have really changed a lot.

I don't think you can change education that fast as too many stakeholders but you can't standstill. And today I see all these IB IP DSA poly ite going uni, 4 unis, overseas school trips, sport schools as good things, things I didn't have during my time...

Ng cs to me have tried to move things in generally the right direction

not only this, they even wanna balance the whole entire organisations by beefing heavier tops with steamlining a bottom support

good examples:

finance, trade, education and even arts, sports & councils ........ are these are not led by 1 but 2 ministers !!!

and below them another multipliers of 2 each in each and every functioning departments . . . .

complainz c complainz.. not need to bleed nose.. see dr not cheap.. relex bro relex

good examples:

A gentleman in 1976 said something about "Parkinson's Law". 

http://www.nas.gov.sg/archivesonline/data/pdfdoc/lky19760316a.pdf

good examples:

no wonder someone stated in an interview that there were just too many eunuchs around.  [lipsrsealed]

My own organisation is top heavy.

But please don't get rid of the heavies on top.

I will lose my job. Who is going to feed my kids?

Top heavy is good means we are all chiefs

as no one wants to be the worker doing all

the work. To be honest especially not me.  [thumbsup]

My own organisation is top heavy.

But please don't get rid of the heavies on top.

I will lose my job. Who is going to feed my kids?

Top heavy is good means we are all chiefs

as no one wants to be the worker doing all

the work. To be honest especially not me.  [thumbsup]

thought you claim you are middle management?

Yes I am middle management.

The top end of the middle bit.  [thumbsup]

we are looking for a perfect education system, that is the problem. every change in minister, he will implement changes to outdo his predecessor.

if we could just accept and work around it by ensuring all schools are equal and same, then education care progress for the sake of the nation.