Dscheng 3rd Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 Ytd my car batt also flat. When I crank my engine. It has tak tak tak sound. Luckily there is a guy freelance selling batt jump start for me. He also recommended me to change the batt as well. So I let him change the batt. He did start my engine n change it. Well my radio setting is ok. This kind of changing method not correct huh? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rustyz 5th Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 Roger roger bro can also share the info where to buy device? Didn't know that the battery man has been the wrong thing all this time thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 Negative but some ppl bo chup one. Last time mostly maint batt u disconnect - then +. Connect back is + 1st then -. This is to prevent sparks when u push e wire connectors onto e batt terminals n ignite e hydrogen gas escaping fm batt n cause explosion. Now most maint free batt so maybe not so critical. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 Last time mostly maint batt u disconnect - then +. Connect back is + 1st then -. This is to prevent sparks when u push e wire connectors onto e batt terminals n ignite e hydrogen gas escaping fm batt n cause explosion. Now most maint free batt so maybe not so critical. +1 Agree with this. But it's also to prevent a short circuit to your car body in the case of removing the +ve first Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 You have a PM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 You have a PM Can let me know where to purchase too? Thanks bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 When you remove a battery, (after a backup is connected); always remove the neg terminal first. Negative is ground, chassis is ground. Once that is removed, you can work on the positive without problem. Otherwise while turning the wrench, you might just hit a ground and short-circuit the battery, if the negative is still connected. When connecting, do the positive first, keeping the negative terminal disconnected, preferably have a plastic insulation cap still on. After the positive is done, put the insulation cap on the positive and you can work on the negative without any risk of short circuiting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 info send via PM Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 +1 Agree with this. But it's also to prevent a short circuit to your car body in the case of removing the +ve first Yup. That too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 Last time mostly maint batt u disconnect - then +. Connect back is + 1st then -. This is to prevent sparks when u push e wire connectors onto e batt terminals n ignite e hydrogen gas escaping fm batt n cause explosion. Now most maint free batt so maybe not so critical. Yes this is the correct procedure. Even Amaron recommends that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 What about connecting a jumper cable to help to start another car? Connect +ve or -ve first? To jump start another car, 1. Connect +ve of the dead battery 2. Connect +ve of the good battery 3. " -ve of the good battery 4. " any unpainted metal part of the chasis. Disconnect in the reverse order. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 I got $$$ always workshop do, but sometime battery die suddenly bo pian have to dirty my hands with the most basic ways to best of my knowledge. Mainly monkey see, monkey do. You sure you wanna take advice from someone who tio banned liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 Just PM U Share share leh bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 28, 2012 Share September 28, 2012 Yes this is the correct procedure. Even Amaron recommends that. Sud b cos i wrote e procedures fr amaron. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...