Unemployment rate for over-30s creeps up

Hephaestus

Do you guys work in MNC, Singaporean Conglomerate or SME???

Every since I started working, I've only worked in MNCs (from a variety of countries: Asian, European and American) but my internship was done in a GLC.

not all positions require 'quota' to hire FT. in fact this idea of quota is counter productive because these are jobs citizen are not interested. it is those without quota that are the issue.

They always say jobs citizen are not interested, i wonder what jobs are they referring to lo? You can even see many those executive and manager above jobs mostly hired foreigners, so they mean these jobs are citizens not interested?

That is where the decision makers and the general public communication gaps are or they choose not to listen. The jobs that were rejected by citizen, they want to set quota. Maybe to show they have some control. Those that the citizen wants is also what foreign companies prefer to employ their own people. But no quota [confused]

So only way is to confuse using data lor. Otherwise these companies may not want to come, maybe or just we have no bargaining power?

That is where the decision makers and the general public communication gaps are or they choose not to listen. The jobs that were rejected by citizen, they want to set quota. Maybe to show they have some control. Those that the citizen wants is also what foreign companies prefer to employ their own people. But no quota [confused]

So only way is to confuse using data lor. Otherwise these companies may not want to come, maybe or just we have no bargaining power?

Lol, so confusing, so what is what then?!

Every since I started working, I've only worked in MNCs (from a variety of countries: Asian, European and American) but my internship was done in a GLC.

For MNC, of course top job goes back to FT.  Somemore, to get top job, 1 must be able to play politics.  How many of us knows that?

We live in an complying environment le.

Set up your biz lor.  Ownself employ ownself.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/singapore-s-2016-average-resident-unemployment-rate-highest/3596646.html?cid=fbcna

SINGAPORE: The annual average resident unemployment rate rose slightly from 2.8 per cent in 2015 to 3 per cent in 2016, the highest since 2010, according to the finalised figures from the Manpower of Ministry (MOM) released on Wednesday (Mar 15).

According to the release on Labour Market Developments in 2016, the increase was broad-based across most age and education groups, with larger increases among those aged 30 to 39 and 50 and over, as well as those with secondary and degree qualifications. 

This was similar to the findings in the ministry's advanced figures released this January

The annual average resident long-term unemployment rate rose from 0.6 per cent in 2015 to 0.8 per cent last year, and was higher among those aged 50 and over, and among degree holders, it added. 

The nominal median monthly income from work, including employer CPF contributions, of full-time employed Singaporeans increased by 0.7 per cent year-on-year to S$3,823 in June 2016, or 1.3 per cent in real terms, MOM said.

The real median income, including employer CPF contributions, of full-time employed Singaporeans rose by 16 per cent (or 3.1 per cent per annum) from 2011 to 2016, it added.

TOTAL EMPLOYMENT CONTINUES TO MODERATE 

Total employment, excluding foreign domestic workers (FDWs), grew by 8,600 last year, which is lower than 2015's 23,300 and significantly lower than in the earlier part of the decade, which had an annual average of 120,000 between 2010 and 2014, the press release said. 

Local employment rebounded though, growing 11,200 last year from 2015's 700, with the growth mainly in the professional services, financial and insurance services and community, social and personal services sectors.  

"Growth in local employment remained lower than in the earlier part of the decade, reflecting both a structural trend due to demographics as well as cyclical weakness in parts of the economy," MOM said, adding that growth of the local working-age population is slowing due to smaller cohorts of younger locals entering the workforce and more "baby boomers" retiring. 

Meanwhile, foreign employment (excluding FDWs) contracted by 2,500 in 2016, continuing a downtrend since 2011. The contraction was mainly due to the decrease in Work Permit Holders (-7,900) in the manufacturing, marine and construction sectors, the report said. 

Redundancies went up to 19,170 last year, slightly more than the 19,000 projected in the advance figures. This was due mainly to business restructuring and reorganisation, which continued an upward trend since 2010 but lower than the recessionary high of 23,430 in 2009, the ministry said. 

The increase in redundancies was accompanied by a decline in the annual average rate of re-entry among residents made redundant. Slightly less than half of residents, or 48 per cent, made redundant in 2016 re-entered employment, the lowest since 2010's 53 per cent.

In particular, the rate of re-entry was the lowest among those aged 50 and over (40 per cent), degree holders (42 per cent) and PMETs (44 per cent), the findings showed.  

... and yet the malls/restaurants are still full of peeps, so called "well priced" condo flying off the shelves and yeah, COE remains high!

I wonder?

... and yet the malls/restaurants are still full of peeps, so called "well priced" condo flying off the shelves and yeah, COE remains high!

I wonder?

Condos and COE price remains sky high.. Just that ppl got used to it already.

I wonder?

Maybe got dual economy.

The highly trained and educated in top jobs in the economic sectors that

are doing well are all living it up.

And then there are people with obsolete skills in the industries that are not

doing so well. 

I wonder?

actually the malls are really quiet for a while since last year, more vacant units in many malls.

my company alot of managers and directors that only manage or direct themselves lol

If got vacancy please let me know

this is exactly the kind of job I am

looking for.  [thumbsup]

actually the malls are really quiet for a while since last year, more vacant units in many malls.

That's cos people got a lot of money mah.

They don't want to stand in a shop and sell things.

They want to go shopping and buy things.  [thumbsup]

Edited by Jamesc

My side, the malls still full of ppl. Novena Square/Velocity/Square2/United Square.

Weekdays, lunch and dinner, many ppl. Breakfast, Square2 basement food court super long queue till MRT station.

Weekends, still many ppl. Come next month, even more ppl with the re-opening of the church. Traffic would be back to crazy.

New mall, Royal Square almost ready. Should be opening with the church's timing also.

My side, the malls still full of ppl. Novena Square/Velocity/Square2/United Square.

Weekdays, lunch and dinner, many ppl. Breakfast, Square2 basement food court super long queue till MRT station.

Weekends, still many ppl. Come next month, even more ppl with the re-opening of the church. Traffic would be back to crazy.

New mall, Royal Square almost ready. Should be opening with the church's timing also.

Royal square? Didnt know there is a new mall at novena mrt area?

Thats good, so that area have three malls liao.

Already have four malls. Plus this new one...........its five malls!!!

Novena is the smallest estate with the most number of malls. [laugh]