Changing battery experience sharing

Mikelcy1963

I really not the green battery sales

But last few batteries all using this green battery

Can last 3+ yrs

Dun go for other brands only last < 2 yrs

Green battery = Amaron ?

They are suppose to be good and long lasting..but alas too tall for my car..

Very ex ex ex expensive

55 n last one yr

Omg

But if really ur ride has restriction then no choice

But but sure can use other batt one

They can do some simple mod to fit one

All these ws very clever but teh siao one

Haha

The simple mods are not so simple..

a) length my battery tie rods or

b) fabricate a new battery clamp or

c) cut away the terminal cover (to use recessed type of batter)

Yup

Oh I'm not ws so I Duno what would they do

But some ws or ur regular might be able to mod something to fit in

Even if 50-100$ I will pay

Cos it saves me the $ to buy lousy batt n hv to do it yearly basis

Jus doesn't make sense

Hope it can help

But u oreadi change so source for a ws Nex year lor

Yes, spot on.

Chevy battery quite troublesome. The R polarity is not common.

Most cars use L.

Then the height problem with the clamp.

Bcoz the factory oem (delkor I think) battery is built for it, but not common in the market.

Jus figuring a way out for u or other bros in same situation

If u ok with ur yearly batt change

N feel that it's v difficult

Then pls ignore my rubbish

Some people rich they feel that it's a waste of time to do all these things

I understand

Cos I'm very poor

is the running engine method safe?

Running method is not safe.

Normally, the battery act as a damper, voltage stabiliser, if you will.

When the battery is disconnected, all the pulses go everywhere, including the ecu and other voltage sensitive equipment.

im using 74amh. stock car. travelled 30,000km per year

Amaron - 16months

Varta - 12months 2weeks (kana cheated. Told me Varta better than amaron. 1 of the mobile battery changer)

currently on dog brand, when im stranded on the road. i will give it 11months and change it back to Amaron

Edited by Mcf777

my stock FB wet battery lasted me 4years before throwing the white towel.

Currently using the green battery and it's coming to 2yrs.

Is it necessary to rev the car till redline after changing batt?

This ah tiong mech from one popular ws in Ubi rev until dam shiok after replacing the batt.

Best part is after I checked, the battery wasnt even secured properly. [rifle]

Went to RV to change my battery. Not a regular there (because don't like the oil they offer). Inspite being end of business day, they gave me good customer service, to the extent that when the new battery do not fit due to my car's quirky height restrictions, they brought me to another shop. The technician assigned follow through until the battery was replaced.

RV was also professional when swapping batteries. Not just clip a spare battery to the terminals and change (which can accidentally dislodge while removing the terminals)

On a side note, before I went RV, I was at another tyre shop and to my horrors, they just start my engine and remove my terminals. For old cars this is fine but I have not seen this method for donkey years. That shop also did not have the right battery size and wanted to cut away my terminal cover so that a recessed type battery can be used. I have to insist NO before they put back my old battery.

Just to be clear, I am not in anyway affiliated with RV. Posting this because I thought helping me to find another shop and following through is something worth encouraging.

this is done to ensure that the settings for your car's ECU and headunit are retained when the battery is being changed.

Edited by Tohdj

i have used the green battery twice. the first time, it died at 1 yr 3 months. The current one is exactly 1 year old, so let's see if it will last more than the previous one.

on a side note, i had installed a desulfator for this battery, and i noticed that the car's cranking is still strong and there's no build up of slime at the battery terminals nor white powders on the battery.

Running method is not safe.

Normally, the battery act as a damper, voltage stabiliser, if you will.

When the battery is disconnected, all the pulses go everywhere, including the ecu and other voltage sensitive equipment.

That's what I thought too. Wasn't too comfortable with it, but the PRC mechanic said ok. Luckily nothing happened to my car. :ph34r:

All these FTs without certification is killing our ITE trained mechs. If the damage does happen to yr ECU - you could easily be poorer by s$5,000

The shop either just do not have the knowledge or just too poor to invest in a less than s$20.00 battery back up device.post-272-1339752937_thumb.jpg

They bring me to a shop on Level 2 and the guy there swap it. But the technician was with me throughout until the job done. I pay directly to that battery shop and the price is normal coz my old "Globatt" battery was also the same price.

i saw the reply on the price liao... i think $140 for a korean 55 batt is quite ex.... unless price has risen substantially

Edited by Galantspeedz

All these FTs without certification is killing our ITE trained mechs. If the damage does happen to yr ECU - you could easily be poorer by s$5,000

The shop either just do not have the knowledge or just too poor to invest in a less than s$20.00 battery back up device.

Cool..have to make sure the engine is running using this accessory right ? Coz cigar plug don't work when engine is off.

Sorry to hijack this thread.....saw a deal online....anyone use d this before?

http://www.deal.com.sg/deals/singapore/S25...ttery-Voucher-2

it a S$25 voucher (or am i wrong)? no use la. if they mark-up higher on the battery, LPPL. Right?

Unless the shop selling at S$X right now, and with the voucher they will less S$25 off the S$X price.