PR cannot sublet HDB liao

Mockngbrd

No I didn't - the "benefit" fo being PR is rather minimal. It meant a cut in my take home pay, but was easier to change jobs. Other than that - as my wife is already citizen, there isn't really any material difference between what I get as a PR and what I would have had on a employment pass.

Given a chance to own a hdb is probably the greatest benefits.. Housing account for 30% of household expenditures. To be able to buy hdb and own it outweights any other benefits and not spend 30% to rent like EP holders..

I think you better re-think abt that.

this thread good. gives me a good community feeling again, no elite talk sh*t. [grouphug]:D

Elites havent come in meh.. hmmm:P or elite cannot own hdb.. so no effect.

they wont come in one la...cos they wanna maintain their high standing and these are greek to them ^_^

cannot. stil need another name but it doesnt matter is PR, foreigner, alien(?) [laugh]

iszi?? let me check again.

didnt mention about needing the name to be inside leh.

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/...uy?OpenDocument

this one more clear

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10321p.nsf/w/...me?OpenDocument

still didnt state if need name to be registered as owner.

Edited by Joseph22

wah so poor thing........ pls lar..... stop clutching at straws.....

Where got clutching at straws?

And where got ranking money over my family?

You really don't listen and want to reduce an argument to one dimension only.

People that are money face, will only ever see the money.

It's the old truism - A thief ascribes the same motivations to everyone around him.

So perhaps you want to be taking a harder look at yourself.

My wife and I took a look, made some decisions and this is where we are now. And remember - I am not here asking for any special privileges, subsidies or special treatments in any way shape or form. Those that know me, know what I think of the "fairness" of NS - and if I were to have the chance to give my perspective on this would not hesitate.

I fully expect to comply with the law of the land, and if I have responsibilities I will 100% live up to them.

Many countries give PR the same, or so nearly the same that the difference is minor, benefits as citizens. Singapore doesn't do this. As the differences between Singaporean and PR become greater, it is just as likely to drive people away as get them to convert.

Some people are able to recognise a difference between personal benefit and what they see as a "society treating people equitably". Even if it is not to my personal benefit, I want people to be treated with compassion and for others that I don't know to be treated equitably.

Maybe I am different to you in that regard, with your greater focus on personal benefit. Perhaps that is part of the reason that I am not yet a Singapore citizen in that there is still a certain "selfishness" within society that I do feel and notice.

To be able to single out one, and only one factor that makes or breaks the decision is impossible - the decision to take up citizenship is a very complex set of variables. And one that is constantly changing, and the external factors are also constantly changing.

One thing that I can assure you, haven grown up on a farm, no matter what, living in a city, any city, any where is always going to leave me reminicsing for the what I had as a kid. Does that make me an evil person? I hope not.

By the same token, I am very sure that if I were to go back to NZ tomorrow, and buy a rural property, I will miss the convenience, fun, atmosphere and total joy that I take in getting carrot cake and oyster omlette from a foodcourt at 3am.

Let's see if i predict correctly.

In the next couple of mths, I feel that HDB price drop. Pte pty price goes up.

reasons :-

1) PR not intending to stay in their hdb sells

2) Limited hdb supply for pinoy/malaysia blue collar workers so hdb rental goes up

3) Pte rental also goes up

4) Pte rental yield goes up

5) Pte prices goes up , cos or (4) and EP , PR buy pte .. esp if they intend to go back their own country after a few yrs.. or working on-off oversea.

Edited by Jrage

Given a chance to own a hdb is probably the greatest benefits.. Housing account for 30% of household expenditures. To be able to buy hdb and own it outweights any other benefits and not spend 30% to rent like EP holders..

I think you better re-think abt that.

Didn't need my name to buy HDB. So again, that wasn't an inducement to take up PR

Where got clutching at straws?

And where got ranking money over my family?

then why you cannot see your sis and your nephew yearly ? want to save airfare right? !?!

Seriously, most if not all of my friends who are working oversea come back at least once a yr to see their family.. While you ?!?!? .... please tell me it's not abt $$ or what..

<br />I cant say hdb is a ponzi scheme.. ponzi scheme.. when it collapses, you have nothing.. but hdb, even if the housing mkt collapse, retirees still have a tanglible assets..

And if there are enough ppl having negative equity -hdb, sg government could easily write off their hdb loan, it like doing a QE. Thus, hdb, this is problably the best retirement scheme in the entire world. We shld be lucky to have GREAT leaders like EMM Lee and Mr Goh.<br />

Banks giving up on no recourse loans, plenty. But do you know of a single case of US govt writing off housing loan during QE? Not a chance. Once a precedent is created, there will be no end to it. Bailouts are for banks, NEVER for mortgagers.

Besides, think of the effects on SGD if they even think about it or the solvency of the CPF system. Just because the Singapore government has deep pockets does not mean they can do as they please. There will be consequences.

The government steered Singapore housing into a minefield and there is no easy way out.

Didn't need my name to buy HDB. So again, that wasn't an inducement to take up PR

are you sure that your wife can buy alone without your name?

The reasons that stop me? the biggest one is that retiring in Singapore is not a winning proposition. Couple this with missing my family, missing having a garden, and missing the lifestyle of and community environment and you have your reasons.

Am I more attached to Singapore than I was 5 years ago? YES I am, that is without doubt.

Will I be more attached still in 5 years? I don't know - this will be a function of many things.

Did I "need" to take up PR in Singapore?

No I didn't - the "benefit" fo being PR is rather minimal. It meant a cut in my take home pay, but was easier to change jobs. Other than that - as my wife is already citizen, there isn't really any material difference between what I get as a PR and what I would have had on a employment pass.

I took it as a long term view. The same reason as we bought a house here. The same reason my kids are going to a neighbourhood school and learning Chinese. The same reason I was a part of the residents' committee. I want to be a part of Singapore. Not yet a citizen, but a part of Singapore none the less. Will this change in the future - who's to know.

But here's a question for you - how many people do you know that have applied for, would like to have, are planning for or otherwise making preparations for getting residency in another country? How many of them are you asking to give up their citizenship?

Yet you are here despite here being not a winnning preposition? I see your reasons and I dun see them changing. THEREFORE you are not in process of becoming a citizen - you are a stillborn. Could you kindly practice what you preach and renounce your PR? U claim not to be a PR for the $ and privileges and u profess love to Singapore. Why dun you stop taking advantage of the country you love and be here on employment pass?

Oh. You call it long term view, I call it milking the country you have a PR in. Potato - po-tah-to.

As for you qn. Dun waste my time. If you care enough become a citizen and you would know. You dun have a right to ask me that qn just as I dun have a right asking a New Zealander about his countrie's domestic affairs. Even Angela Merkel has limited rights to the issues in Greece despite being a creditor. Know you place please.

then why you cannot see your sis and your nephew yearly ? want to save airfare right? !?!

Seriously, most if not all of my friends who are working oversea come back at least once a yr to see their family.. While you ?!?!? .... please tell me it's not abt $$ or what..

technically speaking, his family are here.

Then give it up lor... give up la... talk so much about how you dun need the PR and how u cant be a citizen... be a FT that is on WP or EP !

technically speaking, his family are here.

you re-read leh.. he say his family in NZ.. and never see her sis pregg and 4-yr old nephew never see before..

Of course its about $$.

Let me try to explain to you in words of one syllable

Live in NZ - easy to visit Sis

Live in Singapore - cannot afford to visit Sis

People accuse of coming to Singapore for $$. If come for $$ I would be able to afford to visit Sis.

ergo - there must be something drawing me to Singapore other than $$

Why come here for $$ and "personal benefit" if I don't have the $$ and don't get to see my family

Doesn't that tell you that the reasons for being here are more emotional than financial?

Doesn't that tell you that there is more to a decision than only what I get? That I also have a wife, whose preferences and beliefs I am taking into account? That I also have kids, who are a part of the decision?

Where got that the decision of where to live is so one dimensional as "how many times I see my sister" or "which place pays me the highest salary".

Stop trying to reduce it to only one variable - life doesn't work that way.