Driver vs jaywalker

MacDuck

The mother will be very successful as a:

205792-strawberry-farmer-bill-sharpe.jpg

Organic Strawberry Farmer.

Seriously, instead of admitting to the fault, still dare to say such things.....entitlement mentality wayyyyyy too high

http://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/mum-jaywalker-upset-no-action-will-be-taken-against-driver-who-hit-him

Mum of jaywalker upset no action will be taken against driver who hit him
NP_20170406_CSROAD06_1532382.jpg?itok=VpThe boy was treated for injuries, including a fractured ankle, after he was hit by a car while jaywalking. PHOTO: COURTESY OF MADAM RAJINDE KAUR
Mum of jaywalker tells TNP: "What makes me so mad is that the driver did not apologise"
Apr 06, 2017 06:00 am
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • 43 Shares

About a week after his last Primary School Leaving Examination paper last October, Evergreen Primary School student Ravi (not his real name) had just left school after an excursion.

He said he had walked briskly across a road junction, with the "red man" signal on, to catch an SMRT service 858 bus to get to his home three stops away.

Seconds later, he was lying in the middle of the road after slipping when he saw a car heading towards him. The vehicle ran over his legs and his mother is upset no action will be taken against the driver.

Speaking to The New Paper last Thursday, Ravi, 13, said: "Even though I was conscious, I couldn't feel any pain."

Ravi's mother, Madam Rajinde Kaur, 30, admitted her son had jaywalked. He was rushed to the KK Women's and Children's Hospital with a fractured left ankle, his skin torn from his right calf.

Witnesses outside the school had told Madam Kaur the driver had stopped his vehicle.

The Singapore Civil Defence Force told TNP it received a call for an ambulance at Woodlands Avenue 4 at about 1.35pm.

Madam Kaur said she received a report from the Traffic Police (TP), in February, indicating the case was closed and no action would be taken against her son. TNP understands no action will be taken against either party.

But the sales consultant is unhappy and told her Member of Parliament, Transport Minister Mr Khaw Boon Wan, about the incident during a Meet-the-People Session last month. She also engaged a lawyer for insurance claims.

She said: "Kids are expected to make mistakes. What makes me so mad is that the driver did not apologise and not once did he come to visit at the hospital."

Singapore Road Safety Council chairman Bernard Tay said everyone had a role to play in road safety.

He said: "When you're driving a vehicle, you always have to look out. Green or red light, you still have to look. Everyone is responsible for their safety."

Parents were divided over the incident.

A father of three, who wanted to be known as Mr Ng, 39, felt both driver and the teen were at fault.

He said: "The driver should know it's a school zone, and drive carefully and slowly. But the parents of the boy should also have educated him and told him not to jaywalk."

A parent, who wanted to be known as Mrs Chua, 36, with two kids aged eight and 10, said: "I make my children read articles of accidents and discuss how they could have been avoided."

Madam Kaur told TNP she did not reprimand Ravi for jaywalking, but told him to learn from his mistake.

Clinical psychologist Dr Carol Balhetchet, who specialises in family, children and youth, felt this might send the wrong signal.

She said: "By relinquishing the child's responsibility, the child will never learn. In this case, parents should advise and teach their children to let them know that every action bears a consequence."

Sometimes the way our local news standard of reporting can make my Primary School English Teacher cry....... [sweatdrop]

Unless this is lifted off the court transcript, I will take it with a pinch of salt in interpreting how the accident really happened?  :D

Anyway, if this is really true, I do agree with your interpretation of the judgement. [thumbsup]

Seconds later, he was lying in the middle of the road after slipping when he saw a car heading towards him. The vehicle ran over his legs and his mother is upset no action will be taken against the driver.

[confused]  i never kenna accident before..  

but with exchange of particulars.. dont exchange contact number? 

Ambulance called to send the boy...  police is involved... police surely keep record ... and can trace 

I stand to be corrected

eh... car run over boy, ambulance called, mata come... and i ask boy exchange contact number?

i think mother went hospital straight?

See location lo

Closest proximity for amboolan to wh horpital...

See location lo

Closest proximity for amboolan to wh horpital...

Or go skool ask

ok... if accident at geylang evening time, where will the person be sent too?

CGH, SGH or TTSH? all like equally near lol

eh... car run over boy, ambulance called, mata come... and i ask boy exchange contact number?

i think after the accident there should be a IO taking your statement and following up the case, you can always ask them which hospital the boy was sent to.

Sometimes the way our local news standard of reporting can make my Primary School English Teacher cry....... [sweatdrop]

Unless this is lifted off the court transcript, I will take it with a pinch of salt in interpreting how the accident really happened? :D

Anyway, if this is really true, I do agree with your interpretation of the judgement. [thumbsup]

Ya @bancoe prembaree 1 Eng rish bettee

@mustank

Ask what kind accident.... things like priapism very common haaaaaa

@vratenza say one

We should keep an FAQ of mcf slang. Later new fella ask why got leehock this, leehock that then mod send him warning about "search" [laugh]

who is leehock?  [grin]

sorry ahh . . I new birdie 

Ya @bancoe prembaree 1 Eng rish bettee

@mustank

Ask what kind accident.... things like priapism very common haaaaaa

@vratenza say one

Accident don't go yishun hospital can liao :XD:

who is leehock?  [grin]

sorry ahh . . I new birdie 

Showing results for LeeHOCK

Search instead for leehock

Search Results
Leehock

noun: leehock
  1. an art of getting rid of someone/scolding someone

Origin
    MyCarForum: via @tianmo and @chickenfarm with inputs from @eviilusion from Singlish farked, from knnbccb ‘be farked’, from NB (Sinkie form of eff-off).

Usage:

1. You have been leehocked

2. Come, I leeHock you

3. Dun play play wait kanna leehock

contributed by Radx

for Penisia, a subsidiary of weakiPedia

@count-bracula if you EVER ask agian, I LEEHOCK you

Search Results
Leehock

Origin
    MyCarForum: via @tianmo and @chickenfarm with inputs from @eviilusion from Singlish farked, from knnbccb ‘be farked’, from NB (Sinkie form of eff-off).

Usage:

2. Come, I leeHock you

contributed by Radx

Ehh . . what is Leehock? I want to sexperience.   [laugh]

@tianmo come and leehock u then u know

Search Results
Leehock

Origin

Usage:

2. Come, I leeHock you

contributed by Radx

Hahaha......like that also can!

i think after the accident there should be a IO taking your statement and following up the case, you can always ask them which hospital the boy was sent to.

Will they reveal?