Unemployment rate for over-30s creeps up

Hephaestus

Becos hentak kaki mah!  Juniors all overtaking like Lambo, still moving along at Toyota speed in Lane 2, cannot take it anymore. [bigcry]

Aiya, it's the worse on the ground for the private sector but hopefully all these ex-ministers will do good for the majority when they are out.

End of the day liao, can't think of any jokes, have a great long laborious weekend! :a-confused:

It troubles me that people (a large majority) are stubborn enough to ignore or brush off prudent advice or even learning from other people's mistake. Hence, why the rich becomes richer and the poor (or wannabes) become poorer.

There is a sizeable of people here from their postings, if is reflecting their social and economic well-being, will be in trouble ranging from suicidal to just getting by in the next recession or depression or even downturn. (NO matter how much singing upturn or downturn, it will not help).

There is another group, who are savy and knows how to milk the "weak minded" to enrich themselves include some who does multiple jobs like tablewiper and lately window cleaner. There is absolutely nothing wrong or right, as there is a willing sucker and willing provider.

The world is so unstable, USA if cutting corporate tax to 15% and one off repatriation of profits amnesty will lead to many USA and including Chinese companies moving back to USA. Singapore would be affected in more ways than one would expect.

The rich and poor gap in Singapore is getting so wide that a point in time will come that nothing done can be of any use. The politicians who earns millions are suppose to serve the people earns hundreds or thousands. Does the latter make any sense?

I live long enough to be more "heartless" to the people who ignore or brush off from learning other people's mistake. Its like there are a perhaps 10-15% of the single elderly who in their youth had a great time spending like nobody's business and now looking for handouts from society and state. How can we look into the eyes of those who are prudent and never lead an extravagance life and ask them to help out these people? This may be an extreme example but don't be like one of those to varying extend.

I have come to a point of being sian repeating like a broken record and in way have harden like turboflat4, we see and noted and move on. Everybody is responsible for their own lives and their love ones.

Good luck. Life is never a bed of roses.

you need to YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO

actually biz community can generate more job openings. create 1st executive, 2nd executive without portfolio and so on. sure have many vacancies mah. ministry knows they dont know how to follow meh?

you need to YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO YOLO

Yes YOLO YOLO all you want but please be responsible (not saying you are not) so that when you reach old age you don't need to depend on anyone, eg your relatives especially your parents, your fellow citizens and your country.

I am one of those that spend a lot of money on alcohol, expensive food, nice clothes,

the photo shoot, the expensive car with the nice number 88, giving out money

and the nice holiday. I really should have save more money and never getting married.

This post is good advice for all those that are still single.

Being single is the best.

Even if you do not overspend, still have more than enough money to retire.

But almost everyone who has a family tells u it is worth it, after comparing single life and family life.

Haha...

People who are married always envious of those singles' freedom and more spending abilities.

Haha...

People who are married always envious of those singles' freedom and more spending abilities.

So far, most singles are envious of my freedom and spending abilities leh....

Not all singles are like this de, unless your earning power is high. Even singles dont spend much, but they only have one income source. Edited by 13177

Not all singles are like this de, unless your earning power is high. Even singles dont spend much, but they only have one income source.

Depends how you define source of income. It's not definitive that married people have more source of incomes since you are talking about two people working and they tend to spend more money to feed more mouths and needs. And some couples only have one sole bread winner, that leaves only one source of income. 

For singles, that doesn't mean that one's employment income is his/her only source of income. Being single/childless, these people will have more time to look and work for other sources of income. Be part time driver, spend more time is monitoring the shares and make strategic investment choices, do online business, etc.

Our elderly care facilities and infrastructure is not yet up to the par of western countries to be able to fully support old age singles. It's tough to be an elderly single here. Many cases of them dying alone in flats and no one knows.

Unlike in western countries with retirement communities and villages where elderly singles can group together and look out for each other.

Haha...

The grass will always look greener on the other side.... The reality is the opposite.

The grass will be greener on the other side if one manages their expectations. The reality is:

You can't have everything you want in life, but you can choose what you want in life without bending down to social norms.

I am one of those that spend a lot of money on alcohol, expensive food, nice clothes,

the photo shoot, the expensive car with the nice number 88, giving out money

and the nice holiday. I really should have save more money and never getting married.

This post is good advice for all those that are still single.

this post came abit too late for many  :a-m1524:

time is getting bad, vn xmm quickly grab the opportunity to start selling fake products in sgp to those cannot lose face one. [:p] 

wow thats a BIG one  :D

Better be ready to take another job with lower salary, should one get retrenched

Times are not too great.

Must eat bitter

Better be ready to take another job with lower salary, should one get retrenched

Times are not too great.

Must eat bitter

Been lurking inside here for the longest time

I hate to say this! I was retrenched since Feb!

But to be fair to ex. company

They did offered me to be posted to Indonesia

But we can't compromise with the oversea posting allowance thus I took up the retrenchment and left

3 mtns compensation for my 6 years of regional services

Even through I had a small family with 2 properties loan and 2 cars loan to serve

It's not the end of the world for me

I'm enjoying my jobless life to the max at the moment

A friend of mine in his early 40s (NUS grad)

Had been jobless for more then 5 mtns

Last heard he had settled down with a salary of no more then $3500 recently after countless resume send

Edited by Dfx16