Kezg1 5th Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 My new flat also like that. Shift in 2 yrs ago, ceiling and wall start to leak when heavy rain, wall cracking etc. HDB send their contractor who build the flat to fix everything, now no more leak. I ask them why so lousy, why so many crack and water leaking in every room when rain, they say its becoz nowadays new flat was build using pre fab, very easy to have leak and crack unlike the olden days HDB flat. Den i saw his file, damn so many similar cases in my block and the blocks around me with leaking problem. He even tell me if spore got earthquake, all these flats will crumbling down for sure. Except the CD house shelter, will still be hanging...I guessed ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Yup. He say its not abt the workmanship of his company etc, its becoz of the type of material use for the flat. He is very frank, tell me using such building material is very fast and easy to build and its very light, can create nice design for the flat but its not as durable. Hence a small earthquake, such building cannot tahan the tremor. He even tell me such building, China govt will not allow to be build as they cannot stand a slight tremor from the earthquake. Sound scary, luckily spore no earthquake. for the good of millions sinkie lives at stake.please expose this to the relevant authorities and news. if not don't tell me that HDB actually condone the use of such inferior materials???????? WE DEMAND AN ANSWER FROM HDB AND WE WANT IT RIGHT NOW! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace Clutched January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Except the CD house shelter, will still be hanging...I guessed maybe that y they build a bomb shelter in the first place. when earth quake come, everyone suppose to take cover in the bomb shelter............ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unidentified 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 maybe that y they build a bomb shelter in the first place. when earth quake come, everyone suppose to take cover in the bomb shelter............ sorry hor,bomb shelter is a millions dollars revenue generating for hdb ok. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 (edited) Imagine spending almost 270k for a 3-room unit, excluding reno and furniture & stuff, you kena a lemon flat... New flat: Problems, problems, problems Published on Jan 4, 2012 How can a brand new flat have such problems within such a short period, especially when it was not a cheap three-roomer at $268,000. Brand new flat @ Bendemeer Road, only 268k is super cheap lor... where got expensive..MP will say.. if you can only afford hdb, then you have to live with hdb standard lor. And the country is selling to you at a loss. Edited January 4, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Bomb shelter is meant for hand grenade only. If M2O3 or mortar, doubt it can withstand the blowout. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Bomb shelter is protection against bomb only.............any other things happen ................sorry not in the list hor............ [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 wow.HDB flats would crumble in event of earthquake! this must be a national news man!which developer said one ah? now hdb so fxcking expensive and SMALL and worse they even used sub standard materials compared to CHEAP,BIGGER and BETTER BUILT hdb flats back then!!! we demand an explanation from HDB! PTE housing for FTs,FLATS for sinkies! U want Hdb flat to be able to withstand earrhquick? Prepare 1mil for a 3rm flat lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrathchild156 2nd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 for the good of millions sinkie lives at stake.please expose this to the relevant authorities and news. if not don't tell me that HDB actually condone the use of such inferior materials???????? WE DEMAND AN ANSWER FROM HDB AND WE WANT IT RIGHT NOW! HMA - Honest Mistake Act.. Will form an inquiry panel....ppl from HDB itself Then we wait lor... and pray no flats collapse... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Unlike old flats, these days they build it up like Lego. Cheaper & Faster but is it better? No need to worry about that. Ah Lim already said not only do cheaper, faster but also betterest Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Imagine spending almost 270k for a 3-room unit, excluding reno and furniture & stuff, you kena a lemon flat... From ST Forum: http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Story/...ory_751520.html New flat: Problems, problems, problems Published on Jan 4, 2012 lemme guess.....it's a DBSS flat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Do they still build 3 room flat nowadays ? Punggol plenty of new 2rooms (opposite SPC) and 3rooms (near the MRT) NEW flats. Along the Waterway area, there will be a few blocks that compromise 2-3-4 rooms under 1 roof. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Majority (99.9%) of the household use the bomb shelter as a store room. For those who employed maid, bomb shelter will be use as a maid room with all those junk things together Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 4, 2012 Author Share January 4, 2012 Yup. He say its not abt the workmanship of his company etc, its becoz of the type of material use for the flat. He is very frank, tell me using such building material is very fast and easy to build and its very light, can create nice design for the flat but its not as durable. Hence a small earthquake, such building cannot tahan the tremor. He even tell me such building, China govt will not allow to be build as they cannot stand a slight tremor from the earthquake. Sound scary, luckily spore no earthquake. Our local building code does provide a very minimal seismic resistance because our little red dot is not inside any earthquake zone. Occupants especially those high-rise buildings can still feel the slight vibrations when our neighbour's land e.g. Sumatra experiences earthquakes. Plaster cracks may form on the building surfaces but the critical slab/beam/column structures should be intact. On using pre-cast (PC) members like e.g. staircases, gable-end walls, parapets, light-weight partition walls, this practice has been used for our HDB units since the early nineties and will likely to be continued since using PC units saves both time & labour. However, the use of PC units does have some issues especially if the builder/installer does a lousy job and the consultant's Resident Technical Officer (RTO) or his boss Resident Engineer (RE) is unable to spot it during their site inspections. A very good example is the proper application of a right amount of non-shrink cement grout on the ground slab before the laying of say a gable-end PC unit on it. Rightfully some of the cement grout should ooze out and the installer just touch up on them thereby creating a good joint. If the installer just lay the PC unit onto the ground slab and just take a short cut to just apply the cement grout on the external edges and leaving the centre under part hollow, residents may experience rainwater seepage in the future. For ground and upper floor slabs they are normally monolithically cast to prevent joints but if the entire floor is large or long, construction joints may have to be introduced. Joints are normally formed at non-wet areas like the living or bedrooms so if the builder choose to have it formed at the toilet slab & the RTO or RE allow it and the waterproofing works not done properly at the next stage, the residents below may experience seepage in the future. All in all, our building codes are pretty stringent but most often due to human negligence e.g. During construction, buildings are not checked carefully, poor workmanship or inferior materials used, defects like what bros experienced will surface. Once the normal 1-year defects liability period (DLP) is over, any resident who are still plagued by building defects usually have no recourse unless he can get a professional engineer to fight his case and may even need to enlist legal help to prove that there is negligence on the part of the builder/developer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Unlike old flats, these days they build it up like Lego. Cheaper & Faster but is it better? This one must ask LSS... He coined this stupid phrase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maz0608 3rd Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Only the crack is the issue. This shows the entire block is built on cost cutting method. I worry can last ten years. I think she should be glad that her flat does not have any structural problems. With flats building at such rate to meet demands, I am not surprised with that quality. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 Yup. He say its not abt the workmanship of his company etc, its becoz of the type of material use for the flat. He is very frank, tell me using such building material is very fast and easy to build and its very light, can create nice design for the flat but its not as durable. Hence a small earthquake, such building cannot tahan the tremor. He even tell me such building, China govt will not allow to be build as they cannot stand a slight tremor from the earthquake. Sound scary, luckily spore no earthquake. You know where else supposed to be out of earthquake zone? Christchurch - and look what happened there! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear January 4, 2012 Share January 4, 2012 I went to 3 new BTOs recently, omg... I was horrified by the QC of the flats. Those in industrial sector (I'm in IT but I google) should know there are different grades of steel, less than few months the surface of the steel kena "spot rust" Those steel used on doors also kena spot rust on close inspection. Toilet tiles, not very even, can feel not as good quality. Even the new opt-in lifts (LUP) for older flats, the quality is a freaking joke. Also tio spot rust, some rust even appear on painted spots. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...