Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 See lots of Singaporean doing also. I think is just as wrong for citizen as for PR. you mean living in Johor?? its not something we can do if Johor like singaporean to do that. HDB is supposed to be "subsidized" housing. It is not supposed to be investment, or wealth transfer or anything else. Not living in Singapore - you shouldn't be able to even GET PR in the first place. Getting PR should be a commitment to Singapore, it should be a "bond" or a "vow" that you want to be a part of Singapore. Take a look at the rules governing PR in New Zealand and Australia as an example. If you don't spend more than half of your time (to put it simply, I won't quote the exact terms and conditions) living there in the first part of your Permanent Residency, then the PR status is revoked / not confirmed. you start to get the point liao What stops Singapore from doing something similar if the commitment of a PR to Singapore is not seen as genuine and just a permanent residency of convenience? I would have no problem with, for the sake of argument.. In first year must spend at least 190 days in Singapore Year two at least 180 Subsequent years, at least 100 days per year. Dispensation granted for exceptional cases (for example an expat posting by company) If don't meet this requirement, then your residency permit is cancelled. Something like this is not very onerous if you genuinely want to build a family life in Singapore, if you don't want to build a family life in Singapore, then you shouldn't be granted permanent residency in the first place. Yes i support. but when its implemented, you will come in and make opposite comment or not?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Am not bragging, have been working for a long time, and are now very very lucky to have enough to put a deposit on small condo. As to countries that give "the same" benefits to citizen and PR - go and check out the rules for both NZ and Australia, they may not be exactly the same, but they are so close that they are near indistinguishable. In NZ - PR are even allowed to vote. Take as a counter point - here in Singapore, by rights I am not even supposed to have an opinion on politics, let alone express it. And I don't understand some of your points - especially about profit and subsidies. It is, and has been one of the big contentions for a long time how much "profit" HDB is making on supposedly subisidised housing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Am not bragging, have been working for a long time, and are now very very lucky to have enough to put a deposit on small condo. As to countries that give "the same" benefits to citizen and PR - go and check out the rules for both NZ and Australia, they may not be exactly the same, but they are so close that they are near indistinguishable. In NZ - PR are even allowed to vote. Take as a counter point - here in Singapore, by rights I am not even supposed to have an opinion on politics, let alone express it. And I don't understand some of your points - especially about profit and subsidies. It is, and has been one of the big contentions for a long time how much "profit" HDB is making on supposedly subisidised housing. i think that part is typo. if i am not wrong GS trying to say. making profit doesnt mean not subsidize while making loss doesn't mean its subsidize too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 AGREE!!!!!! Some people ask what opposition had done for you? i tell you!!!! the threat of competition forces the top people to put Uncle Khaw in and allow all these measures!!!!! This is what what opposition has done for you!!!! competition breeds improvement. if the vote goes to pap, it makes the oppo hardly a competition and that's why we have crappy policy before this latest ge,. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 (edited) Actually, the vision of hdb is more than just tangible asset. It's part of singapore welfare system and allow singaporean to rent out their flat is part of the whole idea of hdb. And it was meant to provide retirement income to singaporean. So KBW is working towards the same vision as our early generals. http://www.preshigh.edu.sg/teachers/laick/...%20Housing.aspx .... This expensive exercise was made possible when Mr Lee and his right-hand man Goh Keng Swee expanded the colonial-era pension scheme to allow workers to buy flats with their Central Provident Fund (CPF) savings. Buyers could also use their CPF money for the down payments for their flats. He told PAP Members of Parliament in 1981: "No Singaporean will lose out on his HDB home because he was born later or got married later." For a government ostensibly against handouts, housing formed a key plank of its social welfare programmeWith a large chunk of retirement savings used up for housing, the flat quickly became a hedge against inflation and a store of retirement income. Starting about 20 years ago, at the suggestion of Mr Lee, the Government shored up the value of ageing flats by upgrading them. Given its extensive reach, public housing also became a means of social engineering. The Government encouraged family formation by giving citizens who were married, or who chose to live near or with their parents, for example, more in housing subsidies. Singles, meanwhile, were not allowed to buy new HDB flats and could buy only resale ones when they reached 35 years of age. It gave rise to a uniquely Singapore phenomenon of men proposing marriage to their sweethearts by asking them if they wanted to buy a flat. Edited July 11, 2012 by Jrage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 you mean living in Johor?? its not something we can do if Johor like singaporean to do that. Living in Johor is fine - if that's what you like to do, more power to you. What's wrong, is taking subsidised, public housing and then renting it out while you can go and live somewhere else. Whether it be PR, Citizen or Marvin the Martian - this shouldn't be allowed. you start to get the point liao Start only ma? I have held for a very long time that the correct point of control is in the granting of PR status, rather than in the differentiation between PR and Citizen. I have held for a long time that PR should be reserved for those that are building a life with a family in Singapore. That a permanent resident should, for all intensive porpoises see themselves as a citizen* Yes i support. but when its implemented, you will come in and make opposite comment or not?? NOPE * although I do reserve the right to cheer for the All Whites when we whoop the Lions' butts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 I am calling my dad now...... call uncle also can. now u see why taxi "demand" machiem like non stop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Am not bragging, have been working for a long time, and are now very very lucky to have enough to put a deposit on small condo. As to countries that give "the same" benefits to citizen and PR - go and check out the rules for both NZ and Australia, they may not be exactly the same, but they are so close that they are near indistinguishable. In NZ - PR are even allowed to vote. Take as a counter point - here in Singapore, by rights I am not even supposed to have an opinion on politics, let alone express it. And I don't understand some of your points - especially about profit and subsidies. It is, and has been one of the big contentions for a long time how much "profit" HDB is making on supposedly subisidised housing. In NZ and other countries, their welfare system is direct distribution of $$ to citizen and PR.Where as in singapore, it's in the form of hdb. Which i agreed that it's better hedge over inflation than 401k etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 What's wrong, is taking subsidised, public housing and then renting it out while you can go and live somewhere else. Whether it be PR, Citizen or Marvin the Martian - this shouldn't be allowed. this part i support if they also allow citizens to buy even if higher income bracket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 call uncle also can. now u see why taxi "demand" machiem like non stop. Question is how easy is it for someone to get a taxi license? If I'm in a full-time job now, will it disqualify me? Though on the form it doesn't seem to state so. Sorry mods, if not appropriate to discuss here, I will move this to a new thread - Taxis - The new family car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 imo, this is in-line also with the drive to 'encourage' more pr to take up citizenship. so, if the conspiracy theory of converted citizens are pro-ruling party, then this is part of the plan for 2016? i thk it wil prob sway the borderline PRs to accelerate their plans to migrate to their destination of choice. in my view, those who are serious abt sg, would hv alr taken up their citizen vows. but since as a PR, my kids study the same schools, i use the same hospitals, my hubby cont to work the same jobs and opportunities, why would i wanna close my doors so soon? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Another small step in the right direction. yup i fully agree! finally someone is looking at forums and making correct decision... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Living in Johor is fine - if that's what you like to do, more power to you. What's wrong, is taking subsidised, public housing and then renting it out while you can go and live somewhere else. Whether it be PR, Citizen or Marvin the Martian - this shouldn't be allowed. Of course i am in agreement on this. but if they had meet the MOP. nothing you can do about this. you cannot expect gahment to just happily take away a citizenship right? Start only ma? I have held for a very long time that the correct point of control is in the granting of PR status, rather than in the differentiation between PR and Citizen. I have held for a long time that PR should be reserved for those that are building a life with a family in Singapore. That a permanent resident should, for all intensive porpoises see themselves as a citizen* NOPE * although I do reserve the right to cheer for the All Whites when we whoop the Lions' butts yeah and i had agree with you on that as always. but what done cannot be undone liao. so only way to control damage is to reduce PR benefit lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 btw all policies are always $$$ driven - wat do u expect from singapore inc. 1 yr "grace" period + the rolling 1 yr wil prevent shocks to the prices. the domino effect can be quite big. so Darryn, dun worry and argue so much now...im sure u wil stil get to live in your condo while collecting rental from the HDB. at least for the 5 years, jus prepare your sob story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Am not bragging, have been working for a long time, and are now very very lucky to have enough to put a deposit on small condo. As to countries that give "the same" benefits to citizen and PR - go and check out the rules for both NZ and Australia, they may not be exactly the same, but they are so close that they are near indistinguishable. In NZ - PR are even allowed to vote. Take as a counter point - here in Singapore, by rights I am not even supposed to have an opinion on politics, let alone express it. And I don't understand some of your points - especially about profit and subsidies. It is, and has been one of the big contentions for a long time how much "profit" HDB is making on supposedly subisidised housing. i think the point is.... there will always be a difference between citizen and PR no matter how minute..... maybe even the amount of welfare 1 is allowed to have (just and example) my spore govt chose to make a difference now with reagrds to the rules for HDB and i don;t see why is it wrong... because ultimately, there is a difference between PR and Citizens for all countries kudos that NZ allow PRs to vote but that's NZ.... something i am sure most feel is not workable here.. simply to say profit and subsidy are 2 different things.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 (edited) sporean above 60 start doing so too in view of rental rate shot to the roof This built in mechanism are not stopping PR from working in singapore and living in JB but have a flat in singapore subletting out for income. In my short 10 years working life, i had seen lots of Johorian doing that Edited July 11, 2012 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 btw all policies are always $$$ driven - wat do u expect from singapore inc. 1 yr "grace" period + the rolling 1 yr wil prevent shocks to the prices. the domino effect can be quite big. so Darryn, dun worry and argue so much now...im sure u wil stil get to live in your condo while collecting rental from the HDB. at least for the 5 years, jus prepare your sob story. he wont have any problem as his flat under his singaporean wife name Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Question is how easy is it for someone to get a taxi license? If I'm in a full-time job now, will it disqualify me? Though on the form it doesn't seem to state so. Sorry mods, if not appropriate to discuss here, I will move this to a new thread - Taxis - The new family car taxi licence is the easiest thing to get, with or without full time job ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...