Happily1986 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 When i was ready to buy, i already could not qualify becos the System cut me out of my birth right. But honestly I wasnt looking to buy an HDB then. I still think it is my birth right to buy a new one direct from Govt without all these restrictions. Am I not Singaporean holding pink IC and red Passport? Did I not do my National Service? Do I not pay heavy taxes? *sigh* Take it as you pang chan to others. Honestly birthright and universal suffrage aside, you need the help meh? For the sake of asserting your rights as a Singapore Citizen, i think there is no need to go to that extent. Just saying. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 If (a big IF) most Singaporeans can be satisfied with HDB and taking BMW, and coupled with govt intervention to discourage foreigners over-investing in property here, and significantly improving on public transportation, I think that it will be effective in suppressing COE and property price escalation! Fat hope of that happening HK has succeeded in curbing car usage and prices are lower but not their property prices. Here we do better, we have runaway prices for both! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 1.3m condo ? Can you withstand the monthly repayments? If you are short of cash better buy cheaper option I really admire couples who take up >$1M mortgage loans when purchasing private property here! Especially so, if they are not even earning anywhere near $30-40K p.m. combined ... and have no parent-sponsorship either. Then they want expensive car(s), children ... yes, sometimes in that order. Financially risky leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jolie888 Clutched May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Fat hope of that happening HK has succeeded in curbing car usage and prices are lower but not their property prices. Here we do better, we have runaway prices for both! Does that mean that SGeans are much more materialistic than HKies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Sounds familiar And the answer is... Yes u Can, and its all about timing. Before this current intervention, private property owners are allowed to buy hdbee. why didnt u buy then? because u wanted private. Now that the prices are high (read: out of reach ), people want hdbee but found out cannot buy tio bo? Wrong bro, I never buy because I am restricted from buying, of cos given a choice I may still choose the former but point is I wasn't given Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 I really admire couples who take up >$1M mortgage loans when purchasing private property here! Especially so, if they are not even earning anywhere near $30-40K p.m. combined ... and have no parent-sponsorship either. Then they want expensive car(s), children ... yes, sometimes in that order. Financially risky leh! Why not? I am single, don't earn 10k a month and have no qualms about buying a one million property, but ya I only drive a humble jetta sports Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 1.3m condo ? Can you withstand the monthly repayments? If you are short of cash better buy cheaper option Not everyone like you can squeeze into a 40 sq metre two roomer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 If (a big IF) most Singaporeans can be satisfied with HDB and taking BMW, and coupled with govt intervention to discourage foreigners over-investing in property here, and significantly improving on public transportation, I think that it will be effective in suppressing COE and property price escalation! nahhh.....the sense of one upmanship has been ingrained in s'poreans even b4 pre-school. no cure. those who can will live beyond their means. those who can't will simply whine and blame everyone and everything.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Does that mean that SGeans are much more materialistic than HKies? Perhaps... but then petrol in hk is higher and parking too. Lots of taxis there unlike here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Wrong bro, I never buy because I am restricted from buying, of cos given a choice I may still choose the former but point is I wasn't given Exactly... wrong timing. So wait till they lift the restrictions. Timing is everything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Exactly... wrong timing. So wait till they lift the restrictions. Timing is everything. Ya if only I born earlier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Ya if only I born earlier Exactly what i meant by timing is everything... if you were born in the 50s and bought a landed house in the 70s? Or if you had bought AAPL at under US$100 and keep till now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RealSabbie Neutral Newbie May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Exactly what i meant by timing is everything... if you were born in the 50s and bought a landed house in the 70s? Or if you had bought AAPL at under US$100 and keep till now? Or if you bought Osim at 17 cents? Too many ifs leow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 might as well say buy at 0.006 and sell at 0.15 in 2 months time... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 Finding it strange that is now more "affordable" to buy a condo than a flat. For example, if you getting a resale flat selling 625k , asking for 35 k COV . You need 31.5k + 35k cash = 76.5k cash If you getting a condo 1.3mil from projects that offer cash rebate for stamp fee. You only need 65k cash -cash stamp duty rebate (33.6k) = 31.4k cash. No wonder, ppl are getting buying up condo in such a high liquidity environment. .. It think absd , instead of dampen the pty mkt, it actually fuel the mkt. i dun see how buying a 1.3mil condo is cheaper a 625+35k HDB in any way... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krieger 5th Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 you must be joking 30-40K getting a 1 m plus Private? I really admire couples who take up >$1M mortgage loans when purchasing private property here! Especially so, if they are not even earning anywhere near $30-40K p.m. combined ... and have no parent-sponsorship either. Then they want expensive car(s), children ... yes, sometimes in that order. Financially risky leh! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 you must be joking 30-40K getting a 1 m plus Private? now less then 20k combine also got ppl buy 1mil plus condo... alot some more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 3, 2012 Share May 3, 2012 i dun see how buying a 1.3mil condo is cheaper a 625+35k HDB in any way... now u know why gahmen had to launch this programme: ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...