PR cannot sublet HDB liao

Mockngbrd

he wont have any problem as his flat under his singaporean wife name [laugh]

Flat in joint names

flat cannot be one person name what.....either his wife + his wife's parent......or he and his wife [sly]

you go check again. it can be one person if they are married.

if one is citizen the other is non citizen and non pr at point of married, then you are allow to buy HDB as 1 person registration.

See lots of Singaporean doing also.

I think is just as wrong for citizen as for PR.

So? U want the rights of a citizen? Become one? Dun want? Too bad.. We defend this land, we get to profit from it...

I think it is wrong that PR dare call this place "home" yet plays no part in defending this home.

the thing is s'porean abv 60 , is suppose to do that as part of singaporean gov retirement plan for its citizen.

while allowing pr to own hdb was to allow them to have more affordable housing and not provide them with income.

my singaporean in-laws in their 70s don't have much savings, and my brother-in-law is good for nothing. he don't give them a cent.

they are currently subletting.. not the whole (fully-paid) flat but a room.

it is good enough for them cos they live of very little expenses.

this works provided people own (fully-paid) the hdb/house... but at current prices... some may still need to pay mortgage in their 6-70s.

rent out may still not be enough

Am not bragging, have been working for a long time, and are now very very lucky to have enough to put a deposit on small condo.

As to countries that give "the same" benefits to citizen and PR - go and check out the rules for both NZ and Australia, they may not be exactly the same, but they are so close that they are near indistinguishable.

In NZ - PR are even allowed to vote. Take as a counter point - here in Singapore, by rights I am not even supposed to have an opinion on politics, let alone express it.

And I don't understand some of your points - especially about profit and subsidies. It is, and has been one of the big contentions for a long time how much "profit" HDB is making on supposedly subisidised housing.

Look at the whole package... Does the countries you mention have liabilities on citizenships? Tell you wat. U are very upset right... but you have no votes....? How? Suck it up or vote with your feet.

try to remember his family background leh.

Darryn is a PR from NZ. (not ang mo but a native NZ)

flat under his wife name who is a singaporean.

so this rule got nothing to do with him at all [laugh]

I is "ang mo" - I is 1/8 "native"

In NZ I don't identify as "ang mo" (the term is pakeha - which essentially means white NZer), I identify as New Zealander

I don't like terms such as caucasion being applied to me - I identify as NZer, which is cultural - the colour of my skin doesn't matter one bit.

you go check again. it can be one person if they are married.

if one is citizen the other is non citizen and non pr at point of married, then you are allow to buy HDB as 1 person registration.

darryn say joint name liao....we all no need to speculate......but if the owners are one citizen and one PR, then how? [confused][confused][confused]

thought last time you say only her name?? [confused]

Never said that - you mustly be confused. Condo is possible may put in only her name...but that is a different story. May do as "gift" to the honey babe that is my wifey

Start only ma? I have held for a very long time that the correct point of control is in the granting of PR status, rather than in the differentiation between PR and Citizen. I have held for a long time that PR should be reserved for those that are building a life with a family in Singapore. That a permanent resident should, for all intensive porpoises see themselves as a citizen*

Well said... when are you converting ? Give us a timeline.

please la ... how to enforce.... ? whistle blowing? do they even have the resources to police such a rule ?

can one. see so many illegal sublet caught. some are not by whistle blow if i am not wrong.

Look at the whole package... Does the countries you mention have liabilities on citizenships? Tell you wat. U are very upset right... but you have no votes....? How? Suck it up or vote with your feet.

The question was asked about differentiation between PR and citizen in other countries, it was answered on that basis.

Did you know that in NZ a PR can draw on my taxes to be paid a benefit? Or to use my taxes to stay in hospital? How is that NOT a liability of my citizenship?