IT Show 2012

LMFAO

Which country? [rolleyes]

Any Country. As long got boarding pass and passport can liao. Must be leaving SG, then can buy. After coming back to SG, need to add gst

Just go KL or HK to buy lor. Can save 80 sgd?

For the most basic model about $40 savings only. $80 maybe for higher end models

no lah, i mean buy the ipad from changi airport transit area shop. they sell ipad w/o gst

huh?? all for the sack of avoiding GST?? might as well buy 2nd hand online cheaper and less hassle. [laugh]

towkay, $40 cheaper leh! i rather go transit area buy ipad 3 than buy ipad2. who knows whether the ipad2 battery chui already or not :ph34r:

Towkay, come back from oversea got a lot of other stuff. i dont think i got hand to carry new ipad leh [laugh]

plus i might be holding a china brand ICS leh?? [sly]

Towkay, come back from oversea got a lot of other stuff. i dont think i got hand to carry new ipad leh [laugh]

plus i might be holding a china brand ICS leh?? [sly]

that's true also.......

till date i cannot find a useful function for my Galaxy Tab apart from watching youtube on the go better than using Mobile to view..

i can find for my wife Ipad though. cause the games inside Ipad are better to play than Andriod [laugh]

recently just DL xian jian 5

thanks, asus also got some promo on tablet.

going for $299 or $399, but just too small for me..

Likely the $299 or $399 sets are only duo core

370t is quad core and likely on ICS

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_774262.html

No more juicy Apple deals at major IT fairs in Singapore

Apple Australia, which oversees S'pore market, said to be concerned over diluting image

By Sherwin Loh

The year's first major consumer electronics event, the IT Show, is back on Thursday - but without juicy deals on Apple products from vendors.

Apple Australia, which oversees the Singapore market, is believed to have advised them to sell the items only at approved stores.

One reason for this change, said a distributor, is that the firm believes involvement with such shows dilutes its image.

While prices for Apple goods such as iMacs, MacBooks, iPods, iPhones and iPads are fixed, vendors normally bundle them with freebies during mega shows.

The other three major events are the PC Show in June, Comex in September and Sitex in November.

The only vendors not affected at such events are the telcos, which can continue to sell iPhones and iPads bundled with subscription plans. In other words, a consumer must also take up a phone line for a certain period.

The no-sale directive means Apple premium resellers, including iStudio and EpiCentre, could lose millions in hardware business unless they find ways to entice the bumper crowd expected to throng the IT Show to visit their stores too.

Resellers said special deals for Apple products will be made available at all their stores.

Sales of electronic goods at the mega four-day shows run into the millions.

While there are no official numbers on the Apple products sold, The Straits Times understands that it is usual for a reseller to sell more than 1,000 Mac computers at each show. With prices for a MacBook Air starting from $1,288, a reseller stands to lose more than a million dollars in sales of Macs alone.

The sales restriction has led to at least one reseller cutting floor space at the IT Show.

EpiCentre, which booked a 2,000 sq ft booth at last November's Sitex, said it will have one that is less than 1,000 sq ft in size at this week's event. It will focus on selling Apple-related accessories at the show.

'This change will affect our business by a bit, but people will still come to our shops because our promotions will be the same. It's the same deal,' said its executive chairman and chief executive officer Jimmy Fong.

But Newstead Technologies, which operates the Nubox premium reseller brand, will still have a 1,600 sq ft presence - the same as that at Sitex. It will focus on selling Apple peripherals and accessories, said its business and marketing manager Evelyn Chua.

Apple, based in Cupertino in the United States, has long held strict guidelines on the marketing and sales of its goods.

While it does not have official stores here, it enforces merchandising guidelines for premium resellers, including the way goods are presented and having certified sales staff to promote them.

Apple Australia started enforcing the guidelines when it took charge of the Singapore market in the second half of last year. A spokesman said it does not comment on its business.

Globally, Apple does not have a presence at major IT events like the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas and the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona.

Exhibits Inc, organiser of the IT Show and Comex, said Apple resellers take up less than 7 per cent of the 350,000 sq ft floor space at the IT Show.

The company is a subsidiary of Singapore Press Holdings.

Since the show 'does not revolve around Apple', Exhibits Inc general manager Melvin Koh does not believe the event will suffer a fall in attendance.

Last year's show saw 820,000 visitors who splurged more than $72 million on gadgets.

'When you come to the show, you don't just go to one booth,' Mr Koh said.

The IT Show will take place at the Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre from Thursday to Sunday. Opening hours are from noon to 9pm, and admission is free.

[email protected]

I see. Singapore = Pay & Pay [dizzy]

it was never apple who give out the freebies, at IT show those retailer can throw in accessories, if getting from HV or Court, think got more freebies :D

my guess is that you print pretty often. leave the printer idle for a month or more and see what happens. the print nozzle chokes and printhead gets clogged. perhaps printer mileage varies with different brands. mine was a canon pixma ip1000.

mine current printer is a monochrome laser from fuji xerox. am lucky as it is essentially a rebadged brother printer. am able to use brother x64 drivers when i migrated to win 7 x64. also brother toners are more plentiful and cheaper compared to fuji xerox. however, i am using a remanufactured which costs 58/toner.

How's the quality for Fuji Xero laser or LED printers? I'm thinking of getting a color MFP (wireless and preferably with ADF) to complement my photo inkjet printer but not sure what are the best brands out there...

till date i cannot find a useful function for my Galaxy Tab apart from watching youtube on the go better than using Mobile to view..

i can find for my wife Ipad though. cause the games inside Ipad are better to play than Andriod [laugh]

recently just DL xian jian 5

Got Galaxy tab still buy Ipad. Rich seah.

Anyway, I woud like some suggestion.

I think my laptop is on the last leg now, after 4 years of service. Maybe over stressed due to dual screen, even though I use a powerful laptop cooler plate.

So I am thinking of

1) get a powerful gaming laptop, that support dual screen.

2) or a good desktop, & a tablet like ipad or something for use on the go or surf net in living room.

I think 2nd option probably cost a little more. What you guys think?

Got Galaxy tab still buy Ipad. Rich seah.

Anyway, I woud like some suggestion.

I think my laptop is on the last leg now, after 4 years of service. Maybe over stressed due to dual screen, even though I use a powerful laptop cooler plate.

So I am thinking of

1) get a powerful gaming laptop, that support dual screen.

2) or a good desktop, & a tablet like ipad or something for use on the go or surf net in living room.

I think 2nd option probably cost a little more. What you guys think?

one for me.. i looking at portablity..

another for my wife..

she want to watch movie

got for highest spec MX17 lor :ph34r: