Mikelcy1963 1st Gear June 15, 2012 Author Share June 15, 2012 (edited) i saw the reply on the price liao... i think $140 for a korean 55 batt is quite ex.... unless price has risen substantially Well..its relative..my 10 month old Globatt battery cost me $165 with only 6 months warranty (I dig up my old thread to update awhile ago) so $140 for a Korean battery isn't too bad. Of course the Amaron one also cost $140. Heard many good opinions about it workshops favor it coz its reliable. Avoid the Bosch S3 series I wasn told. Not reliable. And my advice avoid Globatt too..haha Edited June 15, 2012 by Mikelcy1963 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 it a S$25 voucher (or am i wrong)? no use la. if they mark-up higher on the battery, LPPL. Right? Unless the shop selling at S$X right now, and with the voucher they will less S$25 off the S$X price. No lwh....quote from the ad : 50% off Bosch $50 Car Battery Voucher Only $25 instead of $50 So it means the batt originally selling at only $50??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear June 15, 2012 Author Share June 15, 2012 That's what I thought too. Wasn't too comfortable with it, but the PRC mechanic said ok. Luckily nothing happened to my car. Btw, the 1st workshop that yank out my terminals without any backup and to cut away my terminal covers is not a foreigner but a local. Its a matter of obsoleted knowledge, complacency and just want to make a sale. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 No lwh....quote from the ad : 50% off Bosch $50 Car Battery Voucher Only $25 instead of $50 So it means the batt originally selling at only $50??? That means you pay $25 for a $50 voucher. Then you use the $50 voucher to deduct from whatever price of the battery. Essentially your discount becomes $25, since you paid $25 for the voucher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 That means you pay $25 for a $50 voucher. Then you use the $50 voucher to deduct from whatever price of the battery. Essentially your discount becomes $25, since you paid $25 for the voucher. Maybe hor.........anyway I find it beri fishy the way the put it at $50.......but too far for me lah....it's at Yishun... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 Well..its relative..my 10 month old Globatt battery cost me $165 with only 6 months warranty (I dig up my old thread to update awhile ago) so $140 for a Korean battery isn't too bad. Of course the Amaron one also cost $140. Heard many good opinions about it workshops favor it coz its reliable. Avoid the Bosch S3 series I wasn told. Not reliable. And my advice avoid Globatt too..haha i try once korean brand i don''t dare try liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear June 15, 2012 Author Share June 15, 2012 Maybe hor.........anyway I find it beri fishy the way the put it at $50.......but too far for me lah....it's at Yishun... If the deal is too good to be true, it usually is. Especially since the listed price of the battery is unknown Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alg 5th Gear June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 I'm using yuasa battery for all my cars n bike. So far so good. Minimum 2 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 Maybe hor.........anyway I find it beri fishy the way the put it at $50.......but too far for me lah....it's at Yishun... It's for people to read properly. 50% off $50 voucher. It didn't say the battery cost $50 in the first place. Yeah, it's like terms and condition in fine print. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GemLeo 1st Gear June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 Hmm... i changed my amaron at Arrow Tyres.. the mech started engine and swapped the battery... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seanboi 1st Gear June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 Hmm... i changed my amaron at Arrow Tyres.. the mech started engine and swapped the battery... huh? They used that method? Luckily i cash and carry and did myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear June 15, 2012 Author Share June 15, 2012 Hmm... i changed my amaron at Arrow Tyres.. the mech started engine and swapped the battery... You are lucky. See what happens if yours is a Renault of Volvo ( certain models) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear June 15, 2012 Author Share June 15, 2012 I'm using yuasa battery for all my cars n bike. So far so good. Minimum 2 years. It's a brand that has been around for decades. But not many shops carry it. I was in autobacs just now and saw they are stocked with Bosch and Globatt. Yikes ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 i buy from supplier $100 for a 55amp Hyundai brand MF battery and then fix it myself. save the install fees !! just a less than 10 minute job ... car's memory also wun be affected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 I heard some Volvo model, their battery is at the boot area. Battery can last 5-6years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotamp 3rd Gear June 15, 2012 Share June 15, 2012 i buy from supplier $100 for a 55amp Hyundai brand MF battery and then fix it myself. save the install fees !! just a less than 10 minute job ... car's memory also wun be affected. you fixed at the supplier place? if not, what do you do with the old battery? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Canisminor 1st Gear June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 They wanted to remove the battery from my Alfa with engine running too but I stopped the worker in time. I went to talk to the boss in case he didn't know what his worker was doing, but he just gave me a WTF look and said that they have changed batteries for much more expensive cars like BMW that way, so what was the problem. Sucky attitude. I insisted that they use jumper cables to connect a spare battery instead and they did so unhappily. Anyway I have banned this shop permanently in my books after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trafficwatch Clutched June 16, 2012 Share June 16, 2012 Start / run the engine and start changing battery is the correct method as:- - prevent ECU lost of memory and out of tune of engine tuning setting - prevent hassle of re-setting your radio & cabin clock Fyi, once car start (Engine running) alternator will take over the battery to provide current to your ride and that's correct operational way and if battery been disconnect & engine die off means alternator is not charging your ride already & it's time to be caution of alternator defective got to send in for WS check !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...