Ranger course

Vega

US Rangers operate as a unit and normally deployed as shock troops machiam our Guards.

They are lightly-armed and supposed to be air-dropped onto or amphi-assault a strategic location until the regular heavy forces arrive.

Until then they often have to fight bitterly and resist the opposing forces with anything on their backs.

i had one of my last reservist courses with nsf guards in recent years like abt 4 years back.they seems like getting very sloppy.now still can consider elite ah?

Edited by Unidentified

i had one of my last reservist courses with nsf guards in recent years like abt 4 years back.they seems like getting very sloppy.now still can consider elite ah?

cdo elite of the army whereas guards elite of the infantry...

sof?

elite of the saf?

Amphibious beachheads are still a thing of the present. OTH assaults are still very much on the cards.

However large scale static line jumps are probably out.

OTH assaults are like pushing people out to get gunned down by MGs.

cdo elite of the army whereas guards elite of the infantry...

sof?

elite of the saf?

SOF = elite of the elites

WHO DARES WIN!

Edited by Unidentified

OTH assaults are like pushing people out to get gunned down by MGs.

No la. The USMC was pushing the EFV previously but that has been cancelled.

Now they are focusing on LCAC transports and they can push Abrams out so easily. [laugh]

Plus of course they have the V-22 Ospreys being operational and F-35B STOVLs coming online soon. All of these will help temper the resolve of the enemy

Have u taken both courses before ? Or taken the Singapore ranger course ?

heya.

from what i've heard from my bde encik who was MWO Cdo and another friend who is currently in the SOF,

the local ranger course is more physically demanding as compared to the US ranger course

but the US ranger course is more mentally demanding as compared to the local one.

both has its tough parts, so you cannot just say local one is lousy.

but my SOF friend said, when they go for overseas courses ( like these kind of courses), the singapore guys are under a lot of pressure to out perform the ang mos in certain areas ( ie physical fitness etc etc) cos if not, the ang mos will look down on you.

But one thing i must say, all these SOF guys i know, they are not big size, twa jiak. They are very lean and " normal" looking, not like super hunky hunky with big muscles.

Cheers!

heya.

from what i've heard from my bde encik who was MWO Cdo and another friend who is currently in the SOF,

the local ranger course is more physically demanding as compared to the US ranger course

but the US ranger course is more mentally demanding as compared to the local one.

both has its tough parts, so you cannot just say local one is lousy.

but my SOF friend said, when they go for overseas courses ( like these kind of courses), the singapore guys are under a lot of pressure to out perform the ang mos in certain areas ( ie physical fitness etc etc) cos if not, the ang mos will look down on you.

But one thing i must say, all these SOF guys i know, they are not big size, twa jiak. They are very lean and " normal" looking, not like super hunky hunky with big muscles.

Cheers!

funny enough ive seen some look buibui one leh not buff [laugh]

alamak u so slow. COL Ishak became BG Ishak and then left for STE i think

No la... I googled for CDO, not Ishak... Juz copy and paste title nia...

alamak u so slow. COL Ishak became BG Ishak and then left for STE i think

No la... I googled for CDO, not Ishak... Juz copy and paste title nia...

Gym is a culture in the US army, a lot of their special forces guys workout regularly. Obviously, there are those who do not, and I guess your friend is one of those. As for meat eating, it's also an american thing i guess, and importantly, something that I think is very lacking in our SFI food. Meat should form a large part of our diet, asians or americans.

Meat? Later in life get heart attack! [laugh] Maybe, genetically we're not suited to eating too much meat...

Anyway, OT a bit, shaolin monk don't eat meat, but still good fighter! [laugh]

Meat? Later in life get heart attack! [laugh] Maybe, genetically we're not suited to eating too much meat...

Anyway, OT a bit, shaolin monk don't eat meat, but still good fighter! [laugh]

I am not saying the shaolin monk do but if you stew the bones and the meat over a slow fire for a loooooooooooooooooong time, the meat is not nutritious anymore.

allow me to add on abit, nsf time during 02-04, serving in infantry, my CO manage to organise for a grp of us to go for ranger course selection. i attended the trial, before tt i remember need go for medical/dental check up, remember more on dental as the dentist spotted my wisdom tooth and i had it remove shortyly afterwards.

the trial if i remember correctly, 50 push ups, 10 pull ups hmm cant remember still got others anot cos this 2 hardest for me, i failed here, so nv proceed to the last stage, 5km in 25mins. only 1 of us manage to pass tt and qualified. another thing i can remember, one guardsmen collapse and up lorry after the run on the same trial run.

HOWEVER, after awhile, i not sure whats the official reason, he was rejected to the course thus nv attend it after all he went thru, (think my CO power not enough maybe). tt was in ard yr 03 or 04? so i dunno now nsf can go for ranger course le anot.

my unit is infantry but...

CO-cdo SOF LTC LST

RSM- cdo SOF MWO PNY

one of the OC- cdo SOF LTA forget name le

one of the csm-cdo SOF Navy Seal 1WO DF

(all rank as of then)

when i first posted in after sispec nb cultural shock loh

It 03.

2 Pass Selection. 1 stay for aweek. 1 pass thru phase1.

Oc now a Major TanPT

my friend who pass out from both.....

if let him choose between SOF hell week or Ranger Course

He rather choose hell week.... he say Ranger course is drag ass suffering..... lol

told u his PT is sibei hardcore [laugh]

very true, his diver leg kicks counting is 1231, 1232, 1233 is count till 50..so each leg is 100 and jumping jack too.