Fcw75 Hypersonic June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 (edited) Start / run the engine and start changing battery is the correct method as:- - prevent ECU lost of memory and out of tune of engine tuning setting - prevent hassle of re-setting your radio & cabin clock Fyi, once car start (Engine running) alternator will take over the battery to provide current to your ride and that's correct operational way and if battery been disconnect & engine die off means alternator is not charging your ride already & it's time to be caution of alternator defective got to send in for WS check !! Please stop feeding the wrong info to people here. Changing the battery with the engine running is NOT the correct method. The ECU might be damaged this way. There are ways to prevent those things you mentioned. A simple device plugged into the cigarette socket will do the job. Edited June 16, 2012 by Fcw75 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 They wanted to remove the battery from my Alfa with engine running too but I stopped the worker in time. I went to talk to the boss in case he didn't know what his worker was doing, but he just gave me a WTF look and said that they have changed batteries for much more expensive cars like BMW that way, so what was the problem. Sucky attitude. I insisted that they use jumper cables to connect a spare battery instead and they did so unhappily. Anyway I have banned this shop permanently in my books after that. which shop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canisminor 1st Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 which shop? Name is in your earlier post above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trafficwatch Clutched June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 I think you don't know how to change bty lah ! Idiot you ! I been changing for years and what ECU will damage ? ECU no current flow will memory will be gone 1st not damage ? Are you mechanic ?? Don't know shut-up lah ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 I think you don't know how to change bty lah ! Idiot you ! I been changing for years and what ECU will damage ? ECU no current flow will memory will be gone 1st not damage ? Are you mechanic ?? Don't know shut-up lah ! You are a joke. Waste my time. Brush up your english first dude. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LonelyBro Neutral Newbie June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Please stop feeding the wrong info to people here. Changing the battery with the engine running is NOT the correct method. The ECU might be damaged this way. There are ways to prevent those things you mentioned. A simple device plugged into the cigarette socket will do the job. actually, i did come across several established battery shops did the same thing right in front of my eyes as what trafficwatch said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 (edited) actually, i did come across several established battery shops did the same thing right in front of my eyes as what trafficwatch said. Nothing happened everybody happy. When something happened, you see what the workshop will do. What those mechanic do at those established battery shop may not necessary be the right or recommended method. It may damaged the ECU and other sensitive items in the car. For those who want to continue letting workshop change battery this way, by all means. It's not my car anyway. The correct method is simply to plug a device into the cigarette socket to power the car while the battery is changed. I go Leong Seng and they do that everytime. Edited June 18, 2012 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 Nothing happened everybody happy. When something happened, you see what the workshop will do. What those mechanic do at those established battery shop may not necessary be the right or recommended method. It may damaged the ECU and other sensitive items in the car. For those who want to continue letting workshop change battery this way, by all means. It's not my car anyway. The correct method is simply to plug a device into the cigarette socket to power the car while the battery is changed. I go Leong Seng and they do that everytime. When problem come they practice tai-ji! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 you fixed at the supplier place? if not, what do you do with the old battery? nope ... fixed at my carpark ... then the old battery sell to karanguni ... used to be $5/pc ... now drop until $3/pc only !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged June 18, 2012 Share June 18, 2012 (edited) Start / run the engine and start changing battery is the correct method as:- - prevent ECU lost of memory and out of tune of engine tuning setting - prevent hassle of re-setting your radio & cabin clock Fyi, once car start (Engine running) alternator will take over the battery to provide current to your ride and that's correct operational way and if battery been disconnect & engine die off means alternator is not charging your ride already & it's time to be caution of alternator defective got to send in for WS check !! without battery and running the car using the altenator directly is risky. The current produced by alternator fluctuates very much and battery is acting as a "stabiliser", although most electronic device designed for cars are suppose to accomodate with fluctuation in the power suppply, without battery, the risk of sensetive electronic device getting fried is higher. Edited June 18, 2012 by Tigershark1976 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear June 21, 2012 Share June 21, 2012 (edited) This Automotive handy starter charging tester with row of idiots lights is much much easier to use than yr standard digital multi meter.It's just a simple go and no-go gauge - no need to remember all the mini and max voltage readings . Edited June 21, 2012 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 I think you don't know how to change bty lah ! Idiot you ! I been changing for years and what ECU will damage ? ECU no current flow will memory will be gone 1st not damage ? Are you mechanic ?? Don't know shut-up lah ! I cannot tahan when I read this kinda posts. Hey dumbo, when someone is trying to teach you something, at least be appreciative. Changinging the batteries with engines running? You must be kidding me. It so wrong on so many aspects. I'll just bring up one. SAFETY!!!! As much as you possibly can aviod, you dont put you limbs into an engine bay with the engines running. Understand? I hope nobody gets hurt or burn their pockets following your advices Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 (edited) I posted in another thread telling you the same thing. I repost: Don't bother with this guy. Tell him his technique not the right method, I still kenna scolded. Screw him man! Aiyo, how can you ask him to put his limbs into the engine bay while the engine is running? He is already putting his whole head into the engine bay oready la. That's why he talk no sense. Hope no one here believe what he typed. It's good he kenna a yellow card liao...orbi good! Edited June 24, 2012 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 24, 2012 Share June 24, 2012 Its ok with sarcastic and funny advise given out by forumers here. But when I read something that is dangerous and plain evil, I cannot help but think that someone might just get hurt following it. He is putting stuff which is completely idiotically dangerous, else I just won't give a f--k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Just a heads up. Those who changing battery at LS, please make sure the chinaman don't change the battery with the engine running. I almost kenna, lucky I was around and told him to connect another battery as backup. They used to plug something into the cigarette socket to power the car but they don't do so now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 I changed my battery at arrow tyres recently. The guy asked me to start my engine before he disconnect and change the old battery. I knew this was not correct and challenged him which he replied its the norm. I didn't pursued and let him do it. Understand the risk is possible shorting of wires during changing may harm the electronics. Are ther other issues? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 I changed my battery at arrow tyres recently. The guy asked me to start my engine before he disconnect and change the old battery. I knew this was not correct and challenged him which he replied its the norm. I didn't pursued and let him do it. Understand the risk is possible shorting of wires during changing may harm the electronics. Are ther other issues? Many shops like to do that, start the engine and change the battery. Nothing happened everybody happy. When something happened, you see what the workshop will do. Taichi time! Anyone knows of any shop that confirm will use another battery as backup, instead of starting the engine? I will patronize the shop next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Club21z 4th Gear September 27, 2012 Share September 27, 2012 Anybody kena anything with the engine running before? I also change battery at shop with engine running, at least my settings still retain... But i didnt know can fry stuff, now read liao next time will be careful. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...