Estrangable 5th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 (edited) Someone i know took UA recently to SFO. He told me then UA plane was so old that they still using those common-shared, mounted movie screen so cannot choose movie U watch what unker sam think u shld watch. was on a UA flight from beijing to chicago abt 1 year plus ago ....exactly what you stated....wall mount 40 inch tv at the front. showing spiderman or something..which isnt that bad except that when i flew back, it was still showing the same movie.... seated beside a old china man who took out his socks and shoes....13 hours of agony...in the end, i went to the toilet area there and stood there for the remaining 3 hours. Edited July 19, 2012 by Estrangable ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 (edited) Someone i know took UA recently to SFO. He told me then UA plane was so old that they still using those common-shared, mounted movie screen so cannot choose movie U watch what unker sam think u shld watch. Think UA has also swapped some planes for some routes. Rem flying a wide body plane to HKG but now they switched to B737-800 iirc. OT a bit, last time on UA website can book SQ using the miles. But now only sees UA, TG, OZ & CA etc.... . Anyone got the same problem? Edited July 19, 2012 by WTF Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Think it's not a matter of "new" or "old". They never really invested much into in-flight entertainment. Fly UA must bring your own book or tablet. Upgrades are more generous on UA or NH than on SQ in my and many of my friends' experience. If you're flying economy, another "benefit" on UA is their Economy Plus. More room, especially for long domestic flights. u need to pay abt 200 plus dollars to upgrade to econ plus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Lufthansa- Flight to frankfurt , seated beside an extemely large sized woman who fell asleep after take over and was leaning over constantly. No personal inflight , no chio stweardesses..... once in a lifetime Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 flew on ANA to USA once. walau eh.......the keyword here is ONCE. what was so bad on the trip? I took ANA to tokyo and back in 2010. Pros - punctual to the dot as per Japanese style. 10mins prior to departure time, the cabin doors are already closed n taxi-ing. - service: Polite. As good as the better airlines. - seats ok. 777 is always the most comfortable for me Cons - i hate overnight flights and ANA is not the best airline to take overnight flight especially a 6-7 hr flight to tokyo. They serve snacks etc and lights on until like about 1am. 320am the lights are back on already and the hot towels are being served Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 what was so bad on the trip? I took ANA to tokyo and back in 2010. Pros - punctual to the dot as per Japanese style. 10mins prior to departure time, the cabin doors are already closed n taxi-ing. - service: Polite. As good as the better airlines. - seats ok. 777 is always the most comfortable for me Cons - i hate overnight flights and ANA is not the best airline to take overnight flight especially a 6-7 hr flight to tokyo. They serve snacks etc and lights on until like about 1am. 320am the lights are back on already and the hot towels are being served Thought usually for night flight, lights will be on somewhere 3am to 4am plus?! And you will be served with the food and eating at the "wee hours"! I remember when i took the overnight flight to HK and beijing in separate days. I was eating baked chicken noodle at about 3.30am! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 ANA is good..excellent service and pretty good in flight entertainment as well....though i was hoping for AV quality air stewardess...like my avatar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Thought usually for night flight, lights will be on somewhere 3am to 4am plus?! And you will be served with the food and eating at the "wee hours"! I remember when i took the overnight flight to HK and beijing in separate days. I was eating baked chicken noodle at about 3.30am! The longer flights they wait until almost 5 before doing so. The short flight has no such luxury. The morning was quite shack subsequently Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 what was so bad on the trip? I took ANA to tokyo and back in 2010. Pros - punctual to the dot as per Japanese style. 10mins prior to departure time, the cabin doors are already closed n taxi-ing. - service: Polite. As good as the better airlines. - seats ok. 777 is always the most comfortable for me Cons - i hate overnight flights and ANA is not the best airline to take overnight flight especially a 6-7 hr flight to tokyo. They serve snacks etc and lights on until like about 1am. 320am the lights are back on already and the hot towels are being served The food choices were very limited i.e. sushi and dunno wat other raw food. Portions were jap sized (aka small). Still hungry after that and asked if they hv something more palatable like cup noodles. Surprisingly, they dun have and passed me 3 packets of peanuts instead. Halfway thru the long haul stretch from tokyo to east coast USA, became realli hungry liao and they passed me more peanuts! Walau eh....neber ate so much peanuts on a flight b4. The in-flight entertainment damn limited and more than half the channels were in japanese. Tho the stewardess were polite, they kept speaking to me in japanese tho i kept replying to them in english (or maybe my engrand dem koyak until it sounded jap instead..... ) The next US trip, i flew Emirates. A whole world of difference........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Thought usually for night flight, lights will be on somewhere 3am to 4am plus?! And you will be served with the food and eating at the "wee hours"! I remember when i took the overnight flight to HK and beijing in separate days. I was eating baked chicken noodle at about 3.30am! For overnight flights, i usually request them not to disturb me, and an eye cover.. SIA will stick a "Do Not Disturb" sticker on your seat and they will wake you up when it's about the land.. And their economy class seats (newer ones) have seat pitch long enough that even if you lean all the way back, the passenger sitting behind you won't feel any space reduction.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 asian airlines are in general pretty good in their service. Am quite surprised that korean air is not listed in the top 10. Have quite a pleasant exp flying with korean air. The worst airlines - in order of ranking - 1) American Airlines - 13 hours of pure suffering 2) Delta airlines - sama sama. 13 hours of suffering. though not as bad as AA 3) American airways - seats are probably made of cardboard wrapped with a piece of rug....and that is after 3 hours of delay 4) United 5) Trans airway The reason Korea air is not as good as Asiana is that some korea air planes don't have inflight entertainment. So when I fly to Korea, I always take SIA or Asiana and never Korea air. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 The food choices were very limited i.e. sushi and dunno wat other raw food. Portions were jap sized (aka small). Still hungry after that and asked if they hv something more palatable like cup noodles. Surprisingly, they dun have and passed me 3 packets of peanuts instead. Halfway thru the long haul stretch from tokyo to east coast USA, became realli hungry liao and they passed me more peanuts! Walau eh....neber ate so much peanuts on a flight b4. The in-flight entertainment damn limited and more than half the channels were in japanese. Tho the stewardess were polite, they kept speaking to me in japanese tho i kept replying to them in english (or maybe my engrand dem koyak until it sounded jap instead..... ) The next US trip, i flew Emirates. A whole world of difference........ i rather have small portions of good food quality tasty food than a whole lump of junk....like American airlines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Still much cheaper than biz class, especially short flights you don't to fly business class. And upgrade is generous for frequent flyer. i have to admit that its very easy to get an upgrade to business class on delta airlines if u are frequent flyer... not sure if its still the case now since all major airlines are bleeding red Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 For overnight flights, i usually request them not to disturb me, and an eye cover.. SIA will stick a "Do Not Disturb" sticker on your seat and they will wake you up when it's about the land.. And their economy class seats (newer ones) have seat pitch long enough that even if you lean all the way back, the passenger sitting behind you won't feel any space reduction.. Even you request them not to disturb you during meal timing, but sometimes the passenger behind will complaint that they cannot eat their meal since your seat is incline. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 i have to admit that its very easy to get an upgrade to business class on delta airlines if u are frequent flyer... not sure if its still the case now since all major airlines are bleeding red Selling 1 more economy seats (and pushing a frequent flyer up to Biz) still makes more sense than having 1 less passenger and an empty seat.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 i have to admit that its very easy to get an upgrade to business class on delta airlines if u are frequent flyer... not sure if its still the case now since all major airlines are bleeding red Even on SIA still easy. Almost all my trips so far I got the free upgrade to business class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 it was horrible when i sat beside a fat man who reeked of clover cigarette smell....luckily it was a short flight from SIN to BKK. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
B777jubilee 2nd Gear July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Even on SIA still easy. Almost all my trips so far I got the free upgrade to business class. SIA dont upgrade most of the time. Even the most frequent of flyer on SQ only get once in a while. Unless u are senior staff travel on staff ticket, no way u can get upgraded almost all your trips ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...