Sabbie Clutched December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 i am on lookout for undertaker job,you got lobang? i want to drive a porsche like you. You need a few Masters Degree my boy ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 What are you suggesting? A communist revolution? From each according to his ability to each according to his WANTS? You say gahmen this gahmen that. But at the end you still expect gahmen give to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 I certainly think so. Between a somebody with some kind of status & a nobody's ranting, which do u think ppl will take notice? Why can't ppl see it as his opinion? The value of a person's opinion lies in the contents/substance of the opinion and not the status of the person. His status can only go so far as to 'grab' the readers' attention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 (edited) What is also true is that a rich person can drive only one car at a time, so the second car is kept at home, and is not out on the streets causing pollution. And that is the third benefit: fewer cars, less pollution. The above is not true. The 2nd car is normally driven by his wife, his kids or his mistress. Edited December 9, 2011 by Icedbs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Actually. Farmers are rich if they own the resources of their business. In the next few decades, farmers will become even richer as world food supply dwindles and demand shoots up. Wasnt my farm or even my direct family's. Wasnt even in Singapore. I remember I only ate egg and chicken once a year even though there were so many chickens. Not to mention how we were all beaten and everything. My mother died when I was a baby and my father was a gambling addict whom we only saw once or twice a year. We were in malaysia and he would be in singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trebuchet Neutral Newbie December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/...ry_742941.html AS ITS designation states, the certificate of entitlement (COE) is an entitlement and assumes that as every person feels he is entitled to it, a price must be levied to show that one truly needs it ('COE domination by high-end marque buyers an unhealthy trend' by Mr Johnnie Chia; Wednesday). The price is levied not to bestow any sense of entitlement but to control the number of cars allowed on the road. "certificiate of entitlement" is just what they chose to call it, they can easily call it COV which is just the same thing. In a meritocracy like Singapore, one earns more if one works harder and smarter than the other person. If an average-income earner wants a car badly, he will have to lift himself to a higher income bracket by working harder or smarter. That is the COE's first benefit: as a spur to improving one's lot in order to secure a car. Except for all those rich geen na's who have a car coz daddy bought for them I suppose! Except for the peak-hour crunch, public transport is first-class. Without the COE, the roads would be clogged, and this is the COE's second benefit: freeing roads for efficient public transport commuting. The roads are still clogged. Public transport is not first-class. Peak-hour crunch is now all day long re:taxi surcharges. But then again, taxis are not considered public transport What is also true is that a rich person can drive only one car at a time, so the second car is kept at home, and is not out on the streets causing pollution. RE: geen nas driving daddy's car(s). Sometimes you also see maids driving the spare car. And that is the third benefit: fewer cars, less pollution. How does this rank in Singapore? They don't even care about being green leh. Fewer cars on the road is not equal to fewer cars in Singapore overall. Plus, with these supercars, there will still be more pollution when they are run. Regardless of whether the cars are bought as daily drivers or as garage-queens, just turning over the engine for a 1 hour run a day may blow more CO2 than a daily b&B car. Furthermore, the wealthy person pays a hefty premium to own a car he keeps in his garage and we should be thankful for his tax contribution: It helps pay for public conveniences. Are taxes that progressive in Singapore? The average income-earner pays tax too. The average wage-earner ALSO pays a hefty premium to own a car that he drives daily. The wealthy person should be grateful for our collective tax contributions: it pays for your private conveniences. Anyway, to Lawrence : Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 (edited) http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/...ry_742941.html ... In a meritocracy like Singapore, one earns more if one works harder and smarter than the other person. If an average-income earner wants a car badly, he will have to lift himself to a higher income bracket by working harder or smarter. That is the COE's first benefit: as a spur to improving one's lot in order to secure a car. ... First statement: That's NOT necessarily true... In recent years, the "meritocracy" tag is slowly being eroded as class divisions are gradually becoming more and more entrenched, not sure if you agree...? Anyway, just take a look at the education system now, where rich people can better afford to send their kids to the best schools, and provide the necessary enrichment. Poor? No matter work how hard or how smart also will at the most become an average income earner only... Second statement: I don't think when the authorities created the COE, that this thought ever crossed their mind. This forum letter writer certainly has quite an imagination! Edited December 9, 2011 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 "...and pay the salaries of his average-income employees." This is actually uncalled for Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR78 Neutral Newbie December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Read my post again carefully before you reply. I merely stated an observation about human nature, about how humans react when their survival is threatened. Nowhere did I suggest staging a communist revolution. Do you know that the PAP is defines as a "democratic socialist" party? From each according to his ability to each according to his WANTS? Do you even understand what you wrote?? When did I ask the government to provide for my "wants"? Is simple affordable public housing considered a "want"? But at the end you still expect gahmen give to you. Never accuse me of expecting anything from this government. I have long learnt to strive on my own, I only hope the "gahmen" do not give me more backstabbing Foreign Trash to fight for my livelihood that is all I ask for. Those Who Do Not Learn From History Are Doomed to Repeat It. What are you suggesting? A communist revolution? From each according to his ability to each according to his WANTS? You say gahmen this gahmen that. But at the end you still expect gahmen give to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Dont take it personally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 Wasnt my farm or even my direct family's. Wasnt even in Singapore. I remember I only ate egg and chicken once a year even though there were so many chickens. Not to mention how we were all beaten and everything. My mother died when I was a baby and my father was a gambling addict whom we only saw once or twice a year. We were in malaysia and he would be in singapore You must be the father posting this right? I mean you're not the son as you 2 used the same acct... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 You must be the father posting this right? I mean you're not the son as you 2 used the same acct... ya la of course la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 i also suspect SUCK ON IT! Next election msg. Cannot use this term too loosely. Evokes too much emotion from the guys here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/...ry_742941.html AS ITS designation states, the certificate of entitlement (COE) is an entitlement and assumes that as every person feels he is entitled to it, a price must be levied to show that one truly needs it ('COE domination by high-end marque buyers an unhealthy trend' by Mr Johnnie Chia; Wednesday). In a meritocracy like Singapore, one earns more if one works harder and smarter than the other person. If an average-income earner wants a car badly, he will have to lift himself to a higher income bracket by working harder or smarter. That is the COE's first benefit: as a spur to improving one's lot in order to secure a car. Except for the peak-hour crunch, public transport is first-class. Without the COE, the roads would be clogged, and this is the COE's second benefit: freeing roads for efficient public transport commuting. Mr Chia laments that stiff COE prices favour the wealthy, who can afford to buy more than one car. What is also true is that a rich person can drive only one car at a time, so the second car is kept at home, and is not out on the streets causing pollution. And that is the third benefit: fewer cars, less pollution. Furthermore, the wealthy person pays a hefty premium to own a car he keeps in his garage and we should be thankful for his tax contribution: It helps pay for public conveniences. My point is, one should always consider both sides of an issue. When a person is wealthy and drives a Ferrari and is busy forging deals, he will be only too happy to have an Electronic Road Pricing system in place, so he can zip around and close another productive deal - and pay the salaries of his average-income employees. That's life. Lawrence Lee Director Mag-E group of companies ---------------------- Wow...even though i have to admit there is certainly an element of truth in his statements but the arrogrance in his tone.... haha... good one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gukubird Neutral Newbie December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 but what the use of hiring someone siting in office not doing what he is suppose to do? I dun need staff surfing MCF than I might as will cut him/her instant productivity P/L up for company since his production is ZERO Is it possible to share the nature of your job/business? How would you measure productivity? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 ya la of course la I remembered that you were injured in an accident. So how's things going with the case? Hope that you've recover well.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 "...and pay the salaries of his average-income employees." This is actually uncalled for still a fact isn't it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 9, 2011 Share December 9, 2011 If the govt wants to carry on with rising COEs, fine. But do have a scheme to subsidise those who really really need cars, like the handicapped. After all if we can set aside handicapped lots for them and build handicap friendly buildings, it is not a big issue to provide the handicapped with COE subsidies. People do not choose to be handicapped, but people can choose not to have 6 kids or travelling sales jobs. pls note that the raising of COE is not controlled by the gov. its due to greedy car agents who wants to secure deals, hence jack up the COE till such prices. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...