Limwsv 5th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 (edited) More can be done for de-centralisation. Yes they are in the process but there still remains a large core of workforce that needs to head into CBD every day. Until we've properly de-centralised I think we need to consider holding off 'punishment' for driving into town during peak hours. As for solutions, it needs to be a holistic approach. If we die die need to have 7-10 million on this island (which I personally don't agree with), then we really need to ramp up our public transport infrastructure rapidly, before the flood arrives. Don't say we do while/after they come, by then it's too late. So these are issues that go beyond transport and onto national development already I would maintain we can take a page out of other major cities like HK, Melbourne etc. Travelling on public transport WITHIN CBD/ERP zone should be free (let's say you going to Orchard to Raffles Place, or Bugis to Marina). Make town parking expensive but still accessible, for those who really bo pian. Build huge carparks in fringe towns outside the city (say Bukit Merah or Queenstown), connected to direct public transport links to town. This pushes a lot of traffic out of the city centre, as people would rather park outside the fringe and then take public transport down. Maybe they should revisit the Park and Ride scheme which was a failure... maybe with better train coverage now compare to then and with NexGen ERP, maybe more people will start thinking about using a Park/Rie scheme. Edited February 26, 2016 by Limwsv ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Wow... when it comes to money-collection system, the selected system will be high-quality, reliable japanese technology from mitsubishi. Not from beijing watchdata Beijing tech is only for mrt and hdb systems 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 So the charging is based on road condition. You drive on congested Road, charges kicks in and you pay for contributing to the jam. Next time anyone that kena accident on expressways, people will hate you not just because of the jam, everyone will pay because of your accident too. But govt happy. Chi-ching! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Will that help to lower car population? So does not affect the rich. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 So the charging is based on road condition. You drive on congested Road, charges kicks in and you pay for contributing to the jam. Next time anyone that kena accident on expressways, people will hate you not just because of the jam, everyone will pay because of your accident too. But govt happy. Chi-ching! Orh. So govt not enough revenue just do more tree watering, road works activities? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Orh. So govt not enough revenue just do more tree watering, road works activities? haha.. yah lor. Or get LTA cars to road hog all lanes in a row. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 (edited) No need to speculate. Cost of driving will go up. The only thing to hope is now car price may drop since you can now buy to keep it at home to polish. Just curiosity, ERP got camera to ensure IU is on the right car. This one if someone clone your IU and don't drive pass any camera, how? Very fast get caught one la. How many places don't have CCTV nowadays? Enter/leaving carparks also have a CCTV pointing at you already.. Edited February 26, 2016 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 singtel. Not ST time to buy singtel shares... each OBU will need to have a 4G sim card... so imagine additional 800k of bao jiak sim card and monthly subscription business.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ocean6576 4th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Cost of owning a car will go up, cost of living will go up. 3% GST implemented, $2.50 chicken rice become $3.00. 7% implemented, become $3.50. That is a 40% raised over the years. So everyone will jump on the bandwagon and increase price. Pay what you use, is this fair? In most sense, yes. But in car owning sense, maybe no. Owning a car means one can drive as and when, not dictated by some rules or cost issues. However, here we are getting our axx screw over and over again. Someone said, COE paid is subsidising one who drives to town and contributing to jam while comparing to himself who drives from North to West. Hence pay as what you drive is fair. How about the mee pok supplier who happened to supply to neighbourhood and CBD, just so happen he supply to CBD, so he need to increase price of his mee pok due to pay as you drive. So neighbourhood mee pok stall have to increase price to us consumer. So the usual retirees, kids, have to fork out extra just because of this? Is this fair? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 (edited) You'll are focu on the wrong thing, which is COST. You should be focus on congestion. Rich man, poor man, new car, old car, porsche, kanja all stuck together in the jam. And as any statisticians will tell you, the more cars, the more likelihood of accidents. So, everyday, major jam on one road or highway or another due to accident. LIke it or not, that's how Smart Cities are going to evolve, with better and more detail data information available at real time to make decisions. Why not just ask govt to turn back the clock and put back ALS instead Yeah you are right.. Wait till the cost is pass down to consumer too.. Imagine delivery driver have to incure higher cost due to distance based charge. So transportation cost increase, price of daily necessities also increase. Take taxi will be more expensive as compared to now. All in all the one that affected will not only be drivers but also to average Singaporeans who don't own car. Unless government can come out with a system to separate out between private transport and transport for goods and services, I can foresee cost of item will also goes up with the satellite based erp implementation. Rising cost of living is already a cause of concern for average Singaporeans, I hope government don't so foolish to implement this new erp system and charge fair across private cars, lorries and truck the same and end up drive up cost of other things goes up further. Like that not good in long run. Edited February 26, 2016 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 So the charging is based on road condition. You drive on congested Road, charges kicks in and you pay for contributing to the jam. Next time anyone that kena accident on expressways, people will hate you not just because of the jam, everyone will pay because of your accident too. But govt happy. Chi-ching! haha. But I don't think it will be that dynamic. Maybe a quarterly or half-yearly adjustment like how they do now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
the9oo Clutched February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Rather than worry about the charges of this satellite ERP, is anyone else more concerned about the monitoring of our driving speeds/ habits? I'm no speed monster, but I'm sure many others like myself whom occasionally drive above 110km/hr in Singapore. (Eg. driving home on ECP @ 2am with not much cars on the road etc.) How many Singaporean drivers can actually claim they have never driven at 120km/hr in Singapore at least once in their lives? How many Singaporean drivers can actually claim they have never made an illegal u-turn on an empty road before? The highest speed limit in Singapore is 90km/hr. Does this mean come 2020, we can forget about overtaking cars? Does this mean come 2020, we'll never experience driving above 100km/hr in Singapore again? Does this mean come 2020, at 4am, if you make a slight wrong turn in a landed estate with no cars around, you'll go through the entire 1.5km narrow path driving back to point A instead of doing an illegal 5m reverse and continue your way home? That's pretty absurd. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Come 2020, no diff between driving with distance based charges, and taking the taxi. Might as well take the taxi and be chauffeured. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Just wondering how the device work? When u start ur car, it will power on automatically and track ur car location? What happen if u cut off the power supply to the device? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 (edited) nice try ... just like current erp ... if you forgot to put cash card ... $10 a pop + admin charge ... LOL for gps erp ... probably > $10 a pop liao ... LOL Just wondering how the device work?When u start ur car, it will power on automatically and track ur car location?What happen if u cut off the power supply to the device? Edited February 26, 2016 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 nice try ... just like current erp ... if you forgot to put cash card ... $10 a pop + admin charge ... LOL for gps erp ... probably > $10 a pop liao ... LOL Nope current erp is different cos use gate and sensor to find out whether the car has cash card inside But for gps erp is more on charging based on location and distance. If u don't turn on the device, will it able to detect? will the satellite detect ur car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 (edited) Just wondering how the device work? When u start ur car, it will power on automatically and track ur car location? What happen if u cut off the power supply to the device? Got back up supply built in. And since there is 4G it can communicate to the backend server than power is cut. Likewise when GPS is jammed. If you jam the cellular and the obu does not report on time. You will get a letter to report to Vicom to check in the obu. The unit will also store all the faults and report back to server. It's can also know that other obu around your obu can be contacted but yours always have trouble being read. Sooner or later will be caught Tough to outsmart it la. Edited February 26, 2016 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwsv 5th Gear February 26, 2016 Share February 26, 2016 Yeah you are right.. Wait till the cost is pass down to consumer too.. Imagine delivery driver have to incure higher cost due to distance based charge. So transportation cost increase, price of daily necessities also increase. Take taxi will be more expensive as compared to now. All in all the one that affected will not only be drivers but also to average Singaporeans who don't own car. Unless government can come out with a system to separate out between private transport and transport for goods and services, I can foresee cost of item will also goes up with the satellite based erp implementation. Rising cost of living is already a cause of concern for average Singaporeans, I hope government don't so foolish to implement this new erp system and charge fair across private cars, lorries and truck the same and end up drive up cost of other things goes up further. Like that not good in long run. You are looking at cost per trip... without factoring the cost of lost time. See my other post of how reduced congestion helps businesses.... I doubt that total cost will increase. Deliveries probably can only make 4 trips a day currently, if congestion is reduce, they can better leverage the capital goods in the vans/lorries and make more trips. Not only that, improve customer satisfaction in more timely delivery. Instead of having to explain to customer they got stuck in the PIE jam. Also, you are forgetting that last year, govt launch new initiative to consolidate deliveries... driving total cost even lower. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...