CHC Trial Matters Part 2

Spoken like a true legal eagle [thumbsup]

No offence is intended bro...lai lai lai I gib you 5 [flowerface]

No worries bro and thks for the 5! I also give you back haha!!

Maybe I'm abit biased cos I know this guy personally, felt sorry for him and family when this happened and I still feel there's a difference between paying back and just pocketing it. In fact I told him "you should have just pocketed it cos there's no way you can ever make this much".

So much for me being a friend giving him this advice!!

bro...........the legal system is not too bothered if the money is return............that one is police job..........the court only want to know how many times he did the crime..........1 time 1 year ............2 times 2 years..............10 times maybe can sleep inside for life liao............ [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Spring

Serina_Wee_20140714_i03.jpg?itok=tWCd-Nm

this thread is worhtless without pix lol

so now she is finally making a grand appearance? lol [laugh]

Maybe I'm abit biased cos I know this guy personally, felt sorry for him and family when this happened and I still feel there's a difference between paying back and just pocketing it. In fact I told him "you should have just pocketed it cos there's no way you can ever make this much".

how much is the money involved? so he really went inside to sit for 3 years?

Maybe I'm abit biased cos I know this guy personally, felt sorry for him and family when this happened and I still feel there's a difference between paying back and just pocketing it. In fact I told him "you should have just pocketed it cos there's no way we can make this much".

No worries bro...

The first principle under the rule of evidence is "relevance".

The job of the judge is to rule out any irrelevant factors and consider only the relevant one.

Once all elements of the case is proven, the rest of the matter will only go towards his mitigation.

This much my chickens taught me cos last nite they entertained some lawyer clients [flowerface]

The other thing CHC is good(??) at is to convince the congregation that the more you give, the more blessings God will grant you!!

This is totally contrary to a verse in the bible where Jesus praised on old lady who gave a 1 coin donation, saying that her 1 coin is actually worth more than those rich guys who gave in value more but actually were their extras!

isnt this what chc is teaching?

don;t give spare change. but give all that you have. regardless if u are rich or poor

give give give (money only hor) [laugh][laugh]

so now she is finally making a grand appearance? lol [laugh]

how much is the money involved? so he really went inside to sit for 3 years?

IIRC is $200k thereabouts.

Yes he sat for 2 yrs eventually cos if not wrong they give 1/3 remission for good behaviour, weekends, public holiday etc.

Could never work in the bank anymore, set up his own business.

Edited by Spring

IIRC is $200k thereabouts.

Yes he sat for 2 yrs eventually cos if not wrong they give 1/3 remission for good behaviour, weekends, public holiday etc.

Could never work in the bank anymore, set up his own business.

I see no reason why he can steal and return the money multiple times with full intention of returning it.

More likely, he took it to gamble. If he wins, he will pay back. If he doesn't win then he has no money to pay back anyway. I would say the intention is not there at all.

To be honest, if I had a friend like that, I would stay far far away from him. Otherwise I will have to constantly be on my guard even when having dinner with him to make sure he doesn't borrow any money from my wallet.

Edited by Kusje

isnt this what chc is teaching?

don;t give spare change. but give all that you have. regardless if u are rich or poor

give give give (money only hor) [laugh][laugh]

My daughter's friend's younger bro who comes from poor family gave all his pocket money to CHC precisely under the influence of give more, get more blessings in return! His single mother who worked extra to give her children pocket money was devastated and couldn't persuade the boy to get out of this way of giving/thinking. He even willing to forego his meals or eat less to give to the church. You say lah?? Like kena brainwash so sad........

giving more is not bad but giving without trying to find out if the money ended up using for good causes is a problem...

no lah. they oredi say they buying horse face's CD on church members behalf. ppl save them the trouble. very considerate of them ok?

I see no reason why he can steal and return the money multiple times with full intention of returning it.

More likely, he took it to gamble. If he wins, he will pay back. If he doesn't win then he has no money to pay back anyway. I would say the intention is not there at all.

To be honest, if I had a friend like that, I would stay far far away from him. Otherwise I will have to constantly be on my guard even when having dinner with him to make sure he doesn't borrow any money from my wallet.

Apparently his wife runs a small business and he would "borrow" the money at the beginning of the day and return it before the bank closed. There was a spot check just before bank closed and thus he was exposed and ironically his wife/family members reached the bank shortly after with the cash and despite his pleas, the bank reported to police.

I don't have to stay away from him cos we talking about big sums here which I don't have. Anyway for one reason or another, we have lost touch.

Gives me shiver when he keeps emphasizing he is a sheperd..

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/city-harvest-trial-kong/1321534.html

The prosecution has accused Kong Hee of being more hands-on in all aspects of the Crossover Project that he let on.

SINGAPORE: City Harvest Church founder Kong Hee was being evasive so as not to implicate himself in the bond transactions, the prosecution charged, as it resumed its cross-examination of Kong on Wednesday (Aug 20).

Kong has maintained he was only involved in the budgeting of the Crossover Project, and left the financing of the project to his co-accused Tan Ye Peng and Chew Eng Han.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Christopher Ong asked Kong if that meant he would not be responsible if the bonds then turned out to be an illegal mechanism.

Calling it a "difficult question to answer", Kong said: "Because I'm a pastor, and as a shepherd, I want to take responsibility for a whole host of things. They – Ye Peng and Eng Han – have assured me that they have sought out advice from the professionals, so would the professionals be responsible?"

Kong is among six church leaders in the dock for allegedly using church monies to buy sham bonds in two companies – Xtron and Firna – in order to fund the Crossover Project. The project, fronted by Kong’s wife Sun Ho, is the church's way of evangelising though secular pop music.

The prosecution sought to show that Kong was more hands-on in all aspects of the Crossover Project that he let on.

Mr Ong pointed to a lengthy and detailed email Kong wrote to chastise Tan as evidence of how closely he supervised his team – whom he called his "spiritual children". The email addressed issues ranging from unhappiness over the location of the hotel he and Ms Ho were staying at in Hong Kong, to consultants who he felt were not up to standard.

Mr Ong also said Xtron directors did not make decisions about the budgeting and financing of the Crossover Project as Kong had claimed. He pointed to portions of statements from Tan, Chew, and Serina Wee to the Commercial Affairs Department which contradicted Kong’s claims.

- CNA/cy

giving more is not bad but giving without trying to find out if the money ended up using for good causes is a problem...

Agreed that it's always good to give to religious organisations but I don't like the "give more, get more blessings" in return being preached cos I believe God doesn't work in this way at all!!

Apparently his wife runs a small business and he would "borrow" the money at the beginning of the day and return it before the bank closed. There was a spot check just before bank closed and thus he was exposed and ironically his wife/family members reached the bank shortly after with the cash and despite his pleas, the bank reported to police.

I don't have to stay away from him cos we talking about big sums here which I don't have. Anyway for one reason or another, we have lost touch.

Is the wife business struggling to stay afloat?

Heard of other faction (not chc though) that forbids their believers from working on Sunday or engaging in activities which cause others to work for them on Sunday (e.g. buying a bottle of dark soya sauce at the corner stall -> you are making the stall keeper work on a Sunday, which is not allowed).

The parent asked the son to buy a bottle of dark soya sauce so that she could cook dinner for the family on a Sunday, the son refused as it was against his religion's teachings.

The parents were like @#%^!*&.

Has anyone come across?

Edited by Albeniz

Heard of other faction (not chc though) that forbids their believers from working on Sunday or engaging in activities which cause others to work for them on Sunday (e.g. buying a bottle of dark soya sauce at the corner stall -> you are making the stall keeper work on a Sunday, which is not allowed).

The parent asked the son to buy a bottle of dark soya sauce so that she could cook dinner for the family on a Sunday, the son refused as it was against his religion's teachings.

The parents were like @#%^!*&.

Has anyone come across?

Might as well the parent don't cook for the son.. Coz that also not giving them rest on sunday.

Is the wife business struggling to stay afloat?

If not wrong, he's doing money changing business so obviously got more cash can do bigger business/more profits and when he squares at day end, he returns the money.

Gives me shiver when he keeps emphasizing he is a sheperd..

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/city-harvest-trial-kong/1321534.html

...The email addressed issues ranging fromunhappiness over the location of the hotel he and Ms Ho were staying at in Hong Kong, to consultants who he felt were not up to standard.

KH sounds like a complain king.

As a real shepherd as he claimed, shouldn't he be more forgiving?