Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 (edited) but why? u know his background rite? now it really makes mr $8 like demi-god. you know the $8.00 thing?? my colleague a low ranking old technician really got a buy pass at $8.00 leh was talking to him the other day about how b-------t that. how can $8.00 get buy pass. he show me his scar and tell me, his is really $8.00 cash nia Edited July 11, 2012 by Joseph22 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Can someone explain this that I just read in the article - The total period of subletting during the flat owners' entire duration of the flat ownership will be capped at five years. So it means if I rent out my HDB flat, I can only do so for just 5 years??? Is it for PR only or also for citizen? That's not very good leh. not very good for u only mah anyw dun worry la, the 5 yr cap is for PR. no change to citizen 3+3+3. experts pls correct. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Well I'm going to be a contrary voice a) What will happen to tenancy contracts? A lot that I know about are two years - this won't be possible under the new rules b) Citizens are allowed to rent flats indefinitely, but PR are not? Doesn't seem quite right - HDB is supposed to be a home, full stop - not an investment. So in my mind would be better if rules were enforced so that it is a home. c) HDB is something like 80% of the market - rather than implementing these sorts of rules, my preference would be such that HDB really and truly becomes subsidised for those that need a leg up. Anyway - HDB is not subsidised, the govt still makes a profit from every HDB flat sold d) There is a built in mechanism for PR to "expire" after 5 years if you are not working and contributing to Singapore, so I am doubtful if more needs to be done on that front With the measures that are being introduced, it is becoming more and more like acquiring Permanent Residency is a "not really permanent residency" measure, but more of an upgraded workpermit. More specifically than individual measures this doesn't feel "right" as an overall policy. If you don't want the person here permanently, then don't grant residency in the first place. If you only want the person here short term, then create a class of workpermit that addresses this - rather than taking more and more away from those that have permanent residency. After all, the overall policy of permanent residency is as someone who is working towards / eligible for / of a quality to be a citizen - NOT someone who is just here to do a job and then zao. In the interests of full disclosure a) this policy change will NOT affect me b) we are looking at buying a second investment property - if we do this the Condo will be rented and we will continue to live in our HDB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Serve NS only...all chabo yalor!!!!! All farking CHAO AH GUA!!!!!! i have persona firends who are indonesians but they whole family convert cho Sengapore Lang i served ns and reservist with their sons Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 opposition should focus their efforts on pap chaps who are doing shiit work they shouldnt waste their effort coming to woodlands area because it is clear Uncle Khaw now confirm woon woon jiat bee hoon Reward those deliver!!!! Punish those who do shiit work!!!!! TBH, i doubt they will do that. they will likely place their heavy weight at location with good Minister and hope to pull the good one down so the lousy one who take over will screw out so they can get majority vote in 2022. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Well I'm going to be a contrary voice a) What will happen to tenancy contracts? A lot that I know about are two years - this won't be possible under the new rules b) Citizens are allowed to rent flats indefinitely, but PR are not? Doesn't seem quite right - HDB is supposed to be a home, full stop - not an investment. So in my mind would be better if rules were enforced so that it is a home. c) HDB is something like 80% of the market - rather than implementing these sorts of rules, my preference would be such that HDB really and truly becomes subsidised for those that need a leg up. Anyway - HDB is not subsidised, the govt still makes a profit from every HDB flat sold d) There is a built in mechanism for PR to "expire" after 5 years if you are not working and contributing to Singapore, so I am doubtful if more needs to be done on that front a) For exisiting one, they will still run until the contract is over b) PR not living in singapore shouldnt get a home in the first place. c) Yeah we know, but you expect them to lower the price of the brand new HDB to cost and risk angering those who had bought the flat from HDB at higher price. must be realisitic. d) This built in mechanism are not stopping PR from working in singapore and living in JB but have a flat in singapore subletting out for income. In my short 10 years working life, i had seen lots of Johorian doing that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Parsing the article it seems straight forward.. PR Buy flat, then get posting to India Can sublet flat for 1 year. After that must apply again and only approved in special circumstances. In normal course, cannot renew. After one year, if posting up, come back and live for X years, then get another posting - can rent again. Can do this to a maximum of 5 years. Citizen Buy flat. Live for minimum occupancy Go live in condo Rent HDB forever and a day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 imo, this is in-line also with the drive to 'encourage' more pr to take up citizenship. so, if the conspiracy theory of converted citizens are pro-ruling party, then this is part of the plan for 2016? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elmo 4th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 lagi best. u and ur dad sign up as taxi drivers and share the cab. in the morning, he drive u to work, send ur kids to childcare, pick up a few fares and in the evening, pick u and ur kids again. during weekends, he pick up a few fares again in the morning then afterwhich its family bonding time at shopping mall. dun even need to worry road tax, insurance and petrol prices. sounds nice? I am calling my dad now...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Parsing the article it seems straight forward.. PR Buy flat, then get posting to India Can sublet flat for 1 year. After that must apply again and only approved in special circumstances. In normal course, cannot renew. After one year, if posting up, come back and live for X years, then get another posting - can rent again. Can do this to a maximum of 5 years. If posting to india, what for buy flat. do note, if singaporean enter into same situation, the only different is we can rent for the same amount of time as our posting, but the catch is our MOP are also extended accordingly. Citizen Buy flat. Live for minimum occupancy Go live in condo Rent HDB forever and a day. this is Mah idea for Citizen in singapore anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 you know the $8.00 thing?? my colleague a low ranking old technician really got a buy pass at $8.00 leh was talking to him the other day about how b-------t that. how can $8.00 get buy pass. he show me his scar and tell me, his is really $8.00 cash nia $8 mayb possible if stay at the lowest class c ward but i dun thk mr $8 stayed at tat class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 many such foreigner/pr are doing the same thing in other countries, like australia and new zealand. they buy houses without a blink of an eye, while the local ozzies and kiwis got to rent, sometimes from them, cos they cannot afford them. ridiculous right? locals can't afford housing in their home country but got to rent from foreigners? and yes, i am glad that gahmen seems to be doing it right this round. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 any loophole? Nobody will know which hdb flat is owned by citizen or PR by looking at their face. I believe there are many people illegally sublet their flat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Well I'm going to be a contrary voice a) What will happen to tenancy contracts? A lot that I know about are two years - this won't be possible under the new rules Case by case right? most likely they will let the tenancy run its full course but without renewal b) Citizens are allowed to rent flats indefinitely, but PR are not? Doesn't seem quite right - HDB is supposed to be a home, full stop - not an investment. So in my mind would be better if rules were enforced so that it is a home. they are govt homes not just home..... home can be condo, landed, etcc) HDB is something like 80% of the market - rather than implementing these sorts of rules, my preference would be such that HDB really and truly becomes subsidised for those that need a leg up. Anyway - HDB is not subsidised, the govt still makes a profit from every HDB flat sold profit does not mean subsidised. same if the sales price is at a loss, it also does not mean subsidised. d) There is a built in mechanism for PR to "expire" after 5 years if you are not working and contributing to Singapore, so I am doubtful if more needs to be done on that front nothing is done on this front... PR is totally different from housing With the measures that are being introduced, it is becoming more and more like acquiring Permanent Residency is a "not really permanent residency" measure, but more of an upgraded workpermit. More specifically than individual measures this doesn't feel "right" as an overall policy. If you don't want the person here permanently, then don't grant residency in the first place. If you only want the person here short term, then create a class of workpermit that addresses this - rather than taking more and more away from those that have permanent residency. Perm residency save you the hassle of applying for permits travelling in and out of country or apply for visa if necessary and also no need to carry any work permit around. It does not mean you will be granted the same privileges as a citizen. This is why there is a distinct difference between PR and Citizens. Correct me if i am wrong, i don't think any country has the exact same privileges for both PR and citizens After all, the overall policy of permanent residency is as someone who is working towards / eligible for / of a quality to be a citizen - NOT someone who is just here to do a job and then zao. In the interests of full disclosure a) this policy change will NOT affect me b) we are looking at buying a second investment property - if we do this the Condo will be rented and we will continue to live in our HDB thanks for howlianing..... hope this will be one of the next step to control hdb.... unless you become a citizen.. and i don;t think anybody really care if it affects you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Nobody will know which hdb flat is owned by citizen or PR by looking at their face. I believe there are many people illegally sublet their flat. this is technical issuel. nothing we can do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 a) For exisiting one, they will still run until the contract is over b) PR not living in singapore shouldnt get a home in the first place. c) Yeah we know, but you expect them to lower the price of the brand new HDB to cost and risk angering those who had bought the flat from HDB at higher price. must be realisitic. d) This built in mechanism are not stopping PR from working in singapore and living in JB but have a flat in singapore subletting out for income. In my short 10 years working life, i had seen lots of Johorian doing that. See lots of Singaporean doing also. I think is just as wrong for citizen as for PR. HDB is supposed to be "subsidized" housing. It is not supposed to be investment, or wealth transfer or anything else. Not living in Singapore - you shouldn't be able to even GET PR in the first place. Getting PR should be a commitment to Singapore, it should be a "bond" or a "vow" that you want to be a part of Singapore. Take a look at the rules governing PR in New Zealand and Australia as an example. If you don't spend more than half of your time (to put it simply, I won't quote the exact terms and conditions) living there in the first part of your Permanent Residency, then the PR status is revoked / not confirmed. What stops Singapore from doing something similar if the commitment of a PR to Singapore is not seen as genuine and just a permanent residency of convenience? I would have no problem with, for the sake of argument.. In first year must spend at least 190 days in Singapore Year two at least 180 Subsequent years, at least 100 days per year. Dispensation granted for exceptional cases (for example an expat posting by company) If don't meet this requirement, then your residency permit is cancelled. Something like this is not very onerous if you genuinely want to build a family life in Singapore, if you don't want to build a family life in Singapore, then you shouldn't be granted permanent residency in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jrage 1st Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 many such foreigner/pr are doing the same thing in other countries, like australia and new zealand. they buy houses without a blink of an eye, while the local ozzies and kiwis got to rent, sometimes from them, cos they cannot afford them. ridiculous right? locals can't afford housing in their home country but got to rent from foreigners? and yes, i am glad that gahmen seems to be doing it right this round. almost all country... public housing is not allow to rent out. They are for own-stay. in any case, the part on renting out their hdb.. i think thats old lee's idea.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 11, 2012 Share July 11, 2012 Well I'm going to be a contrary voice a) What will happen to tenancy contracts? A lot that I know about are two years - this won't be possible under the new rules b) Citizens are allowed to rent flats indefinitely, but PR are not? Doesn't seem quite right - HDB is supposed to be a home, full stop - not an investment. So in my mind would be better if rules were enforced so that it is a home. c) HDB is something like 80% of the market - rather than implementing these sorts of rules, my preference would be such that HDB really and truly becomes subsidised for those that need a leg up. Anyway - HDB is not subsidised, the govt still makes a profit from every HDB flat sold d) There is a built in mechanism for PR to "expire" after 5 years if you are not working and contributing to Singapore, so I am doubtful if more needs to be done on that front With the measures that are being introduced, it is becoming more and more like acquiring Permanent Residency is a "not really permanent residency" measure, but more of an upgraded workpermit. More specifically than individual measures this doesn't feel "right" as an overall policy. If you don't want the person here permanently, then don't grant residency in the first place. If you only want the person here short term, then create a class of workpermit that addresses this - rather than taking more and more away from those that have permanent residency. After all, the overall policy of permanent residency is as someone who is working towards / eligible for / of a quality to be a citizen - NOT someone who is just here to do a job and then zao. In the interests of full disclosure a) this policy change will NOT affect me b) we are looking at buying a second investment property - if we do this the Condo will be rented and we will continue to live in our HDB haha see this is exactly the conundrum in the coe situation. those who have alr bot their low COEs new cars argue for lesser coe to manage congestion while those stil driving their 6-7yo cars will fight for usage based hence more coes to be released. but u know when it bites one's meat, all kinds of defences come up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...